O2 Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Glassdoor uses cookies to improve your site experience. By continuing, you agree to our use of cookies. OK | Learn More

O2 Reviews

Updated 17 October 2017
42 reviews

Filter

Filter

UK - All CitiesFull-timePart-time

42 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
  • amazing culture, great benefits, flexible work life balance (in 8 reviews)

  • Work life balance and flexible working are great within the company and the little things they do are very cool (in 13 reviews)

Cons
  • Cut store cleaning service and shifted burden onto staff who then had to stay behind after work to clean the store (in 2 reviews)

  • There is a constant pressure to sell (in 2 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. "Good to gain excerience but not for a career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Advisor in Hemel Hempstead, England
    Current Employee - Sales Advisor in Hemel Hempstead, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at O2 (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Decent friends and family benefits

    Cons

    High targets with low footfall
    Computer systems fail daily during transactions
    Get told how to do something 7 different ways from 3 different people
    Inconsistencies across stores
    Lack of training

    Advice to Management

    Better training for store leaders
    Better training for sales advisors
    More consistent sales practices across stores
    Better computer systems that work consistently
    More flexibility with what we can offer customers in-store


  2. "Business Sales"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Service Manager in Liverpool, England
    Current Employee - Service Manager in Liverpool, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    Pros

    The people and the perks
    Work/Life Balance
    Good Pension

    Cons

    building scruffy at the moment

    Advice to Management

    Keep mentoring

    O2 Response

    28 Jun 2017 – Head of Managerial & Specialist Resourcing

    Thank you for taking the time to leave a review and your advice with continuing to provide mentor support.


  3. "Working at o2"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Advisor in Milton Keynes, England
    Current Employee - Sales Advisor in Milton Keynes, England
    Recommends

    I have been working at O2 part-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Really good challenging Retail store to work for, Team are usually friendly. Pay is really good for Retail. Incentives are really good. very good Customer Service training.

    Cons

    Progressions are based on targets but you do not get commission from hitting targets. Managers need to recognize the hard workers. Bonus is not as great. Rota managements are so mixed up which messes up personal time management and body clock. More physical training for new Staff members rather than throwing into the deep end. a lot of favoritism

    Advice to Management

    Notice the people that do more for the stores benefit rather than the people that sit around waiting for sales instead of help the store be at a high standard.


  4. Is this helpful? The community relies on everyone sharing – Add Anonymous Review


  5. "Sales Advisor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Advisor in Maidstone, England
    Former Employee - Sales Advisor in Maidstone, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at O2 (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Great support for development and work benefits.

    Cons

    Limited scope for training and support.

    Advice to Management

    Provide different opportunities.

    O2 Response

    13 Jul 2017 – Resourcing Consultant

    Thanks for taking the time to leave a review. At o2 we have a fantastic Learning and Development team who offer great development and support to our employees to make them succeed in their current... More


  6. "o2 (telefonica)"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Advisor in London, England
    Current Employee - Sales Advisor in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at O2 part-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Good perks, good pay. 50% friends and family discount, promotion opportunities

    Cons

    none experienced so far, will depend on your team to be fair
    6months probation

    Advice to Management

    none

    O2 Response

    13 Jul 2017 – Resourcing Consultant

    Thanks for the review and hope you are continuing to enjoy working for o2.


  7. "Great company, but outlook average"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at O2 full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    Cares about people
    Putting customers first
    Management care about the people
    Lots of good staff
    Good holiday deal
    Flexible working

    Cons

    Slowly but surely downsizing
    Limited turn-over of staff - so high average age
    If you dont live west London and need to go the HQ in Slough, not the nicest town

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you are doing

    O2 Response

    13 Jul 2017 – Resourcing Consultant

    Thanks for taking the time to leave a review. At o2 it is all about our people - our people are our number 1 priority and it is them who make us who we are and they are our brand ambassadors for o... More


  8. "Fun Place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Part-time Sales Advisor in Dundee, Scotland
    Former Employee - Part-time Sales Advisor in Dundee, Scotland
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at O2 part-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Colleagues were great to get along with and very helpful with each other. Made it a place you wanted to go to work.

    Cons

    Sometimes the targets were a little bit unrealistic, such as getting mobile broadband sales.

    O2 Response

    13 Jul 2017 – Resourcing Consultant

    Thanks for the review and that you would recommend us as an employee. We agree our colleagues within o2 are great - everyone works well together with the overall aim of making o2 a fantastic place... More


  9. Helpful (3)

    "Used to be great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Product Manager in Slough, Berkshire, South East England, England
    Current Employee - Senior Product Manager in Slough, Berkshire, South East England, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at O2 full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    One of the most progressive companies i have worked for for work life balance and this is reflected in the spirit of the people to do there very best in spite of the increasing decline of the culture of the company.

    Cons

    The culture has been in decline as belts and budgets are tightened yet the expectation is to only work harder inspite of fundamental areas that are failing and in desperate need of investment.
    Issues that impact the customer are being held together by the people and no sign of solutions being put forwards

    Advice to Management

    Focus again on the people and adding back the sense of fun that made O2 great to work for while investing in the fundamentals to maintain the good levels of customer experience

    O2 Response

    28 Jun 2017 – Head of Managerial & Specialist Resourcing

    Apologies for the delay in responding to you. We have only just received access to enable us to respond to reviews. Your opinions are important to us and we take on board the comments you have... More


  10. Helpful (2)

    "Rapidly changing company - Very weak top leadership"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Slough, Berkshire, South East England, England
    Current Employee - Manager in Slough, Berkshire, South East England, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at O2 full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    - Flexible working and great flexibility generally
    - Friendly peers and generally good culture

    Cons

    - Rapidly changing and losing its great culture
    - Top management are very weak and have been there for a really long time
    - Can't execute at all - stuff gets lost in countless meetings

    Advice to Management

    Reward merit and be objective. Plan properly rather than having knee jerk reactions all the time.

    O2 Response

    28 Jun 2017 – Head of Managerial & Specialist Resourcing

    Thank you for taking the time to leave a review and apologies for the delay in responding, however, we have only recently gained access to be able to reply. We very much take on board your comments... More


  11. Helpful (4)

    "Should place greater value on frontline staff"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Advisor in Woking, England
    Former Employee - Sales Advisor in Woking, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at O2 part-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    Customer-facing work can be fun/rewarding
    Good firm reputation

    Cons

    Stock shortages common.
    No coordination between online/direct sales and stores. Often created frustrations and confusion. Inefficient.
    Cost-cutting measures removed incentives. Often made demands on time which weren't compensated. Demanded arriving 15 minute before opening. Cut store cleaning service and shifted burden onto staff who then had to stay behind after work to clean the store.
    Generally poor management.
    Implemented pay freeze and subsequently made squeezes to commissions. Competition paid better hourly rates and commissions.

    Advice to Management

    Aggressive cost-cutting measures might make the books look good in the short-term, but they affect the front-line staff who deal with your customers on a daily basis.


Showing 80 of 88 reviews
Reset Filters