OSTC Employee Reviews about "long working hours"

Updated 16 Feb 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.9
79%
Recommend to a Friend
90%
Approve of CEO
OSTC Chief Executive Officer Lee Hodgkinson
Lee Hodgkinson
30 Ratings
Pros
  • "Professional yet warm and welcoming work environment, everyone is very friendly and helpful(in 8 reviews)

  • "Invaluable access to real-time trading conditions and the thoughts and experience of successful working traders(in 7 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "long working hours"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Great access to financial markets"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Proprietary Trader in Swansea, Wales
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at OSTC full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    You are paid a salary from day 1, this includes all training and aspects of learning... Somthing which many prop firms charge you for the privalage of, giving many people who wouldn't under normal circumstances be able to fund a trading account a great opportunity to start a fruitful career. You are encouraged to trade live from very early on in your career, while this can be costly in the beginning you learn at a greatly increased rate when markets are real. Unlimited earning opportunity with no bonus cap. Freedom to adapt your own trading strategy/style and a huge product base to choose from.

    Cons

    Long working hours, not for the faint hearted or lazy individuals. The starting salary is low compared with some grad schemes, but as mentioned any salary in your first years as a prop trader is a bonus as many people pay for the opportunity.

    Continue reading
    OSTC2015-08-23

    OSTC Response

    October 30, 2015Managing Director

    Thank you for your comments which we have used as our featured review. We note that you have only been with us for just over a year and so are still at the early stages of your career journey. We are pleased that you recognise our provision of a salary as a key benefit in this particular field. No doubt you will have heard some of the success stories from your office but more are featured on the “ Our People” tab and we hope to see you there in the near future! In the meantime we wish you a long and rewarding career with OSTC.

  2. "Trader"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Trader in Brighton, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at OSTC full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Opportunity to earn good money

    Cons

    Long working hours, long learning curve

    OSTC2018-11-08
  3. "Great Company to work for"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Junior Financial Analyst in Mumbai
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at OSTC full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good exposure to trading. Great Salaries for freshers and lovely office

    Cons

    Long working hours and less flexibility

    Continue reading
    OSTC2020-02-16
  4. Helpful (4)

    "Drained by the experience"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Trading Analyst in Mumbai
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at OSTC full-time

    Pros

    Everything that I used to like about the company seems like a negative right now. Some of the cool things: 1. The address and location of the Mumbai office. 2. The colleagues were nice. Management wasn't. 3. Starting salary is lucrative for freshers.

    Cons

    1. Bad working hours, the markets decide your working hours, and the management expect you to come way ahead of time and leave late. Employees are made to feel guilty about leaving on time or taking a day off, even on festivals. 2. No personal life. As can be expected from the long working hours. 3. Uncertainty about the future. There is no definite career path inside and outside the firm. 4. Drained and exhausted me mentally and physically towards the end of it. 5. Too much interference by the boss who wants people to do everything his own particular way. No independence of thought.

    Continue reading
    OSTC2019-11-14

    OSTC Response

    December 2, 2019HR

    Firstly, thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. OSTC values openness and transparency, these reviews provide us with clear feedback into former employee viewpoints. As you correctly highlighted, the working hours are determined by the global markets. To enhance the collective excellence of all employees, we encourage them to be in the office at least 15-20 minutes before their market open. This allows them to settle in the office and prepare for the day ahead in terms of reading fundamental and technical reports and making their plan for the day. I think all market participants would agree that preparation for the markets to open is essential. We understand trading has a steep learning curve and participating in the markets can be emotionally challenging for beginners. We encourage all our employees to take up a routine which includes some form of physical exercise to ensure that they can maintain a physical/mental fitness and resilient spirit to perform well at OSTC. This belief and care for our traders was a fundamental factor in developing the ZISHI Elite app. This has been offered to all traders across OSTC locations and aims to be a supportive tool to help manage trader and market analyst resources and overall wellness. We are disappointed to hear how you felt during your time at OSTC. We encourage Junior Market Analysts to be more risk-averse at the beginning of their careers whilst they grasp the fundamentals of financial markets. Individuals who navigate successfully through the learning curve are given more responsibility as their experience grows and matures. Once again, thank you for your review and I%E2%80%99d like to take this opportunity to wish you the very best in your future endeavours. Kind regards, Chintan Thakkar Managing Director for India

  5. Helpful (2)

    "Company full of BS"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Futures Trader in Poznań, Greater Poland
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at OSTC full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Cool coworkers, elastic work time

    Cons

    Terrible payment, working hours, unclear bonus conditions, lack of training and perspectives

    Continue reading
    OSTC2019-06-02

    OSTC Response

    June 5, 2019HR

    Firstly, thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. OSTC values openness and transparency, these reviews provide us with clear feedback into former trader’s viewpoints. To address your comments, I am sorry that you feel the conditions of the bonus structure were unclear along with a lack of training. We pride ourselves on delivering extensive training, the first three months as a Junior Trader are spent in a training environment. This is followed with numerous training and coaching sessions, both group and individual, with market analysts and psychologists. The bonus structure is communicated in detail during the initial training and the information is easily accessible via our intranet at any point. Finally, our managers are always on hand to provide support and answer any trader queries, either on an ad-hoc basis or during periodic one-to-one feedback sessions. Once again, thank you for your review and I’d like to take this opportunity to wish you the very best in your future endeavours. Kind regards, Tomasz Kwiatek Managing Director for Poland

  6. Helpful (2)

    "Not a really bad experience"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Junior Trading Analyst in Mumbai
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at OSTC full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good work environment, Instils a work ethic culture, Good Salary + Bonus

    Cons

    Long working hours (not really a con though), Disturbed work life balance

    OSTC2018-12-09
  7. "Great company to work!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Trader/Manager in Kraków
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at OSTC full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    great office atmosphere, dynamic industry, right people in management, very nice social events and parties

    Cons

    long working hours (but it's trading - money never sleeps), quite big pressure and stress (from the markets)

    Continue reading
    OSTC2018-11-22
  8. "Trader"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at OSTC full-time

    Pros

    Good training and opportunity to learn. Fair pay package. Possibility to have real ownership of your trading decisions down the line

    Cons

    Hard job, learning curve can be very long. Definitely not for everyone. Working hours can be very long

    OSTC2018-11-05
  9. Helpful (4)

    "Jr. Trading Analyst"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Junior Trading Analyst in Mumbai
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at OSTC full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    If You Love Financial Markets, then this is the place to learn and grow at exponential pace. Quality of Training. Imbibes in you the entrepreneurial spirit. Rewards in terms of Bonus. Highly driven and intellectual peers.

    Cons

    Long Working hours which is quite common in Financial Markets.

    Continue reading
    OSTC2018-09-19
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Good place to start your career"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at OSTC full-time

    Pros

    Excellent head of trading,good environment

    Cons

    working hours are the same with UK, which means 4pm-1am in China

    OSTC2018-09-24
Found 17 reviews
</>Embed