North Carolina State University "work environment" Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

North Carolina State University Employee Reviews about "work environment"

Updated 23 Feb 2020

To filter reviews, or .
4.3
89%
Recommend to a Friend
95%
Approve of CEO
North Carolina State University Chancellor W. Randolph Woodson
W. Randolph Woodson
439 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "No cons from me, great place to work(in 35 reviews)

  • "Salary can be a bit higher for graduate students - help us decrease the stress(in 21 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "work environment"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Always provides good opportunities for growth"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Data Consultant in Raleigh, NC
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at North Carolina State University part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Makes sure that student workers don't overwork themselves while in school by limiting graduate students to 29 hours of work per week or less. Cares about its workers, and provides an encouraging work environment.

    Cons

    I can sometimes feel I'm lost in the organization because NCSU is so big and has so many employees. But my immediate supervisors make up for that by having bi-weekly inclusive meetings, and check in on a regular basis.

    Continue reading
    North Carolina State University2020-02-23
  2. "PhD Candidate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Graduate Research Assistant in Raleigh, NC
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at North Carolina State University full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great work environment for innovation and research

    Cons

    Nothing in particular. Just a regular grad school experience.

    North Carolina State University2020-02-23
  3. "Maintain facilities"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Facilities Assistant 

    I have been working at North Carolina State University part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Quality school, safe work environment, kind people

    Cons

    Bad sports teams, poor hours

    North Carolina State University2020-01-30
  4. "Sports Program Evaluator"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sports Programs Evaluator in Raleigh, NC
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at North Carolina State University part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Flexible Hours, Decent work environment

    Cons

    Occasional negative interactions with participants, pay rate

    Continue reading
    North Carolina State University2020-01-12
  5. "Overall great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Client Service Representative 

    I worked at North Carolina State University part-time

    Pros

    Great work environment fostered by others who care about what they do.

    Cons

    The clientele were some of the rudest individuals ever.

    North Carolina State University2019-12-11
  6. "Pretty Good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Office Manager in Raleigh, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at North Carolina State University full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good work environment, better than average pay for state employee's, lots of vacation and sick time if needed.

    Cons

    Parking is awful, but other than that things are pretty good.

    Continue reading
    North Carolina State University2019-11-11
  7. "This is a PhD program."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Graduate Research Assistant in Raleigh, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at North Carolina State University part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Friendly people and good working environment. Lots of room for collaboration. Once you graduate your pay will increase a lot.

    Cons

    This is a PhD program. You will be working long hours for little pay until you graduate. Think of it as learning a trade.

    North Carolina State University2019-11-18
  8. "Graduate research assistant mechanical engineering"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Raleigh, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at North Carolina State University full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good work environment and facilities.

    Cons

    Extremely large course load requirement compared to other departments and universities.

    Continue reading
    North Carolina State University2019-10-28
  9. "Relaxed Work Environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Intern - OIT Student Developer 

    I have been working at North Carolina State University for more than a year

    Pros

    Easy going, relaxed work environment

    Cons

    Possibly a little too relaxed

    North Carolina State University2019-09-26
  10. "Okay place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Postdoctoral Research Scholar in Raleigh, NC

    I have been working at North Carolina State University full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good health insurance , good working environment depending on your lab

    Cons

    Not enough paid leave (only 12 days per year).

    North Carolina State University2019-09-11
Found 90 reviews