Northrop Grumman Senior Software Engineer Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Northrop Grumman Senior Software Engineer Reviews

Updated 7 Mar 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 48 reviews

4.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
79%
Recommend to a Friend
Northrop Grumman CEO Kathy Warden
Kathy Warden
0 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "company review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Principal Software Engineer in Cheltenham, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Northrop Grumman full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Some training schemes. Friendly staff

    Cons

    Low pay and high turn over of staff

    Advice to Management

    Increase salaries to compete with better tech firms and start-ups.

    Northrop Grumman2018-01-25
  2. Helpful (3)

    "Slowing transitioning into a global business"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Fareham, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Northrop Grumman full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great people Flexible working hours Nice building Free good coffee Meaningful work Great benefits for employees before 2014

    Cons

    Technologically very behind the curve 2016 bonus system is insulting HR is hideous Paperwork heavy Many big projects either come to nothing or go south pretty quickly. No home working

    Advice to Management

    Need to become more agile and allow staff to influence policies on a local level. Should attempt to build up business slower as current strategy of hunting big bids doesn't seem to be working.

    Northrop Grumman2016-05-03
  3. "good company to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer 

    I have been working at Northrop Grumman full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    good work culture.good management well balanced work and life

    Cons

    nothing i remember .Keep up the good work

    Northrop Grumman2019-03-07
  4. "Sr. Software Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Software Development Engineer 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Northrop Grumman full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Really good people to work for. Really had my back.

    Cons

    Very large corporation with all the bureaucracy that goes with it.

    Northrop Grumman2018-10-24
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Sr software engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Arlington, VA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Northrop Grumman full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Good benefit, many projects, big company

    Cons

    Need to find project by yourself

    Northrop Grumman2018-06-16
  6. "NG1"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Hollywood, MD
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Northrop Grumman full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    I was lucky enough to get a pension, 401K, and NG sponsored IRA.

    Cons

    Small site, so not much growth or recognition capability.

    Northrop Grumman2017-10-07
  7. "Great company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Woodland Hills, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Northrop Grumman full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Just overall great company, great benefits!

    Cons

    None that I can think of!

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the great work

    Northrop Grumman2017-09-16
  8. "Senior Software Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Lebanon, VA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Northrop Grumman full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Flex hours and some paid conference attendance

    Cons

    Poor design caused excessive work for employee

    Advice to Management

    Company tried to localize pay (called Farm Out)

    Northrop Grumman2017-07-21
  9. Helpful (7)

    "Northrop Grumman was not pleasant when I was there."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Rolling Meadows, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Northrop Grumman full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    There are an adequate number of spaces in the parking lot.

    Cons

    Projects are scheduled with ideadlines that are impossible to meet. A lot of obsolete technology.

    Northrop Grumman2017-02-23
  10. Helpful (6)

    "Senior Software Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Cincinnati, OH
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Northrop Grumman full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Waning. Very little positive to speak of any longer.

    Cons

    They are practicing age discriminatory polices and getting away with it. Giving merit increases to the just out of college crowd and not to people who have served the company for decades. All of a sudden (after decades with the company and multiple managers) you just aren't quite cutting it any longer. I would recommend to all newcomers to look very carefully at what management is doing there.

    Advice to Management

    Sell the company back to the employees and leave town.

    Northrop Grumman2016-10-22
Found 48 reviews