Norwegian Cruise Line Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Norwegian Cruise Line Reviews

Updated Nov 18, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.2
49%
Recommend to a Friend
47%
Approve of CEO
Norwegian Cruise Line CEO Frank J. Del Rio
Frank J. Del Rio
192 Ratings
Pros
  • "if you want save money its good working in NCL(in 31 reviews)

  • "Working in Hawaii, included living expenses, some health coverage(in 29 reviews)

Cons
  • "long hours with steep deadlines(in 66 reviews)

  • "The main problem is supervises these days are just as incompetent and having to deal with that makes life onboard a lot more challenging(in 17 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Working complaints from passengers that have been on board and then reviewing if they should be compensated or not."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Guest Relations Executive in Southampton, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Norwegian Cruise Line full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Beautiful office and really good staff events. Cruise industry is growing so there are a lot of opportunities

    Cons

    Long days and lack of support from management at times.

    Norwegian Cruise Line2018-06-17
  2. "Terrible Workplace"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Help Desk in Southampton, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Norwegian Cruise Line full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Nice working environment and teaqm

    Cons

    Unreliable management Terrible HR Asked to do the job for 4 people with no benefits given

    Norwegian Cruise Line2019-10-03
  3. "Not bad pay, long hours, but one of the better cruise lines."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Cruise Consultant 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Norwegian Cruise Line full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Money is pretty good, you get to travel and see a bit of the world!

    Cons

    Sharing very small rooms, long hours, not great food in the crew mess!

    Advice to Management

    Improve food for staff!!

    Norwegian Cruise Line2019-08-26
  4. "Entertainment Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Cruise Director 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Norwegian Cruise Line full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Exciting and Creative Job that provides excellent customer service

    Cons

    A lot of restrictions in some aspects of the company

    Norwegian Cruise Line2019-08-13
  5. "Taking care to my fellow guests"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service in Swindon, Wiltshire, South West England, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Norwegian Cruise Line full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Friendly co- workers and guests

    Cons

    Food was not served good

    Advice to Management

    Happy the crew happy sailing

    Norwegian Cruise Line2019-06-17
  6. "WORST COMPANY EVER TO WORK FOR"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Norwegian Cruise Line full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    There were no positives at all.

    Cons

    Everything about the office environment was horrible! When I started nobody knew what I was supposed to do, didn't have a proper induction or anything, just had to shadow people for two whole weeks!!! After talking to some of the managers (who avoided talking to me like plague as they didn't have anything to say) they decided to let me go because I was upset, of course I am upset, I left my old job for a company who... does not even know what my job is supposed to be! After I left they did not replace my role as of course there was no work for it. Other people left straight after me, as the management is so bad. Other people were useless as well, joke of a company really. The only nice people were in a different department, I was supposed to work in between two departments, so when I rightly asked if I could sit with the other department of the two, my request was denied. Hope nobody has to go through what I had to go through, shame on the company really for the people they hire.

    Show More
    Norwegian Cruise Line2019-05-21
  7. "Cruise consultant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Norwegian Cruise Line full-time

    Pros

    Nice work colleagues and office

    Cons

    Bad benefits, bad bonus, poor computers

    Norwegian Cruise Line2018-08-30
  8. "Intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Compensation and Benefits
     

    I worked at Norwegian Cruise Line

    Pros

    Great social environment and friendly colleagues

    Cons

    Salary could be slightly higher for interns

    Norwegian Cruise Line2018-05-21
  9. "Badly Managed"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Team Leader in Southampton, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Norwegian Cruise Line full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Slightly higher salary than the competion

    Cons

    Poor treatment of employees below management level. Mangers can take leave when they like, but lower employees often refused leave. Several teams run by unpleasant team leaders, causing mass resignations. Other teams lead by extremely lazy team leaders. Team leaders unwilling to support their team members. Constant changing of job goal posts. Poor communication of new job goal posts (almost non-existent).... Penalties applied to staff for not following poorly communicated new goal posts.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    You will continue to lose good staff that you have spent time and money training. No... the company does NOT come first. Look after your staff, make them feel appreciated an well informed (not the callous off-hand manner you use to treat your staff now).

    Norwegian Cruise Line2018-06-05
  10. Helpful (2)

    "Norwegian"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Finance Intern 

    I worked at Norwegian Cruise Line for more than a year

    Pros

    Very good team, very enjoyable

    Cons

    nothing really to complain about

    Norwegian Cruise Line2017-05-29
Found 475 reviews