North Highland Reviews

Updated 4 Jun 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.0
47%
Recommend to a Friend
43%
Approve of CEO
North Highland Chairman and CEO Dan Reardon
Dan Reardon
376 Ratings
Pros
  • "I've also had a great work-life balance which is very much appreciated(in 108 reviews)

  • "Great people to work with in the past(in 52 reviews)

Cons
  • "Their business model is broken as their client's (Fortune 500) dropped pricing on staff augmentation roles causing North Highland financial discomfort(in 27 reviews)

  • "Work life balance should be matchable(in 23 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great place to work"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Consultant in London, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at North Highland full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Really care about their people Interesting work

    Cons

    Bit slow to promote people

    North Highland2020-06-04
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Very good experience"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Principal 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at North Highland full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    North Highland has a strong culture and is a friendly place to work. I've really enjoyed my time there - I feel I have been pushed and challenged by senior leaders. I've been thrown in at the deep end on a few occasions but this has given me the chance to develop new skills. I've also had a great work-life balance which is very much appreciated. Every consultancy says they put people first. At North Highland, they really do think about how best to support you and your career. I've been really grateful for the support they offered during challenging personal and work situations. I have genuinely made some of the best friends of my professional career at North Highland. I also feel what we offer is 'good value' to the clients. When I worked at big name consultancies, you felt a lot of the fees just went to the partner's salary or office running costs. North Highland really does try to do the right thing for the client. They don't over-sell - they put emphasis on leaving the clients in a better place than when they started.

    Cons

    North Highland does PM, BA and Change extremely well and has a lot of deep expertise. It can be hard to convince clients that we are also skilled in strategy, D&A, customer experience, etc. There is still a lack of name recognition in the market so some clients still opt for big name consultancies.

    Continue reading
    North Highland2020-04-22
  3. Helpful (6)

    "So. So. Bad."

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Management Consultant 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at North Highland full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Not really applicable to this business.

    Cons

    Terrible culture which treats employees like numbers not people. An almost religious dedicated to tracking numbers on spreadsheets rather than getting good outcomes for your clients is another major shortfall. It's this attitude makes people unwilling to work together for the greater good of the company.

    Continue reading
    North Highland2020-05-21
  4. Helpful (6)

    "Nice people but lacking strategy"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at North Highland full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good for those early in their consulting career. Flexibility to pick your consulting assignments. Mainly London based.

    Cons

    Lack of strategy, lack of investment, US driven, US leadership very traditional, cliquey culture

    North Highland2020-03-06
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Excellent place to work with fantastic people"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Management Consultant in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at North Highland full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - Entrepreneurial spirit: Employees are given a lot of freedom to operate which is great for personal development as well as growing the business. - People: North Highland has some fantastic people. They generally operate with a high EQ and form multi-year client relationships. - Culture: The culture is people-centric and caring. The firm focuses on clients and knows how to have fun - Leadership: The leadership are Tier 1. Almost all are ex-Big 4 with real commercial creativity. - Client base: North Highland works with a large number of the world's most iconic brands. Their people are extremely well networked.

    Cons

    Nothing obvious but recruitment needs to keep pace with the rate of growth.

    Continue reading
    North Highland2020-02-18
  6. Helpful (8)

    "Don't even bother"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Consultant in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at North Highland full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Nice office in central London. Sweets on offer for employees.

    Cons

    North Highland has an absolutely toxic company culture. They sell false promises to new recruits painting themselves to be and forward thinking, progressive and meritocratic firm. In reality they are running a sinking ship with a bureaucratic culture which neglects and wastes true talent.

    North Highland2020-02-17
  7. Helpful (5)

    "Run away"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in London, England
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at North Highland full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good people in the middle layers.

    Cons

    Constant change of strategy and lack of direction.

    Continue reading
    North Highland2020-02-08
  8. Helpful (13)

    "I'm embarrassed to have worked here."

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Managing Consultant in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at North Highland full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Honestly I can't think of any. They provide free sweets in the office?

    Cons

    - Awful culture, particularly in the US - No local autonomy to pursue local market strategies and objectives - Trying to define a 5 year strategy stating how market leading you want to be then shortly after making individuals go on forced sabbaticals and making redundancies is quite an indictment of how the senior management in the UK operate (or not operate as the case may be) - Poor people management and coaching - Hugely cliquey and self serving management team

    Continue reading
    North Highland2019-12-05
  9. Helpful (15)

    "Used to love it - but glad I left when I did. It's a truly terrible place to work now."

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at North Highland full-time

    Pros

    I actually loved North Highland for a number of years. Along with my colleagues, we worked hard, had fun, and shared similar value sets. Some of the most genuinely intelligent, caring, and morally principled individuals and friends in my life are people I met at NH. Some of them are still there, trying hard to save a sinking ship. I wish executive management would wake up and start listening to and learning from these folks. They would do a better job than the majority of the C-suite.

    Cons

    I left North Highland after many years service, when I finally woke up, realised that I should have left much sooner, and made the leap. I had put up with too much poorly executed change, senseless political jockeying and organisational manoeuvring from some leaders, suffering from increasingly unconscionable decisions made by the Exec suite, and seeing reduced career progression opportunities and erosion of a once fabulous culture. I didn't think things could get much worse, but in the months since leaving I have continued to hear the most shocking reports of how toxic North Highland has become... claims of employee stock ownership share price manipulation by the CEO, constant redundancies (including a number of women who were due to go out on or just return from maternity), inconsistent and sparse information about company performance which makes it impossible to really know what's going on, zero accountability from the NH Board (because the CEO also appointed himself as Chair of the board - any red warning flags there?!), and more. It's amazing how the NH grapevine continues to be chock full of juicy new gossip, which is shared openly and freely amongst a whole load of now disgruntled ex-employees who are seriously saddened by the continued downward spiral of a once great place to work. It took me leaving North Highland to realise how truly global organisations operate - I'm so happy now doing work that I love with equally great people, being paid almost double what I was making at NH, a better work/life balance, and a whole lot less toxicity in my day to day life.

    Continue reading
    North Highland2019-11-26

    North Highland Response

    December 2, 2019Global Services

    We know every member of our team, both past and present, has a unique point of view that reflects how they choose to engage and contribute in a 100% employee-owned Firm. We’ve heard employee and alumni feedback, and appreciate the ongoing interest from former team-mates in how we’re progressing. Although our values remain unchanged, we’re continuing to evolve a culture where everyone can “make their mark’” -- a mindset which underscores that everyone is accountable for our collective success although, like any company, our culture may not be for everyone. We’re proud of our most recent successes: employee engagement scores are at their highest ever, we’re rated as a Best Firms to Work For by Consulting Magazine, our client satisfaction scores surpass industry norms, and we’re delivering strong financial performance. All this is a testimony to an energetic and committed team that’s pulling together as one, and delivering against a strategy.

  10. Helpful (5)

    "Great people, declining culture"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Consultant in London, England
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at North Highland full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Great energy from coworkers - Some great senior leadership to learn from - Nice office - Little travel for consulting - Trust and autonomy

    Cons

    - High attrition and US takeover is eroding what made the company great - Unhealthy obsession with promotion and development for juniors, feels like people are doing things just to be promoted rather than because it's good for the client or firm - Projects starting to become less interesting, more consultants being sent out to fill roles rather than work on projects

    North Highland2019-10-04
Found 586 reviews