Northrop Grumman Systems Engineer Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Find jobs for Systems Engineer

Northrop Grumman Systems Engineer Reviews

Updated 21 Jan 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.7
67%
Recommend to a Friend
93%
Approve of CEO
Northrop Grumman CEO Kathy Warden
Kathy Warden
19 Ratings
  1. "Good Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Cyber Systems Engineer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Northrop Grumman full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Great company to work for. Very traditional work enviornment.

    Cons

    Pay is not as competitive as other contracting companies.

    Northrop Grumman2020-01-21
  2. "A good place to work with plenty of opportunities"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Systems Engineer in Melbourne, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Northrop Grumman full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Good people, good opportunity for growth and development of skills, training in your area of expertise. Salary and benefits are on par with other large companies, and better than most businesses overall.

    Cons

    It is a Large Company, so there is a need to look out for your best interests and not get labeled and get stuck in a situation where you get typecast, limiting your upward mobility.

    Continue reading
    Northrop Grumman2020-01-08
  3. "Great Hiring Process"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Systems Engineer 

    I have been working at Northrop Grumman full-time

    Pros

    Friendly and very driven peers.

    Cons

    Very Selective during interview process

    Northrop Grumman2020-01-03
  4. "Great Company with Growth Opportunities"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Systems Engineering Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Northrop Grumman full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great work/life balance and benefits.

    Cons

    Solid company and no issues.

    Northrop Grumman2020-01-03
  5. Helpful (4)

    "Good people, interesting work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Systems Engineer in Boulder, CO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Northrop Grumman full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Good group of people with diverse backgrounds. Generally good work life balance, put in your 40 and go home but if you want to work OT you will get paid for it. Definitely get a sense that what you do actually matters. Feel close to the mission.

    Cons

    Lots of growing pains right now.

    Continue reading
    Northrop Grumman2019-12-07
  6. "Evaluation of company currently working for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Principal Systems Engineer in Los Angeles, CA

    I have been working at Northrop Grumman full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great teamwork and looking out for each other

    Cons

    Promotion opportunity can be a little bit fairer

    Northrop Grumman2019-12-21
  7. "Meaningful work with top of the line experience, hampered by processes"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Systems Engineer in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Northrop Grumman full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    -Wide array of programs and missions with management motivated to get you to the right type of work -Company is always expanding with so many opportunities

    Cons

    -Still feel it's process heavy, releasing code for example still takes many hoops -Benefits start to get thinner and thinner as years pass -Lack of formal mentor/guidance support as years pass

    Continue reading
    Northrop Grumman2019-12-17
  8. "Solid"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Principal Systems Engineer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Northrop Grumman full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Every company/place has bad apples, when you're a part of a great team...it makes all the difference in the world. This company is great to work for, having spent many years at a competitor, I feel more valuable here.

    Cons

    If I were offered slightly more to go somewhere else, I don't think I would.

    Continue reading
    Northrop Grumman2019-12-16
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Functional Home Room Induced me to Quit"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Staff Systems Test Engineer in Rancho Bernardo, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Northrop Grumman full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Job Security. Cheap medical and dental if Single. Some opportunity to transfer to other locations such as Melbourne, Florid, San Diego, etc. Their 401 k has an unusual three components: Traditional pre tax, Roth post tax, and then After Tax. Traditional and Roth total contributions are limited by standard IRS limits of 19 k or 25 K if over 50. But after that, one can put more into the after tax! And one can put in up to a total of 55k limit across the 401k total contributions. So if one wants, one can put a lot of money into the After tax which later when you leave, you can roll over into your own ROTH IRA outside of work. This was a fantastic thing for me being old and a senior as I make too much money to contribute to a ROTH IRA outside of work, but here I could dump a lot into what will go into my ROTH IRA when I leave, which I have done. They do a 9/80 work week which gives you every Friday off and that in general is a good thing.

    Cons

    Functional Home Room extra layer of management is horrible. People you do not work for, and junior people at that who are manager wannabees are the ones that write your evaluations and performance reports. They have no idea what you do for actual work. In addition, they can put down anything they want in the evaluation, whether true or not, and you have no way to address or dispute what they put in. They do not talk with you first nor do any diligence or research to see if some so called complaints or negative allegations are true or not. Benefits are not great. New hires get not pension, only 6% matching 401 k contributions.

    Continue reading
    Northrop Grumman2019-12-13
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Best Defense Contracting Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Principal Systems Engineer in Boulder, CO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Northrop Grumman full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Good co-workers and friendly atmosphere.

    Cons

    Like other defense contractors, they are slow to adapt new technologies.

    Continue reading
    Northrop Grumman2019-11-23
Found 286 reviews