Northrop Grumman Software Engineer II Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Find jobs for Software Engineer II

Northrop Grumman Software Engineer II Reviews

Updated 15 Mar 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.7
65%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Northrop Grumman CEO Kathy Warden
Kathy Warden
1 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Cool Environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer-II in San Diego, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Northrop Grumman full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Flexible schedule, cool projects, great teams.

    Cons

    Pay is not that great.

    Northrop Grumman2019-03-15
  2. Helpful (3)

    "Decent place to start your career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer-II in Sacramento, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Northrop Grumman full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great work-life balance, flexible schedules Great people to work with

    Cons

    Very minimal raises, no bonuses, no incentives for employees to go beyond minimum Horrible health insurance benefits

    Continue reading
    Northrop Grumman2019-03-13
  3. "A company that truly cares for its employees"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer-II in Chantilly, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Northrop Grumman full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Amazing people, work/life balance, culture, mobility, flexibility, diversity, approachable leadership, opportunity, etc. Really is a great place to work for the perfect balance. Employees are treated like people, not robots.

    Cons

    I honestly have no complaints. I’ve been working here since I was an intern and have had a great experience.

    Northrop Grumman2018-07-23
  4. Helpful (2)

    "Mixed bag put positive experience overall"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Embedded Software Engineer II in San Diego, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Northrop Grumman full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    NGC is a pretty good place to work for the most part. The benefits and on-site amenities are pretty good. We have an on-site workout facility and cafeteria. Company sponsors a lot of activities which is nice. The people in general are pretty cool as well. The environment is serious but not stressful. If you want options for different kinds of projects and skill sets to work on it's good place to be, especially if you're early in your technical career and aren't sure what you like to do.

    Cons

    Most of the daily frustration is attributed to things that plague most workplaces in this field but what I find the most frustrating the giant corporate mindset that informs a lot of daily operations. Whether be it the usual platitudes about visibility and leadership or their at times nonsensical rating system for annual reviews, there are parts of being in the machine that can induce hair loss. If you're in the lower levels, expect to stay there. The way to make money in the company is to leave then come back later hopefully to higher position. Promotions on site are few and far between and they seem to take notice of people that are threatening to leave, or that change from program to program often rather than the people that focus on their tasks and deliver consistently. They put a real premium on knowing a lot of people and participating in a lot of things rather than excel at the things you're assigned to.

    Continue reading
    Northrop Grumman2018-02-06
  5. "Good benefits, relaxed hours, great coworkers"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer II in Laguna Hills, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Northrop Grumman full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    9/80 Schedule, Full-benefits, Flexible vacation time, Great colleagues, would highly recommend working there, management really helps find you best opportunity for your career

    Cons

    Mostly contract work so contract can end after a few years but management really fights to keep you around and find a new opportunity within the company.

    Northrop Grumman2017-09-27
  6. "Good company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer II 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Northrop Grumman full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The work environment is great and you can flex your time. Depending on your project/manager you can work from home on occasion. Work/Life balance is also good overall with a few work-intense/"crunch-time" periods as expected at any project or company.

    Cons

    As an engineer, the salary seems to be below market value. At least for entry-level employees.

    Northrop Grumman2017-05-07
  7. Helpful (3)

    "NGC Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer II in Oklahoma City, OK
    Doesn't Recommend
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Northrop Grumman full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good 401(k) matching percentage policy

    Cons

    Extreme disorganization, lack of unclassified work

    Northrop Grumman2017-03-15
  8. Helpful (2)

    "Engineer Software II"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Engineer Software II in Washington, DC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Northrop Grumman full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good benefits, opportunity for advancement, flexible hours, people are generally pretty nice. Overall a decent place to work.

    Cons

    Low pay, especially for the area I was working in. It was just not enough, and the management deceived me into thinking it was a great career move, when it really stagnated me.

    Continue reading
    Northrop Grumman2016-11-05
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Flexible hours, but red tape"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer II in McClellan, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Northrop Grumman full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The 9/80 schedule makes for a 3-day weekend every other week. The flexible work hours and ability to work from home have made it very easy to work around family obligations. There is a generally a variety of different work available, and opportunity to pick up new skills; from hardware-level controllers to web front end.

    Cons

    There is a little too much red tape at times, though many of the processes are undergoing a streamlining process.

    Northrop Grumman2016-08-31

    Northrop Grumman Response

    September 1, 2016Talent Community Manager

    Thanks for taking a moment to leave a review -- it's really great to hear when employees are taking advantage of flexible schedules and balancing their work and family life! We're always looking to improve our processes as you mentioned, so be sure to contribute any thoughts you may have to help streamline things.

    Continue reading
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Software Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Software Engineer II in Baltimore, MD
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Northrop Grumman

    Pros

    Great team to work with although this is highly project dependent.

    Cons

    Upward career mobility / progression

    Continue reading
    Northrop Grumman2016-06-22

    Northrop Grumman Response

    June 23, 2016Talent Community Manager

    Thanks for your review! If you're looking to advance in your career, we have a ton of opportunities available to all our employees. As a first step, speak with your manager -- he or she is there to help you succeed! Look into our educational assistance program, which can help you to learn new skills that qualify you for new opportunities. Explore new opportunities on our careers site, where you can apply as an internal candidate. And be sure to check out all the resources available on our company intranet for employees who are looking to grow as professionals!

    Continue reading
Found 59 reviews