Northrop Grumman Software Engineer IV Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Northrop Grumman Software Engineer IV Reviews

Updated 19 Apr 2017

To filter reviews, or .

Found 25 reviews

3.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
59%
Recommend to a Friend
Northrop Grumman CEO Kathy Warden
Kathy Warden
0 Ratings
  1. Helpful (6)

    "Interesting work but no mobility"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer IV in Los Angeles, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Northrop Grumman full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    9/80 Schedule is something that helps maintain some life balance. Definitely can find interesting work at a place like Northrop.

    Cons

    No career path at such a large corporation. Theres a certain amount of sexism and sometimes managers are more interested in making their numbers look good instead of showing with honesty and integrity in the work they di

    Advice to Management

    Career planning is practically non exiatent

    Northrop Grumman2017-04-20
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Senior Software Engineer, IV"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Engineer IV in Atlanta, GA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Northrop Grumman full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Large company with full package of benefits, variety of locations and positions, offering good 401K package and choices of health insurance

    Cons

    I was working in contract with CDC and many limits per contract situation, it is hard to speak about entire company. Here, in Atlanta, NG has only this contract and choices are very limited

    Advice to Management

    I lost my job because NG lost his project in Financial Office to Delloite. And had no assistance from NG program manager in finding new position. They just let me go. I think, NG can pay more attention to people

    Northrop Grumman2016-11-05
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Software Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer IV in Linthicum, MD
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Northrop Grumman full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Good people, good managers, good work.

    Cons

    Salary can be a bit low in some areas and highly dependent on level of education.

    Advice to Management

    Good management, but be more upfront with the problems you're having with your employees or counsel them on how to make their salaries increase.

    Northrop Grumman2016-10-14
  4. Helpful (2)

    "Stretched thin but they do take care of us."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer IV in Huntsville, AL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Northrop Grumman full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    •Enjoy what I do as an engineer immensely. •9/80 work schedule is absolutely embraced and appreciated.

    Cons

    •Minimal work space. Most, if not all, engineers at this location are forced to share work spaces. This is not conducive to high productivity. •Team work amongst all employees, especially peer engineers, can be improved upon. •Support from management is needed beyond the daily "how are you doing" routine.

    Advice to Management

    •Need to improve bonus structure and annual raises to be distributed to those of us deserving, not just upper management. •Managers need to anticipate project deadlines and request overtime approval in advance.

    Northrop Grumman2016-09-14
  5. "Amazing Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer IV in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Northrop Grumman full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    A lot of smart people and very interesting projects.

    Cons

    Security clearance is required on many projects. Specialized skills required.

    Advice to Management

    Hire or train managers to understand technical requirements.

    Northrop Grumman2016-04-17
  6. "Good Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer IV in Redondo Beach, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Northrop Grumman full-time

    Pros

    Good benefits, helpful management for career growth, tuition re-imbursement

    Cons

    as a software engineer there is not a lot of new technology being used

    Advice to Management

    I don't have any other than I enjoyed all the managers I've worked for

    Northrop Grumman2015-12-22
  7. Helpful (15)

    "There's a reason you won't see Northrop on the lists of "best places to work""

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer IV in San Diego, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Northrop Grumman full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Northrop Grumman designs and integrates some of the most awesome systems in the world for Defense.

    Cons

    Northrop has shifted its priorities to shareholders and customers above its own people. This may be the "right" decision to make for the company, but it doesn't make it a good place to work.

    Advice to Management

    It's all about the people! Northrop used to recognize that its employees are its greatest asset -- the unique knowledge and skill sets of its employees bring great value to the company. Cutting benefits, freezing promotions and pay should not be the first place the company looks to save money when it is pulling in record profits. The long-term strategy of reinvesting in the company's future through R&D is a great goal,...

    Show More
    Northrop Grumman2015-11-09
  8. Helpful (9)

    "Catering to younger engineers"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer IV in Los Angeles, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Northrop Grumman full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Was a good place to work. But with so few programs and the same managers in place no good ideas. Great if you are in the good old boy network.

    Cons

    Terrible place for females. And as they say, the it's who you know not what you know. The employee engagement is a farce. Management even said, if you don't want to see this next year, rate every category a 5. Mgmt created a bonus system such that they will now get 90% off the annual bonuses.

    Advice to Management

    If you want productive employees stop creating processes and policies which discourage working and making personal sacrifices that no longer matters.

    Northrop Grumman2015-05-26
  9. Helpful (6)

    "Great place for your career to die."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer IV in San Diego, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Northrop Grumman for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Steady work. Can't have your job off-shored. Flex time and 9/80 schedule is nice.

    Cons

    Chances are that you will do boring, mundane grunt work most of the time. There are a few opportunities to actually get your hands on new things and to actually write a new application but those are rare. Mostly it's fixing bugs, porting those fixes to various base-lines, and doing grunt work like Fortify analysis and fixes. But on the plus side, at least you won't be paid very well. .

    Advice to Management

    Those engagements surveys are a joke. I can think of only one person that I worked with that actually took it seriously.

    Northrop Grumman2015-05-20
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Software Engineer 4"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer IV in Herndon, VA
    Recommends

    I have been working at Northrop Grumman

    Pros

    Good company with healthy ethical environment

    Cons

    Salary is low and career opportunities needs digging.

    Northrop Grumman2015-04-30
Found 25 reviews