Northrop Grumman College Technical Intern Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Northrop Grumman College Technical Intern Reviews

Updated 16 Jun 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 37 reviews

4.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
99%
Recommend to a Friend
Northrop Grumman CEO Kathy Warden
Kathy Warden
0 Ratings
  1. "Decent company just wasn't for me"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - College Technical Intern in Chester, VA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Northrop Grumman (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Extremely large company with locations everywhere. Easy to transfer within the company and they offer a cool rotational program for new grad hires to try out various teams/departments within the company. Exciting for new single individuals, but tough for people who want to settle down right away.

    Cons

    Lots of older folk who have worked for decades. Hard to find cutting edge software/tools/frameworks. Lots of gigantic legacy systems that need to be babysat. As an intern my manager wasn't a software engineer, rather he was a general PMO. Not many flashy intern events or cool swag.

    Northrop Grumman2019-06-16
  2. "College Technical Intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - College Technical Intern in Huntsville, AL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Northrop Grumman full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    - Everyone is extremely friendly and willing to help you get adjust and contribute to corporate life. - Managers make a concerted effort to task you with rewarding work. - Easy to move around the organization. - Very flexible hours.

    Cons

    - My first location did not plan enough in advance to make sure there was a good fit work topic wise for me. - I was able to transfer after a few months to a team that better fit my interests. - - - The culture of working 9 hrs straight (often through lunch) is not optimal for maintaining a high level of focus and quality.

    Advice to Management

    Should have a 30 min paid lunch break each day.

    Northrop Grumman2018-09-28
  3. "College Technical"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - College Technical Intern in Palmdale, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Northrop Grumman (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Many opportunities to try different things

    Cons

    Finding tasks to do for Intern requires the intern to be self-motivated

    Northrop Grumman2018-08-06
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Good Internship at a Well-Reputed Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - College Technical Intern in Annapolis Junction, MD
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Northrop Grumman

    Pros

    -- Extremely friendly and close-knit coworkers. My team treated the interns incredibly well, took us out to lunch, and were always available when we needed help. Even those on our team who were working remotely made sure to have a good conversation with the interns and talk about our goals. I have very fond memories! -- Strong focus on technology research. If you a CS/CE major and are placed on an IRAD (Internal Research...

    Show More

    Cons

    -- Lack of meaningful assignments for all interns. Although I had a positive experience, there were many interns who simply got placed on bad assignments, and were unable to switch due to the number of interns hired. Your experience is highly dependent on your assignment/project. -- Disorganized plans for interns during first week. My first two weeks at my internship were mostly administrative tasks and setting up...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Make sure all interns receive meaningful work assignments, and make sure they have the ability to switch

    Northrop Grumman2017-10-24
  5. "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - College Technical Intern in McClellan, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Northrop Grumman (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Great internal networking flexible hours meaningful work interns have the opportunity to deploy code depending on project free gym

    Cons

    culture is rather serious due to the possibility of getting audited no free meals

    Northrop Grumman2017-10-17
  6. "Pretty great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - College Technical Intern in Melbourne, FL

      I worked at Northrop Grumman

      Pros

      9/80 schedule was great for work life balance

      Cons

      Clearances take a long time and without one you can't do very much

      Northrop Grumman2017-09-22
    • "Great place to advance your career!"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - College Technical Intern in Cincinnati, OH
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Northrop Grumman (Less than a year)

      Pros

      - Put in for a clearance! - Work whenever you want (Just average 80 hours for two weeks) - Very important work. I feel like I am making a difference. - TONS of free food. - Learn from industry leading professionals . - Amazing intern pay. - Cutting edge technology. - They really take care of you as interns. They want to become a full time employee and value your opinion.

      Cons

      - Interns don't get paid holidays off (Many other interns do) - Clearance process is VERY slow. But that is not really NG fault. - Most everything they do is classified so you can't talk about what you really do. - Just an amazing place to work.

      Advice to Management

      Keep doing what you are doing. This is a great place to work and I hope to get a full time offer in the future. Managers are top notch and always check in to make sure you have all your needs met.

      Northrop Grumman2017-08-09
    • "College Technical Intern Softwear"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - College Technical Intern in San Diego, CA
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Northrop Grumman (Less than a year)

      Pros

      World class people and management! 9/80 schedule.

      Cons

      Lots of red tape because it's a defense company.

      Advice to Management

      Could use more tasking.

      Northrop Grumman2017-08-03
    • "Summer Internship in OKC"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Former Employee - College Technical Intern in Oklahoma City, OK
        Recommends

        I worked at Northrop Grumman (Less than a year)

        Pros

        Full time employees were always willing to help us when we needed it and made us comfortable in the workplace; I felt like I was actually doing something useful with my project

        Cons

        I was lucky enough to get an interesting project but many other interns had a hard time getting with this; nature of government contracts led to delays

        Advice to Management

        Make sure there are enough projects for the interns you're hiring

        Northrop Grumman2017-01-22
      • "Technical Intern"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        Current Employee - College Technical Intern in Woodland Hills, CA

        I have been working at Northrop Grumman (Less than a year)

        Pros

        Pretty good pay for an intern. I can afford apartment, food, and car.

        Cons

        Nothing negative to say about the company.

        Advice to Management

        Keep hiring interns.

        Northrop Grumman2016-10-30
      Found 37 reviews