O2 Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

O2 Reviews

Updated 2 August 2018
204 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-timePart-time

204 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
  • "Great work life balance where they will happily let you book holidays off whenever you need them" (in 19 reviews)

  • "O2 supports flexible working and allows you to maintain a healthy work-life balance" (in 28 reviews)

Cons
  • "senior management are awful to work with" (in 5 reviews)

  • "No work-life balance and frustrating internal processes" (in 3 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. "Feels more like a community than a job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Slough, Buckinghamshire, South East England, England
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Slough, Buckinghamshire, South East England, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at O2 full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    As a mother of 3 flexibility allows me to juggle work & Life balance. A manager who I can be Open and extended team who are always willing to help where possible.

    Cons

    None known yet as only been here 6 month.

    O2 Response

    6 Jul 2018 – Resourcing Consultant

    What a lovely heading for your review and we agree that it is the people that make o2 the fantastic place it is to work so great to see that you feel like it is a community, that makes us really... More


  2. "Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Slough, Berkshire, South East England, England
    Current Employee - Manager in Slough, Berkshire, South East England, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at O2 full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Good work life balance, people focused organisation, fun activities in head office slough

    Cons

    Slow movement and chance to progress

    Advice to Management

    Career oppurtunities

    O2 Response

    6 Jul 2018 – Resourcing Consultant

    Thanks for the review and great to see the positives you have for working for us . In terms of career opportunities, all of our current opportunities UK and Globally are advertised on Success... More

  3. "Love working at O2"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Human Resources Change Consultant in Slough, Berkshire, South East England, England
    Current Employee - Human Resources Change Consultant in Slough, Berkshire, South East England, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at O2 full-time (More than 8 years)

    Pros

    Opportunities, culture, flexibility and encouraged to innovate

    Cons

    Nothing really, if anything, politics

    Advice to Management

    Every managers is key to getting the best out of their people

    O2 Response

    27 Jun 2018 – Social Media Specialist

    Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We really appreciate it. It is great to see you talk about our culture and the flexibility, we are glad you highlighted those as they are important... More


  4. "Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at O2 full-time

    Pros

    flexible working, culture, people, customer focus, opportunity, family and friends discount, company benefits

    Cons

    head office location in slough

    O2 Response

    26 Jun 2018 – Social Media Specialist

    Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We are glad you've highlighted many of the things we are proud of at O2, including flexible working, our culture and the fact we have a customer... More


  5. "Ok"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    Pros

    Management people staff time discount

    Cons

    Bureaucracy targets sales bad customers

    Advice to Management

    Chill

    O2 Response

    10 Jul 2018 – Social Media Specialist

    Thanks for the review and great to see the positives you have for working for us, we are glad to see you've mentioned that the people are a pro because our people are at the heart of what we do.


  6. "Amazing Company, with brilliant customer centricity - wish I hadn’t left"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Leeds, England
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Leeds, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at O2 full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    Good basic pay, great overall package
    Can do attitude built into everything they do
    Great customer focus in network space
    Flexible working
    Loads of challenges to get stuck into, but backed up by lots of support, which provides some really diverse projects and fantastic learning opportunities if you want to take them
    Great mix of people to work with
    Not afraid to take calculated risks and empower people to make sound risk based decisions
    Would definitely like to go back as once you’ve experienced working at o2 your ruined for everywhere else as they won’t compare

    Cons

    None really - I was just unfortunate as a result of a reorg to be in a role that wasn’t using my skills as much as I wanted

    Advice to Management

    Networks is a great place, and think with the team they have they are great and really focus on creating great customer experiences on the network. I’m totally convinced with the great spectrum addition they will be no 1 in metrics as well as customer experience in no time

    O2 Response

    22 Jun 2018 – Social Media Specialist

    Thank you for taking the time to leave us such a nice comment. We really do appreciate it. We are glad to see you have so many pros. Good luck with everything in the future and thank you for being... More


  7. Helpful (1)

    "Fall from grace"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Management
    Current Employee - Management
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at O2 full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    Teammates
    Work life balance

    Cons

    Unrealistic Targets
    Pointless objectives
    Continued change in a saturated Market
    Senior Mangement Delusional

    Advice to Management

    Complete restructure of the retails stores and a complete overhaul of how stores and voice are targeted.

    Once a great company to work for it has fell apart over the last five years. Senior managers are detached from store level and targets have become astronomical and goalposts are continually moved. Such a pity that a once enjoyable working environment has turned sour and negativity festers in the workplace.

