Norwegian Cruise Line Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Norwegian Cruise Line Reviews

Updated 23 Jun 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 441 reviews

3.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
48%
Recommend to a Friend
52%
Approve of CEO
Norwegian Cruise Line CEO Frank J. Del Rio
Frank J. Del Rio
179 Ratings
Pros
  • "if you want save money its good working in NCL(in 31 reviews)

  • "Discount on cruises is very good(in 28 reviews)

Cons
  • "long hours with steep deadlines(in 62 reviews)

  • "If you've worked on a ship before, then you understand the "con" of most crew cabins(in 17 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Working complaints from passengers that have been on board and then reviewing if they should be compensated or not."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Guest Relations Executive in Southampton, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Norwegian Cruise Line full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Beautiful office and really good staff events. Cruise industry is growing so there are a lot of opportunities

    Cons

    Long days and lack of support from management at times.

    Norwegian Cruise Line2018-06-17
  2. "Taking care to my fellow guests"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service in Swindon, Wiltshire, South West England, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Norwegian Cruise Line full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Friendly co- workers and guests

    Cons

    Food was not served good

    Advice to Management

    Happy the crew happy sailing

    Norwegian Cruise Line2019-06-17
  3. "WORST COMPANY EVER TO WORK FOR"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Norwegian Cruise Line full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    There were no positives at all.

    Cons

    Everything about the office environment was horrible! When I started nobody knew what I was supposed to do, didn't have a proper induction or anything, just had to shadow people for two whole weeks!!! After talking to some of the managers (who avoided talking to me like plague as they didn't have anything to say) they decided to let me go because I was upset, of course I am upset, I left my old job for a company who does...

    Show More
    Norwegian Cruise Line2019-05-21
  4. "Cruise consultant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Norwegian Cruise Line full-time

    Pros

    Nice work colleagues and office

    Cons

    Bad benefits, bad bonus, poor computers

    Norwegian Cruise Line2018-08-30
  5. "Intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Norwegian Cruise Line

    Pros

    Great social environment and friendly colleagues

    Cons

    Salary could be slightly higher for interns

    Norwegian Cruise Line2018-05-21
  6. "Badly Managed"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Team Leader in Southampton, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Norwegian Cruise Line full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Slightly higher salary than the competion

    Cons

    Poor treatment of employees below management level. Mangers can take leave when they like, but lower employees often refused leave. Several teams run by unpleasant team leaders, causing mass resignations. Other teams lead by extremely lazy team leaders. Team leaders unwilling to support their team members. Constant changing of job goal posts. Poor communication of new job goal posts (almost non-existent). Penalties...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    You will continue to lose good staff that you have spent time and money training. No... the company does NOT come first. Look after your staff, make them feel appreciated an well informed (not the callous off-hand manner you use to treat your staff now).

    Norwegian Cruise Line2018-06-05
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Norwegian"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Finance Intern 

      I worked at Norwegian Cruise Line for more than a year

      Pros

      Very good team, very enjoyable

      Cons

      nothing really to complain about

      Norwegian Cruise Line2017-05-29
    • "Salary"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Reservation Agent in London, England
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook
      No Opinion of CEO

      I worked at Norwegian Cruise Line

      Pros

      Have the opportunity to cruise

      Cons

      Salary, benefits, discounts, you get only 19 percent or so in cruises. The commission might get good.

      Advice to Management

      Salary and commission and benefits, discounts

      Norwegian Cruise Line2017-01-08
    • "Good company on the way, could be on the way to great."

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Southampton, England
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Norwegian Cruise Line full-time for more than 8 years

      Pros

      Lots of increases in benefits for shoreside employees which made it more attractive to commit long-term to the company.

      Cons

      Under-resourcing in all department areas meant that stress levels were high, accuracy would suffer and exacerbate delays in progressing with tasks.

      Advice to Management

      Look at head-counts, and not only interns but the addition of full-time equivalent staff. More open attitude to flexible working practices.

      Norwegian Cruise Line2016-12-07
    • "Good people, not so great structure"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook
      No Opinion of CEO

      I worked at Norwegian Cruise Line

      Pros

      Lovely people, great office, free parking

      Cons

      Lack of planning, very short termist, undue pressure

      Advice to Management

      Plan for longer term and treat staff with more care

      Norwegian Cruise Line2016-11-24
    Found 441 reviews