Northrop Grumman Senior Systems Engineer Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Northrop Grumman Senior Systems Engineer Reviews

Updated 26 Nov 2018

To filter reviews, or .

Found 28 reviews

2.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
38%
Recommend to a Friend
Northrop Grumman CEO Kathy Warden
Kathy Warden
0 Ratings
  1. Helpful (11)

    "Disorganized, incompetent, Unethical and hostile workplace."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Systems Engineer in Melbourne, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Northrop Grumman full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Benefits, 9/80 work week, salaries are only average in this market.

    Cons

    No parking, cancelled cafeteria building ("The Hub"). Harassing young inexperienced Managers. HR is hands off. Cost Plus Project has mandatory Overtime with nothing to do. Melbourne (Mel-Boring) is a dump.

    Continue reading
    Northrop Grumman2018-11-26
  2. "Decent company, internal communication need improvement"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Systems Engineer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Northrop Grumman full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Comprehensive group of benefits and support for the employees. Lateral transition is a real possibility anywhere around the globe. Decent education reimbursement for all employees for professional and academic pursuits.

    Cons

    I am an overseas employee. The company does not provide an equitable transition for returning expats. Thick hierarchy makes employee concerns fall on deaf ears. The bureaucracy runs rampant by design. Situation may be better for those that are closer to the HQ.

    Continue reading
    Northrop Grumman2018-07-02
  3. Helpful (2)

    "Well established company with well built infrastuture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Systems Engineer in Redondo Beach, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Northrop Grumman full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Raises are like clock work (usually 2-5% depending how well you're doing). Medical/dental/vision are good. Work itself can be challenging. Programs are heavily process oriented which you can learn and apply at other companies. You can broaden your scope of knowledge through experience or other roles. Those type of opportunities will present themselves as you gain more experience.

    Cons

    Work can seem dry and unappealing. Moving up on the totem pole is difficult and respective raises do not necessarily reflect how we'll you're doing (neither for the good or bad). It's easy to get lost or lose focus in such a big company. There's a lot of things going on, and being in the know is difficult. Get to know your manager well so he can help guide you to new opportunities. I wouldn't work there longer than 3 years as your salary might not necessarily reflect your talent.

    Continue reading
    Northrop Grumman2018-06-15
  4. Helpful (11)

    "Failure to follow up and keep employees assigned and engaged."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Systems Engineer in Melbourne, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Northrop Grumman full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good pay. Good people.

    Cons

    Poor benefits (medical dental). Management fails to keep employees assigned with any degree of continuity resulting in down time and wasted effort. Very difficult to advance from within.

    Continue reading
    Northrop Grumman2017-12-30
  5. "NG is a great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Unix Systems Engineer in Perry, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Northrop Grumman full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great benefits Good career and personal development

    Cons

    Large bureaucracy Dependent on gov contracts

    Continue reading
    Northrop Grumman2016-07-29

    Northrop Grumman Response

    August 10, 2016Talent Community Manager

    Thanks for your review -- we're glad you're taking advantage of our benefits and opportunities to develop in your career and personally! When it comes to some of the processes that can be improved -- and we know they exist -- we hope you'll provide feedback to your manager and others when you have found a better way to get the job done. You may be interested in checking out our Busting Bureaucracy initiative, too! We know that the best solutions will often come from our innovative employees.

    Continue reading
  6. Helpful (7)

    "Good place to start out and to learn, but will need to move for career progress"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Systems Engineer in Redondo Beach, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Northrop Grumman full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Stable work environment,, mainly. Good systems roles for design, hardware, and software. World class defense projects.

    Cons

    Greedy executive base, diminishing employee benefits, weak raises, rare promotions.

    Continue reading
    Northrop Grumman2016-06-08

    Northrop Grumman Response

    June 23, 2016Talent Community Manager

    Thanks for leaving a review. We are training our Management team to be more effective at recognizing outstanding performers, and to make sure that exceptional achievement is rewarded by professional advancement and by higher annual and incentive compensation increases. The transition from longstanding practice where many personnel often received the same annual raise each year as “everyone else” to one which is more based on performance takes time and effort. And we are still making progress to ensure that our annual performance reviews are as objective as possible and accurately reflect meaningful contributions that are being made. Your active participation and input on how we compensate employees and evaluate performance is crucial. When it comes to advancing in your career, it's important that you speak with your manager, who can alert you to opportunities and help you learn and grow as a professional. It can take some initiative, but there are tons of opportunities to take advantage of.

    Continue reading
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Nice Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Systems Engineer in Redondo Beach, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Northrop Grumman for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Benefits and salary were competitive for the area. Campus at Space Park has no "fence" so it had a nice open feel. Remnants of the old TRW culture was what made the place a good one to work at. In general the "matrix" organization worked well, and I never had problems getting interesting work or getting placed in a program. Supported programs that allowed telecommuting and remote working options.

    Cons

    Housing in South Bay is terribly expensive and commutes in can be bad. Felt like remnants of the old TRW were going away Lots of work if you have a TS/SCI but opportunities can get limited outside those areas.

    Continue reading
    Northrop Grumman2016-04-08

    Northrop Grumman Response

    April 8, 2016Talent Community Manager

    Thanks for your review and best of luck with your next career.

    Continue reading
  8. "Senior System Engineer and Database Architect"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Systems Engineer in Carson, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Northrop Grumman for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Team leads given wide latitude to perform their job.

    Cons

    Upper level management to isolated from knowing the actual status of a system development.

    Continue reading
    Northrop Grumman2015-06-24
  9. Helpful (1)

    "To date, I have had a very pleasant experience. Plenty of opportunity for grow if you have the drive."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Systems Engineer in Newport News, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Northrop Grumman full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Chance to work on big contracts Large budgets Education assist Work with and learn from very smart people Good benifits

    Cons

    More to come later, nothing comes to mind

    Continue reading
    Northrop Grumman2015-01-26
  10. "Northrop is a good company with very ethical leadership, but limited opportunities for promotability."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Systems Engineer in McLean, VA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Northrop Grumman

    Pros

    Ethical leadership, good CEO, and many interesting contracts. Generally the pay is competitive for the industry, and there is general flexibility in work (provided not working at a government site). Generally the fiscal environment in defense is causing the company to execute long term strategies better than in the past.

    Cons

    Defense budget tightening is causing the company to shrink which has resulted in fewer positions, lost contracts, and asking people to do more for the same compensation. Overall, the biggest issue with the company is the HR though. They are an opaque organization, soloed away from the actual contracts doing the work, and do not seem to help people advance in the company. They seem disconnected from the rest of the company, aloof on what we actually do, and are not helpful.

    Continue reading
    Northrop Grumman2015-01-12
Found 28 reviews