    O2 Response

    23 Jul 2018 – Social Media Specialist

    We appreciate you taking the time to leave us a review. Due to the nature of your review, we are keen to discuss this with you to get further information on the points you have raised. Could you... More

  8. Helpful (2)

    "Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at O2 full-time

    Pros

    Benefits, canteen, carpark, slough office with facilities

    Cons

    Within Enterprise in-experienced management
    Management only interested in own careers
    Culture of bullying
    Unreasonable targets
    Constant moving goal posts
    Unable to ever understand commission that is due as a sales person and it can be changed at discretion and whether you are in the 'in-crowd'

    Advice to Management

    O2 is a great company apart from the B2B side.

    O2 Response

    8 Aug 2018 – Resourcing Consultant

    Thanks for your review. We’re truly disappointed to read your feedback about your time at O2. Our MyHR team are always on-hand and can help with issues like those you’ve mentioned as we have a... More


  9. Helpful (1)

    "Awful company culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Advisor in London, England
    Former Employee - Sales Advisor in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at O2 full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    Reasonable Pay
    Okayish bonus
    Vendor Incentives
    Shopping vouchers from BB points

    Cons

    Targets are insane and periodically systems are down making it even harder to hit them. People walk straight to third party retailer to get o2 contracts as well because is far cheaper than getting it from o2 direct. It doesnt make sense at all. Even if you are always smashing your targets but have one bad month, managers will make a big deal out of it, humilate you and make you feel you are not good enough.

    Managers cant even sell so how can they teach you how to? Miss your target by tiny margin and you are harrassed and threatened with PIP. They spend all time on their phones and in the office doing virtually nothing. They clear up any mess or outstanding issues when they know there is a visit due.

    Diversity and inclusion is non- existent within o2. They claim to be pacesetters but during my 7years, I saw many people of ethnic minority backgrounds forced to leave, resign, sacked while english colleagues like myself were always protected for doing the same thing. This culture of discrimination needs to stop. I never felt comfortable whenever I saw these happening as a young white male and thats one of the main reasons I left o2. I dont know if they have carefully trained people at different levels to block complains to keep the company reputation intact.

    Territory Leaders are like invisible people. The only time I saw mine in 7years working for o2 was on the intranet. Sometimes it helps to see them maybe once a year which motivates store teams. They need to engage the stores under them as much as RLs do but not seen as people you cannot approach.

    O2 has one of the highest attrition rates. People are always leaving, been dismissed for non-sackable offences, people are promoted when they are not ready (its about who you know) so they are always recruiting. I can recount how many Store Leaders, ASLs and even Regional Leaders I had in the same region within those 7years. This is a trend across most regions too. Surely, there is a highlighted issue which nobody is addressing.

    Regional leaders promise but dont deliver on them. They run incentives but when you win, your prize never shows up. Keeping chasing it up and they will start to dislike you foe bothering them. They cover up for their best friends who are store leaders and expose those they are not fond of for the same reasons.

    Most managers have no people skills so many advisors feel demotivated. They look down on staff and believe your life is all about hitting targets. There has been instances whereby managers have come to work smelling alcohol and all they do is sleep in the office and go home. Nobody bothers to report it because it will go nowhere. He is a friend to the regional leaders remember!

    Poor systems which means regular calls and logs to IT people which results in backlogs always. Streamline your process and train your RHD as they are unprofessional most at times and very rude. We just get on with it because we relied on them for complex cintract issues but reporting individuals never ended up anywhere. They simply brush things under the carpet.

    Advice to Management

    Keep your attrition rate low by keeping your best talents and eradicate discrimination.

    Diversity and inclusion should be enforced at all levels and hate should be NOT tolerated. Do not coverup to keep your reputation.

    Have proper systems in place so people who report wrong doings are fully protected and not exposed - not sure how they will go about that because confidentially is a major problem in the company.

    Senior team to make unannounced visits to stores and they will see how poorly some stores are run and some of the appalling things that goes on there.

    Train your managers with people skills to deal with bereavement, serious sickness and performance management.

    Regional leaders should STOP covering up for people they like and hang around with when they do something wrong which needs to be investigated or punished. Many wrongdoings do not end up where they need to be for it to be investigated. They will always block it for fear of their reputation.

    O2 Response

    19 Jul 2018 – Resourcing Consultant

    We appreciate you taking the time to leave us a review. Due to the nature of your review we are keen to discuss this with you to get further information on the points you have raised. Could you... More


  10. "Customer service Advisor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Advisor in Leeds, England
    Former Employee - Customer Service Advisor in Leeds, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at O2 part-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Good environment, and it was fast paced so time went faster. I had a good team around me which is essential when you are starting out

    Cons

    I felt like the training process didn't cover the different aspects of the job role, so you learn on the job but unfortunately you dont want to make mistakes cos you are affecting your overall stats.

    O2 Response

    11 Jun 2018 – Social Media Specialist

    Thank you for taking the time to leave us a comment. You are correct, we do work in a very fast paced environment and working with the correct team makes the whole experience much better. A lot of... More


Showing 204 of 218 reviews
Reset Filters