Northrop Grumman "9 80 schedule" Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Northrop Grumman Employee Reviews about "9 80 schedule"

Updated 3 Jan 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.8
74%
Recommend to a Friend
88%
Approve of CEO
Northrop Grumman CEO Kathy Warden
Kathy Warden
221 Ratings
Pros
  • "Work life balance - the 9/80 schedule is brilliant, plus there is the capacity to work from home if you need to(in 375 reviews)

  • "Good work life balance when there is no schedule pressure(in 361 reviews)

Cons
  • "Also, upper management never seems to have much interest in the lower folk(in 125 reviews)

  • "large company not always easy to move up(in 107 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "9 80 schedule"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "not a bad company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Quality Assurance in Oklahoma City, OK

    I worked at Northrop Grumman full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    9/80 schedule was very cool to enjoy 3 day weekends.

    Cons

    nothing bad to say about working for the company

    Advice to Management

    nothing

    Northrop Grumman2019-12-11
  2. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Subcontract Administrator 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Northrop Grumman full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Flexible work hours plus 9/80 Friday’s Work from home

    Cons

    Advancement to another band level is difficult. Inefficient processes that are always changing.

    Northrop Grumman2019-12-04
  3. Helpful (2)

    "Functional Home Room Induced me to Quit"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Staff Systems Test Engineer in Rancho Bernardo, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Northrop Grumman full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Job Security. Cheap medical and dental if Single. Some opportunity to transfer to other locations such as Melbourne, Florid, San Diego, etc. Their 401 k has an unusual three components: Traditional pre tax, Roth post tax, and then After Tax. Traditional and Roth total contributions are limited by standard IRS limits of 19 k or 25 K if over 50. But after that, one can put more into the after tax! And one can put in up to a total of 55k limit across the 401k total contributions. So if one wants, one can put a lot of money into the After tax which later when you leave, you can roll over into your own ROTH IRA outside of work. This was a fantastic thing for me being old and a senior as I make too much money to contribute to a ROTH IRA outside of work, but here I could dump a lot into what will go into my ROTH IRA when I leave, which I have done. They do a 9/80 work week which gives you every Friday off and that in general is a good thing.

    Show More

    Cons

    Functional Home Room extra layer of management is horrible. People you do not work for, and junior people at that who are manager wannabees are the ones that write your evaluations and performance reports. They have no idea what you do for actual work. In addition, they can put down anything they want in the evaluation, whether true or not, and you have no way to address or dispute what they put in. They do not talk with you first nor do any diligence or research to see if some so called complaints or negative allegations are true or not. Benefits are not great. New hires get not pension, only 6% matching 401 k contributions.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    You must fix that functional home room fiasco. A person can't work under a sword of damocles when unknown and un named so called managers that one does not work for can write evaluations when they are not involved with you at all.

    Northrop Grumman2019-12-13
  4. Helpful (2)

    "Treats the younger generation poorly"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Electrical Engineer in Linthicum, MD
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Northrop Grumman full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    You can sleep on the job with no repercussions and collect an easy paycheck. 9/80 isn't terrible. Tons of corporate lunches if you attend their internal propaganda meetings.

    Cons

    Blatant nepotism runs rampant. Policies and management change all the time just so corporate will have something to do. Salaries aren't that great; raises are stack ranked. Changes in tuition assistance makes the whole thing really not worth it. 3 year vest and 2 year commitment post money acceptance for grad school is excessive. HR will push you down if you don't have advanced engineering degrees, but there are old dudes as engineers with no degree at all. In the 3 years at NGC, I had 3 different jobs (only way to dig my salary out of HR low offers) and 10 different managers. Management was overall terrible and incompetent, more concerned with politicking than caring about their engineering products or engineers. If you aren't a suck up, you will have problems. If you don't want to be micromanaged, you will have problems. You will be a cog in the wheel here and nothing you do will actually matter. Corporate did nothing to counteract a bullying situation and I was illegally fired due to my depression. The East building at NGCMS also violated ITAR by shipping a T/R module to Asia and management tried to cover it up. Colleagues will drive the bus and report you for the silliest things in order to advance their careers.

    Show More
    Northrop Grumman2020-01-03
  5. "Great Title"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Northrop Grumman full-time

    Pros

    Great work life balance 9/80 schedule

    Cons

    Fast pace work environment . Too much expected of their interns

    Northrop Grumman2019-11-21
  6. "Great people and emphasis on work/life balance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Systems Engineer III in Redondo Beach, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Northrop Grumman full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    -Great people at the company. They're smart, passionate and really care about the employees -Amazing work/life balance. Majority of employees get the 9/80 schedule with every other Friday off

    Cons

    It can sometimes be tough to work on projects you can't talk about in public because of the secretive nature of defense

    Northrop Grumman2019-11-21
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Great company with lots of opportunities and room for growth!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Northrop Grumman full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The 9/80 schedule is an amazing benefit and the programs tend to be very interesting which makes the work never boring. There is lots of room for growth and always chances to learn if you are willing to take them.

    Cons

    A lot of bureaucracy because it’s a defense company.

    Northrop Grumman2019-11-13
  8. Helpful (3)

    "Meaningful Work, Stagnant Career Opportunities"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Scheduler 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Northrop Grumman full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Same defense contractor as any other defense contractor. 9/80 Fridays are nice.

    Cons

    Benefits are expensive. Sign-on bonuses are offered to meet minimum salary requirements, but there is no path to promotion. You'd better be happy with your base salary.

    Advice to Management

    Pay. Your. People.

    Northrop Grumman2019-11-23
  9. "Good company to intern at"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Manufacturing Engineer Intern 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Northrop Grumman for less than a year

    Pros

    - Was able to learn a lot due to their mentorship program - Cool, relaxed coworkers - 9/80 Schedule

    Cons

    - At the end of my internship, mentor was inactive - Lack of off-site events

    Northrop Grumman2019-11-10
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Great place to work at"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in San Diego, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Northrop Grumman full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Work life balance is great. 9/80 schedule is convenient

    Cons

    Can be hard to get recognized for your efforts. Also sometimes contracts end and you get placed on another that you might not enjoy.

    Northrop Grumman2019-11-05
Found 374 reviews