North Carolina State University Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

North Carolina State University Reviews

Updated 18 Sep 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 1090 reviews

4.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
86%
Recommend to a Friend
95%
Approve of CEO
North Carolina State University CEO W. Randolph Woodson
W. Randolph Woodson
379 Ratings
Pros
  • "The work environment was relaxed and I learned a lot of handyman skills that I can use in my own home one day(in 78 reviews)

  • "Great place and people to work with as a student(in 38 reviews)

Cons
  • "Often Professors only look out for their students instead being willing to help all students within their department(in 31 reviews)

  • "I have no cons for this company(in 30 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great place to work and expand education at the same time"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Accountant II in Raleigh, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at North Carolina State University full-time

    Pros

    Easy access to additional education, tuition waivers, etc,..if full time

    Cons

    Sometimes slow and/or inefficient to get things done.

    North Carolina State University2019-09-18
  2. "NCSU math Ph.D. and teaching assistantship"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Culture & Values
    Current Employee - Math Ph D Student and Teaching Assistant in Raleigh, NC
    Recommends

    I have been working at North Carolina State University full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Very supportive faculty. Many Ph.D. progams expect students to conform to the research goals of the faculty members, but at NCSU math, they are very supportive of the students and the student's interests. Most classes are taught by faculty who enjoy teaching graduate students and at good at what they do. There are many opportunities to teach as well if that is desired.

    Cons

    Lower TA salary than in math departments at other schools ($18,000/yr as of 2019), and lately the department is low on funding, so TAs are expected to do more work than in the past with no raise in several years.

    North Carolina State University2019-09-17
  3. "Student"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Graduate Research Assistant in Raleigh, NC
    Recommends

    I have been working at North Carolina State University part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Blue cross Health Insurance provided. Nice place to work

    Cons

    I do not have any cons to say.

    North Carolina State University2019-09-17
  4. "Execellent opportunity"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Graduate Student Researcher 

    I worked at North Carolina State University part-time

    Pros

    Best opportunities available as a student

    Cons

    Not much to say here. Really good environment

    North Carolina State University2019-09-12
  5. "Great environment, stepping stone for success"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Student Worker 

    I worked at North Carolina State University part-time

    Pros

    Attention by faculty, opportunity for responsibility

    Cons

    Pay is hourly, low, had to pay for parking

    North Carolina State University2019-09-04
  6. "Great Opportunity for Graduate Students"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Teaching Assistant 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at North Carolina State University part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good opportunity to gain teaching experience and to build leadership skills.

    Cons

    Some weeks are way too busy while some weeks there's no work. You need to balance the workload with your own schcool work.

    North Carolina State University2019-09-18
  7. "Okay place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Postdoctoral Research Scholar in Raleigh, NC

    I have been working at North Carolina State University full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good health insurance , good working environment depending on your lab

    Cons

    Not enough paid leave (only 12 days per year).

    North Carolina State University2019-09-11
  8. "Chill environment with lots of scientists"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Postdoctoral Research Associate in Raleigh, NC

    I have been working at North Carolina State University full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    NC State network, career development support, working with young PhDs

    Cons

    Not much social interaction in the department

    North Carolina State University2019-09-10
  9. "Great Benefits, Not much appreciation"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales and Events Coordinator in Raleigh, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at North Carolina State University full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    You get all your holidays and 2 weeks of vacation per year. Weekends are not terribly busy considering the hospitality position, and summers are very slow. Influx of fresh student energy every semester, and management works well with maintaining a good work life balance for this position in particular.

    Cons

    HR, inner department politics, getting anything changed can be difficult with many hoops, and appreciation for your work is low.

    North Carolina State University2019-09-06
  10. "Excellent support and communiity"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Postdoctoral Scholar in Raleigh, NC
    Recommends

    I have been working at North Carolina State University full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    A lot of resources for postdocs looking for jobs in ndustry and in academia

    Cons

    Campus is spread out across two locations. Poor access to good restaurants and bars

    North Carolina State University2019-08-09
Found 1090 reviews