OVO Energy Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

OVO Energy Reviews

Updated 16 Feb 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.7
72%
Recommend to a Friend
73%
Approve of CEO
OVO Energy CEO Stephen Fitzpatrick
Stephen Fitzpatrick
121 Ratings
Pros
  • "Free breakfast every day, free lunches every Friday in the London office(in 41 reviews)

  • "Amazing training opportunities through OVO University(in 29 reviews)

Cons
  • "A good measure of an employer is how they treat you once they no longer need you, and Ovo was 5/5(in 26 reviews)

  • "Ovo is a complex fast paced business which I personally find exciting but isn't for everyone(in 10 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Director in Bristol, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at OVO Energy full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great company, values driven, dynamic, good people focus, fun, good gym, free breakfast, transparent leadership, inspirational owner.

    Cons

    Hard work, people don't clean up after themselves in the kitchen, toilets need a spruce up.

    Continue reading
    OVO Energy2019-12-19

    OVO Energy Response

    January 8, 2020The People Team

    Hello and thanks for taking the time to review! It's awesome to hear you enjoyed your time with us and felt how much we do care about our people and values. At OVO we encourage the visibility of the company's progress and vision, and this is shown in the monthly Town Halls we hold in both our London and Bristol offices. This gives everyone in the company a chance to ask the leadership team any question they have. You are right in saying it is a very busy work environment here, which isn't for everyone, but something that others thrive off. This is why we provide lots of benefits and encourage people to have fun in the office, and provide lots of support within the Wellbeing sector for employees to take full advantage of. Culture and People are what we are renowned for here at OVO, and we will be continuing to build both during our future growth. That's what makes us OVO. Good luck in your next adventure!

    Continue reading
  2. "You have to enjoy the journey!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at OVO Energy full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    + always lots going on, lots to get involved in, lots of opportunities + Lovely people + strong purpose

    Cons

    - lots of change and uncertainty - still working on getting some of the basics right

    OVO Energy2020-02-14
  3. "Good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Change Analyst in Bristol, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at OVO Energy full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    They have created a good culture

    Cons

    Deciding on and sticking to clear objectives

    Continue reading
    OVO Energy2020-02-11
  4. "A sudden end but a great path"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Retail Sales Associate in Nottingham, England
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at OVO Energy full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Knowledge and development Support Work Environment (Head Office,l

    Cons

    Retail channel was closed - but - Fair redundancies paid even to those not legally bound to pay to. A good measure of an employer is how they treat you once they no longer need you, and Ovo was 5/5

    OVO Energy2020-01-24
  5. "Weird"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - CSA - Customer Service Associate in Bristol, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at OVO Energy full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Location, if you can stand it for 6 months you can doss and get paid for the probation period.

    Cons

    Culty, loud and obnoxious attitude is rewarded,

    Continue reading
    OVO Energy2020-02-16
  6. "Nice company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - CSA in Bristol, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at OVO Energy full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Hours, people, support, pay, perks

    Cons

    Customers, organisation, complaints process, limited responsibilities

    Continue reading
    OVO Energy2020-01-12

    OVO Energy Response

    January 24, 2020The People Team

    Hi there, Thanks for taking the time to write a review It's great to hear that the people and support you felt during your time here was great. Our employees are what makes OVO awesome and we couldn't do it without you. The career and pay progressions within the customer service department have been something we have been working on over the years, and it's good to know they are working and appreciated. The complaints area within the business is really highly regarded, we really value the work our complaints agents do as we know it can be challenging at times. As we're always looking to improve on processes for our customer and employees experience it would be great for you to feedback any ideas you have to your line manager. Thanks!

    Continue reading
  7. "OVO Energy are awesome"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Representative in Bristol, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at OVO Energy full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Mental health awareness, social aspect, good work / home life balance is encouraged, bonus structure is good and achievable

    Cons

    Getting a little too corporate these days and losing sight of original values

    Continue reading
    OVO Energy2020-01-12

    OVO Energy Response

    January 24, 2020The People Team

    Hello, We're super pleased you're enjoying your time with us here at OVO :) We are proud to be an employer who has signed the Time to Change pledge (https://www.time-to-change.org.uk/ ) and have a group of Mental Health Champions across the business working on initiatives to support our employees wellbeing. It's really important to have that work-life balance and it's good to hear that is being encouraged. Our company is growing so much at the moment, and any suggestion you have to maintain and keep promoting our OVO Values would be really appreciated. If you'd like to come and speak to one of us in the People Team or raise a ticket, it would be good to chat Thanks!

    Continue reading
  8. "Disorganised"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Smart Meter Engineer in Nottingham, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at OVO Energy full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Not much is good that is why I left the company.

    Cons

    Bad planning, uninterested management, tech that doesn’t work, vans not fit for purpose, greed by higher management has took over from customer care. Bonus system that doesn’t pay out. A company that constantly talks about being green but has engineers driving all over the region.

    Continue reading
    OVO Energy2020-02-16
  9. "Great working environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Specialist Advisor in Bristol, England

    I have been working at OVO Energy full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    -Fantastic working environment with approachable and friendly manager's - lots of benefits, including pension, bike to work and gym onsite

    Cons

    - lack of training when starting

    Continue reading
    OVO Energy2019-12-16

    OVO Energy Response

    January 8, 2020The People Team

    Hello, Thanks for the review It's great to see you are taking full advantage of the great benefits we have here, the 4% flex-fund is a great benefit and the amount of things you can use it on is huge. The gym on site in Bristol is another great benefit and one we tailor to suit everyone from HITT classes > Yoga. It's sad to hear that you felt your training wasn't quite as good as you were expecting when you first started. If you feel able to, please pop over and speak to the people team (or raise a ticket) and we can look into this to assess what might need to be improved, to help other people when they join. We review our salaries each year by using external market data including other company’s salary survey data to make sure they remain competitive. We do this market benchmarking by using a well respected advisory company to compare our salaries and ensure they remain at market rates. Any ideas or suggestions would be welcomed by The Rewards Team. Thanks :)

    Continue reading
  10. "Good small company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Software Developer 

    I worked at OVO Energy full-time

    Pros

    Enjoyable, small company at the time

    Cons

    Wasn't able to progress my career very much

    OVO Energy2019-12-14

    OVO Energy Response

    January 23, 2020The People Team

    Hello, Thank you for taking the time to review We're disappointed to hear about your views on career progression. Our teams are growing significantly in line with our business growth, and we've recently invested a lot of time and energy in making sure we have clear career frameworks and make it easy for people to identify when they're ready for a move and instigate a promotions process. We've also grown our talent and HR team to support tech, to keep improving when it comes to giving people the right experience, tools and training to be able to advance too. We're sorry if this wasn't something you felt a benefit from. Best of luck with your new adventure Thanks

    Continue reading

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 187 reviews