Northrop Grumman "work life balance" Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Northrop Grumman Employee Reviews about "work life balance"

Updated Dec 6, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.7
73%
Recommend to a Friend
88%
Approve of CEO
Northrop Grumman CEO Kathy Warden
Kathy Warden
199 Ratings
Pros
  • "Work life balance - the 9/80 schedule is brilliant, plus there is the capacity to work from home if you need to(in 372 reviews)

  • "Good work life balance when there is no schedule pressure(in 353 reviews)

Cons
  • "Also, upper management never seems to have much interest in the lower folk(in 124 reviews)

  • "large company not always easy to move up(in 105 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "work life balance"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Could've been better, could've been worse"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Placement Student in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Northrop Grumman full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good work life balance, good sense of community amongst the company, enjoyed the socials. A lot of opportunities to better myself professionally

    Cons

    Didn't really get along with my team, always felt like an outsider

    Advice to Management

    Ensure all employees have regular meetings with their line managers, to help boost employee satisfaction and identify any issues early

    Northrop Grumman2019-04-27
  2. Helpful (3)

    "Good Company-Bad Management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Analyst in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Northrop Grumman full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good Salary Immediate management is great - can be hit or miss depending on department

    Cons

    UK CE doesn’t value lower employees Work/Life balance is always spoken about but never actioned

    Northrop Grumman2019-08-19
  3. "Good people, interesting work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Systems Engineer in Boulder, CO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Northrop Grumman full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Good group of people with diverse backgrounds. Generally good work life balance, put in your 40 and go home but if you want to work OT you will get paid for it. Definitely get a sense that what you do actually matters. Feel close to the mission.

    Cons

    Lots of growing pains right now.

    Advice to Management

    Get a bigger building. Communication flowdown could be better.

    Northrop Grumman2019-12-07
  4. "Good place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Operator II in Clearfield, UT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Northrop Grumman full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Stable job Room to grow Decent pay

    Cons

    Work life balance Excessive policy change Slow on salary increase

    Northrop Grumman2019-12-05
  5. "Great Title"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Northrop Grumman full-time

    Pros

    Great work life balance 9/80 schedule

    Cons

    Fast pace work environment . Too much expected of their interns

    Northrop Grumman2019-11-21
  6. "Data scientist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Data Scientist 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Northrop Grumman full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Work life balance, flexibility, work environment

    Cons

    Lack of management experience with software projects, overall salary package

    Northrop Grumman2019-11-21
  7. "Great people and emphasis on work/life balance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Systems Engineer III in Redondo Beach, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Northrop Grumman full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    -Great people at the company. They're smart, passionate and really care about the employees -Amazing work/life balance. Majority of employees get the 9/80 schedule with every other Friday off

    Cons

    It can sometimes be tough to work on projects you can't talk about in public because of the secretive nature of defense

    Northrop Grumman2019-11-21
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Good Company But Limited Growth Options"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Structural Engineer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Northrop Grumman full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good pay and benefits Co-workers are sharp people and fun Work is usually challenging. Lots of high tech stuff to work on for big customers. Flexible work schedule. Work life balance there if you want it.

    Cons

    Management is ok, but sometimes stretched thin. It's sometimes difficult to understand career paths for upward mobility. People who do get promoted seem to put in insane amounts of hours. Work-life balance may be difficult to achieve. Tedious work can sometimes stretch on for months.

    Advice to Management

    Make it clearer what expectations are to advance for technical promotions

    Northrop Grumman2019-11-07
  9. Helpful (7)

    "Young professionals look elsewhere"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Baltimore, MD
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Northrop Grumman full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Work Life Balance - Amount of work available - Easiness of rotating in company

    Cons

    - Pay (lower than industry) - Benefits (cuts every year) - Career development A word of caution, Northrop recently made large cuts to their Education Assistance program. This program is what drew me and many of my other young co-workers to Northrop. The cuts have now made it infeasible to complete a Master’s degree without acquiring student debt or paying large amounts of money out of pocket. These recent cuts feel... like a bait and switch. In the interview they promised funding for a Master’s Degree without needing to take out a loan or pay out of pocket. Now, after enrolling and taking classes they’ve taken away the majority of funding. Even though I can’t complete my degree due to their changes, I still owe them money for the classes I completed under the previous benefit level. Now, I’m forced to work 2 more years in order to erase the money owed to Northrop for a degree I can’t feasibly finish due to their benefit changes. Northrop has alienated a large portion of their young professional workforce. I do not recommend Northrop Grumman, especially if you are a young professional. I wish I could go back and chose a company that was more interested in career development of young professionals.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Don’t make large changes based on a single survey that are comparing health benefits used by all employees to Education Assistance used by a small portion of employees. Don’t just focus on hiring, focus on retention problems as well.

    Northrop Grumman2019-11-14
  10. "Fine place to work, so far"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Intern - Electrical Engineer in Azusa, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Northrop Grumman for less than a year

    Pros

    Independence, good work life balance, helpful coworkers

    Cons

    Old building, lukewarm work, lack of staffing

    Northrop Grumman2019-11-05
Found 440 reviews