Northrop Grumman "upper management" Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Northrop Grumman Reviews

Updated 15 Jul 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 4426 reviews

3.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
72%
Recommend to a Friend
87%
Approve of CEO
Northrop Grumman CEO Kathy Warden
Kathy Warden
64 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Senior Software Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Northrop Grumman full-time

    Pros

    good benefits and nice environment

    Cons

    training is not encouraged by upper management

    Northrop Grumman2017-06-18
  2. Helpful (3)

    "Saying/Trying Good Things, but Mired in the 20th Century"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Northrop Grumman full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Smart coworkers Cutting edge technologies/programs (for Customers) Flexible work schedules Generous tuition program Trying to generate engaging & inclusive culture

    Cons

    Boomers/Federal retirees have a lock on upper management & their attitudes keep the company firmly entrenched in the 20th century Northrop's Business Casual is the rest of the world's Business Formal Stultifying bureaucracy Substandard technologies (for internal use) Horror stories from those in functions all doing at least 2 peoples work Lots of perks touted to all (career mobility, relocation, international opportunities,...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    All of your workforce deserve an enriching and engaging employment experience, not just your Developers and Engineers.

    Northrop Grumman2017-06-07
  3. Helpful (9)

    "Not bad"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Engineer in Redondo Beach, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Northrop Grumman full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great promotion opportunities for females Good benefits 9/80 workweek

    Cons

    Not good promotion opportunities for males Expensive benefits come out of salary Tone-deaf upper management thinks that continuous surveys on employee satisfaction will improve satisfaction. Took away vacation time/PTO Blended sick time with PTO

    Advice to Management

    We get what you are saying, we just don't buy into it. Taking away vacation days while not cutting executive perks does not make us want to follow you. Promote males too, females are being disproportionately promoted which discourages the males.

    Northrop Grumman2017-04-06
  4. Helpful (7)

    "Northrop Grumman - Good, not Great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Electronics Engineer in Stafford, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Northrop Grumman for more than 8 years

    Pros

    I work with a great group of people; our on-site management promotes work-life balance; compensation plan is OK, but it keeps getting whittled down... medical and dental coverage costs have gone up considerably in the last few years, salary increases are limited and usually occur only as annual bump-ups of about 2%.

    Cons

    Upper management verbally promotes career advancement opportunities, but I have applied to numerous internal opportunities in an effort to advance, to no avail. I have received "Constantly Exceeds Expectations" ratings every year I have worked for the company; I completed the NG Technical Professional Mentorship Program; I take on challenges outside my job description, at no additional pay/compensation... Career advancement...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Help current employees to find career advancement opportunities, or they will leave.

    Northrop Grumman2017-02-13
  5. Helpful (6)

    "Re org crazy"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Oklahoma City, OK
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Northrop Grumman full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Have worked with some of the best engineers I've ever known at NGC. First level managers will bend over backwards for their team.

    Cons

    Upper management didn't listen. Often reach down too far down into organization structure and force the will instead of allowing to flow down through appropriate channels.

    Advice to Management

    Trust those who work for you. Micro management kills morale and productivity.

    Northrop Grumman2017-03-06
  6. Helpful (8)

    "Employment Feedback"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Contracts Professional in Herndon, VA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Northrop Grumman full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Northrop Grumman Technical Services Inc is the smallest entity of the organization and it allows flexibility for employees to telecommute up to one to three days a week.

    Cons

    Northrop Grumman Technical Services Inc has the tendency to treat upper management personnel that are not qualified for their positions better than personnel who actually knows how to perform their job at the lower level. Basically it's the good ole boy system because personnel who can't perform their job at the lower level would be terminated whereas upper management keeps their position or is just transitioned to another...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    My advice to management is to develop a mentality that is fair across the board and not cater to certain individuals.

    Northrop Grumman2017-01-02
  7. "Project Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Northrop Grumman full-time

    Pros

    Great people to work with

    Cons

    Upper Management is not in touch with the average employee

    Northrop Grumman2016-11-06
  8. Helpful (3)

    "Program Cost and Schedule Analyst II"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Northrop Grumman full-time

    Pros

    Helpful and supportive direct management. Generally work with friendly peers. If you are looking for a stable job to put in 40 hour weeks with great job security this is a good fit.

    Cons

    Growth opportunities (both financially and professionally) are mostly below average. The culture is not very positive and no one really likes their job. Upper management can treat more junior employees disrespectfully. Because of the job stability, poor processes, and lack of incentive to perform well employees don't always try their best.

    Advice to Management

    Usually a generally negative work environment, lack of growth opportunities, and an "old school" work culture contributes to unmotivated employees whose main motivation is to stick to status quo until they can find something better.

    Northrop Grumman2016-11-15
  9. "Supply Chain"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Northrop Grumman

    Pros

    9/80 work week is good for work life balance.. Health and 401k benefits are pretty good for this day and age

    Cons

    Bring in new middle management to bring in new up to date ideas. Upper management is too far withdrawn from smaller offices, they get left behind. No where to turn for help.

    Advice to Management

    Listen to your employees, they have good ideas. Change is good. Spending a little money to make your employees happy will result in better work products.

    Northrop Grumman2016-11-12
  10. Helpful (3)

    "Program Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Program Manager in Melbourne, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Northrop Grumman full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Infusion of new, young talent has been invigorating to the company. Most of the employees are motivated to do a good job and most teams have a driven personality to accomplish the stated goals of the team(s).

    Cons

    Upper management has taken to being more concerned about short term shareholder value and the sector/business areas goals are significantly slanted to that. The new business philosophy has put a strain on the relationship between the company and their customer(s). Although the young talent has been invigorating to the business, upper management wants those younger employees to become the managers now and replace the...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    For the business sectors to be able to execute their contracts successfully, sector management needs to be more flexible in the approach to be able to execute the contracts to the customers high satisfaction (i.e., IPARs and CPARS).

    Northrop Grumman2016-10-13
Found 4426 reviews