Norton Rose Fulbright Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Norton Rose Fulbright Reviews

Updated 16 Jul 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 219 reviews

3.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
69%
Recommend to a Friend
75%
Approve of CEO
Norton Rose Fulbright CEO Peter Martyr
Peter Martyr
55 Ratings
Pros
  • "Benefits are great and there is a good work-life balance(in 15 reviews)

  • "Down to earth lawyers and staff(in 12 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "Claims administrator"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Claims Administrator in Newcastle upon Tyne, England
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Norton Rose Fulbright full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The team is great, very friendly and supportive. I could just dream to get into this company, but here I am. I was nervous at first whether I will be able to fit in, but from the day one, I have felt absolutely welcomed here. You do not need to know somebody ( people working here are from all over the UK), to be perfect or to be the best, you just need to be ready to work hard, willing to make your own positive impact...

    Show More

    Cons

    For short period of my employment I could see none

    Norton Rose Fulbright2019-04-22
  2. "Trainee Solicitor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Trainee Solicitor in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Norton Rose Fulbright full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good work/life balance Good culture Nice office International and in house secondment opportunities

    Cons

    Training not that structured Competition for key seats Opaque qualification process

    Advice to Management

    Make seat choice and qualification process more transparent

    Norton Rose Fulbright2019-06-11
  3. "Assessment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I have been working at Norton Rose Fulbright full-time

      Pros

      Working environment, reputation and colleagues

      Cons

      Lack of transparency re management decisions

      Norton Rose Fulbright2019-04-22
    • Helpful (1)

      "Be careful about which NRF verein you join..."

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Business Services in London, England
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at Norton Rose Fulbright full-time

      Pros

      The new Verein’s (Canada, US, Australia and South Africa) are playing a key role in building the global NRF brand and profits, developing innovative growth strategies and hiring great people.

      Cons

      The old ‘individualist’ Norton Rose (LLP) which includes Europe, Middle East and Asia has yet to fully embrace the global brand with most parties still operating as they did in the days when NRF was a London City firm. The Partner and Business Services Leadership is not very visible and their communication is not transparent. There is no Global or EMEA strategy and most partners haven’t bought into the vision of a...

      Show More

      Advice to Management

      When the current CEO retires in 2020, the firm has the opportunity to recruit fresh leadership and modify the ‘eat what you kill’ model. It needs to look carefully at how it becomes a successful global firm and overcomes the barrier thinking that the world starts and finishes in London. The firm has huge potential but the lack of investment in the right senior business services staff is preventing the firm from changing...

      Show More
      Norton Rose Fulbright2019-05-20
    • Helpful (1)

      "Secretary"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Secretary in London, England
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook
      No Opinion of CEO

      I worked at Norton Rose Fulbright full-time for less than a year

      Pros

      Nice building and office set up, good training facilities

      Cons

      Not a team working atmosphere

      Norton Rose Fulbright2019-04-25
    • Helpful (1)

      "Anonymous"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - IT in London, England
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook

      I have been working at Norton Rose Fulbright full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      Nice people, office is being refurbished with an agile working theme, easy to get to from London Bridge. Flexible working hours. Nice bar downstairs which is discounted. Lots of eateries close by. I had a great CIO really people focussed but unfortunately she left.

      Cons

      Some management need attention, issues between global and regional. Management don’t listen but dictate. A lot of staff are unhappy and either left or looking at leaving. HR are very approachable but don’t take anything seriously. There is no bonus here, only for C level. The lack of a CIO for the IT team for 7 months has not ideal and morale is low.

      Advice to Management

      Your people are your only asset, take care of them, listen to them, develop and reward. Ensure this is passed to all management and is embedded into culture.

      Norton Rose Fulbright2019-03-30
    • Helpful (1)

      "best 10 years of my working careeer"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Marketing Manager in London, England
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Norton Rose Fulbright full-time for more than 8 years

      Pros

      generous wage, excellent benefits, amazing team. Ex-colleagues I am still friendly with after having left 4 years ago. Incredible memories. Loved it.

      Cons

      no flexibility towards working parttime , this has now changed I believe.

      Norton Rose Fulbright2018-11-28
    • Helpful (8)

      "It’s like a swan..."

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England
      Doesn't Recommend
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Norton Rose Fulbright full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      Some brilliant people who really know their stuff and want to help the firm progress. Fantastic location for an easy commute

      Cons

      Conversely, some truly awful people at senior level who have got there through talking the talk and simply cannot deliver. Real conflict between those who want the firm to be truly global and those who like being regional. Looks like an amazing firm from the outside, but like a swan, those who can are paddling furiously to keep it afloat.

      Advice to Management

      When you bring people in to tell you what is wrong, listen to their advice! Be brave and make the changes that were recommended for the good of the organisation. Conduct proper exit interviews to understand why you have such a massive staff turnover in certain areas and address those issues - one or two bad apples are destroying the whole barrel. Pay your staff properly.

      Norton Rose Fulbright2018-10-27
    • Helpful (1)

      "Paralegal"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Paralegal in London, England
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      No Opinion of CEO

      I worked at Norton Rose Fulbright full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Fantastic perks ie massage and fresh lunch

      Cons

      Expected to work as long as the partner, which was often 9pm/10pm

      Norton Rose Fulbright2018-08-04
    • Helpful (2)

      "One of the worst places I have been"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Business Services in London, England
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I have been working at Norton Rose Fulbright full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      The location is nice

      Cons

      > lack of strategy > week management > terrible system implementation crippling day to day activities > little recognition > all talk

      Advice to Management

      Restructure!

      Norton Rose Fulbright2018-06-29
    Found 219 reviews