O2 Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Glassdoor uses cookies to improve your site experience. By continuing, you agree to our use of cookies. OK | Learn More

O2 Reviews

Updated 13 December 2017
54 reviews

Filter

Filter

UK - All CitiesFull-timePart-time

54 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
  • Flexible working is also great although the management often forget that its the backbone to our culture when they make changes to the business (in 17 reviews)

  • amazing culture, great benefits, flexible work life balance (in 9 reviews)

Cons
  • Lots of travel to and from Head office (in 3 reviews)

  • Call volumes could be challenging due to staffing levels (in 2 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. Helpful (1)

    "Best company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Part-time Sales Advisor in London, England
    Current Employee - Part-time Sales Advisor in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at O2 part-time

    Pros

    Work as a team to make sales and get in house advantages.
    Staff well looked after even whilst training.

    Cons

    No lunch after working a 5 hour shift

    O2 Response

    7 Aug 2017 – Resourcing Consultant

    Thanks for leaving such a nice review. We are pleased to hear that you feel it is the best company to work for and we agree with you on that.
    With regards to lunch. Unsure why you didn't manage... More


  2. "Wonderful company to work for 😁👍"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Part-time Sales Advisor in Yeovil, England
    Current Employee - Part-time Sales Advisor in Yeovil, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at O2 part-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    😄 O2 has great benefits to offer to all of its employees with constant entry's for prize draws and chances to win prizes etc, Many different bonuses throughout the year make it a good earning atmosphere. Management at a store level is good and supportive.

    Cons

    Management at a regional level are distant. No comission on earnings.

    O2 Response

    18 Jul 2017 – Resourcing Consultant

    Thanks so much for taking the time to leave a lovely review - we really do appreciate it and we agree that it is a wonderful company to work for. Our people make the difference and it is important... More


  3. "Great company but less nimble"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Executive in Slough, Berkshire, South East England, England
    Current Employee - Account Executive in Slough, Berkshire, South East England, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at O2 (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    amazing culture, great benefits, flexible work life balance

    Cons

    getting new products and propositions onboard can be painful and slow

    Advice to Management

    less red tape, give more opportunity to deliver innovation

    O2 Response

    13 Jul 2017 – Resourcing Consultant

    Thanks for the review . We totally agree on the pros you mention - all of them plus our people really make this a great place to work. At times as you mention things can be slow to get things... More


  4. Is this helpful? The community relies on everyone sharing – Add Anonymous Review


  5. "Sales Ops"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Operations Analyst in Slough, Berkshire, South East England, England
    Former Employee - Sales Operations Analyst in Slough, Berkshire, South East England, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at O2 full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Good work life balance and bonus structure

    Cons

    A number of the London offices were locked down to global employees only after the failed takeover and not reopened once this had concluded.

    O2 Response

    27 Jul 2017 – Resourcing Consultant

    Thank you for leaving a review. The work life balance is great at o2 so we tend to agree with you on that - it is important that our employees get the right balance. Also pleasing to hear that the... More


  6. "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Finance Manager in Norwich, England
    Current Employee - Finance Manager in Norwich, England
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at O2 full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    Flexible working arrangements and relaxed office environment. As well as that the benefits package is really good with the window open twice yearly

    Cons

    85% of people get an appraisal that means 1% pay rise. Also performance is linked to business performance which you can't always influence depending on your role. Also moving up grades is almost impossible.

    O2 Response

    6 Jul 2017 – Resourcing Consultant

    Thanks for the review and we agree that it is a great company to work for and our flexible benefits package is something that we are proud of as we like to show our employees how much we value them... More


  7. "O2"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Representative in Slough, Buckinghamshire, South East England, England
    Former Employee - Sales Representative in Slough, Buckinghamshire, South East England, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at O2 full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Was good no longer what it was with changes in senior leadership becoming another Vodafone more focus on IPO than customers and it employees

    Cons

    Calibration within Annual review system is not transparent you can be be graded by line manger and next manager as exceptional but can be moved to developing performer due to company wide calibration. No open appeal process as Apr appeal process prohibits it moving into wider grievance process weighted unfairly in favour of the company . an Employment tribunal agreed

    Advice to Management

    Transparency and value your employees


  8. Helpful (1)

    "Good Overall"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Slough, Berkshire, South East England, England
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Slough, Berkshire, South East England, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at O2 full-time (More than 8 years)

    Pros

    Great Team work, Great Company Perks, Great People

    Cons

    Telefonica are stripping the soul out of the company with redundancies becoming common practice as they prepare to float on the stock exchange.

    Advice to Management

    Don't loose your best people to save money, they are your biggest asset.


  9. "O2 really is a great place to work. With career progression. Fun place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    Current Employee - GURU- STORES of the FUTURE in Shepherds Bush, England
    Current Employee - GURU- STORES of the FUTURE in Shepherds Bush, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at O2 full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Great discounted packages for yourself also for friends and family. Great corporate Discounts at other places like 55% of cinema!

    Cons

    Career progression can be limited if you are not willing to experience different roles or take more responsibility.

    O2 Response

    29 Jun 2017 – Resourcing Consultant

    We agree that o2 is a great place to work and great to hear that you feel the same. Our benefits that we offer are fantastic - we feel that it is like a sweetshop - so many to pick from and there is... More


  10. Helpful (3)

    "A great brand but the company is losing staff goodwill"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Slough, Berkshire, South East England, England
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Slough, Berkshire, South East England, England

    I worked at O2 part-time

    Pros

    Some great people; a great brand; opportunities to do really interesting things; flexible working culture; I've had a very happy career at O2 for many years.

    Cons

    At the macro level, in the wake of the cancellation of the merger with Three, O2 is focused on cost cutting and probable IPO, and is losing sight of what made them so successful - their people. At the micro level, although company policies are good, it is down to how good your individual line manager is in the end. Leaders talk a lot about part time / job sharing / enabling more flexible working patterns, but individual line managers don't always take any notice.

    Advice to Management

    O2's focus should be back on the people - each and every person matters, and how you treat one person will reverberate back to other people. You need to re-motivate and find that quirky, fabulousness that made O2 great in the first place.

    O2 Response

    13 Jul 2017 – Resourcing Consultant

    Thanks for the review and we agree that our brand and our people are what make o2 great. We have had a period of uncertainty which has been challenging but we now believe that we are back in the... More


  11. "O2 marketing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Market and Competitor Intelligence Manager in Slough, Berkshire, South East England, England
    Current Employee - Market and Competitor Intelligence Manager in Slough, Berkshire, South East England, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    The best things I love about O2 is its Flexible working, great people and iconic brand

    Cons

    The only issue I have with O2 is the lack of parking in Slough Bath Road meaning I have to waste time looking for it some mornings

    Advice to Management

    They are doing a great job and I think O2 will continue to prosper in the future

    O2 Response

    19 Jun 2017 – Resourcing Consultant

    Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We are proud of our brand and the great people that work for us.


Showing 104 of 113 reviews
Reset Filters