Ocado Group Software Engineer Reviews

Updated Nov 24, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

Found 29 of over 914 reviews

5.0
99%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Ocado Group CEO Tim Steiner
Tim Steiner
20 Ratings
  1. 5.0
    Former Employee

    mm

    Nov 24, 2020 - Software Engineer in Birmingham, England, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    really really really really fun

    Cons

    didnt get paid enough p

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Ocado Group Response

    Community Manager

    Thank you for your review of Ocado Group – we're pleased to hear that you had fun working with us. We would also like to note that salary ranges are discussed at interviews, and clearly outlined in the initial contract. We do try to make salaries clear, however we will review this to try and be more transparent throughout the whole recruitment process. Thanks for your feedback. Katie

  2. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Fun, enjoyable fast-paced work

    Nov 3, 2020 - Software Engineer in London, England, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Flexible Engaging Innovative Inspiring Product focussed

    Cons

    Slightly corporate Lots of new initiatives

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Ocado Group Response

    Community Manager

    Thanks for your review of Ocado Group. We're so pleased to hear that you've described your experience as flexible, engaging, innovative, inspiring and product-focused – that's great! Thank you for all your hard work as part of the team. Katie

  3. 4.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Great company

    Jun 12, 2020 - Software Engineer 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Good benefits and nice people

    Cons

    Long hours, no room for progresion

    1 person found this review helpful
  4. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Great company to work

    Oct 19, 2018 - Senior Software Developer in Hatfield, East of England, England, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    You can work flexible at home or company.

    Cons

    I have nothing to complain.

    1 person found this review helpful
  5. 3.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Good experience

    Dec 29, 2016 - Software Developer in Hatfield, West Midlands, England, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Learnt current technology and professional software cycle. Good use of Agile and good work life balance. Reasonably flexible with time management as long as tasks are delivered on time

    Cons

    Very limited opportunity to suggest improvements to anything except actual code. The job is really just one clearly defined coding task after another and software developers have limited opportunity to contribute to anything else.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  6. 4.0
    Former Employee

    Good company to work in

    Mar 12, 2016 - Software Engineer in Hatfield, East of England, England, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great training, not bad salary. Good atmosphere at the office, discount for employees and good benefits, 23 days holidays, pension scheme etc etc

    Cons

    Location is not the best if you live in London and commute every day. Salary is ok but not superb.

    1 person found this review helpful
  7. 4.0
    Current Employee

    Almost perfect workplace - just 3 (big) problems...

    Oct 6, 2015 - Senior Software Engineer in Hatfield, Yorkshire and the Humber, England, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Innovative - I found lot of new technologies used there. In my team we have freedom for try new things. The idea is to improve, and we have the key element to do it Good team work - young colleagues, with very proactive mood, lot of internal communications, good practices of scrum, meeting for sharing new technologies, conferences... High chances of improving No stress at all

    Cons

    (1) Hatfield... come on, I can understand it is a good place for vans for going everywhere in England, but for developers it is the worst place in the world. I cannot live in Hatfield, I have to commute from London to the north, this means I have to pay a season ticket for the train... and it is very expensive (2) Salary - unfortunately is low respect other companies (3) Commuting in the north means you are making sacrifices with your social life cause you have to build it up in Hatfield... and moreover everything seems to be twice expensive

    Continue reading
    5 people found this review helpful
  8. 4.0
    Former Employee

    Good place to work, but location lets it down

    Jul 24, 2015 - Software Engineer in Hatfield, East of England, England, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I worked as a software engineer. There are of areas to work on from the website to the warehousing. They have an attitude of doing virtually everything in house. I got very good experience there. Teams are small, work isn't bureaucratic and there are opportunities to be very innovative. Typical 40hr working week and flexibility about how you do your hours are good.

    Cons

    If you're very driven, you might find it a bit relaxed / casual / not strongly motivated. The office is in Hatfield. If you live in London, it's fine for a while, but most people get bored of the commute out. Your cost of commute is high, yet Ocado probably pays less than you could get in London. Being in Hatfield people don't stay around for drinks after work, but race back to London. This means there is less office social life.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  9. 4.0
    Current Employee

    Good company for graduates

    Jun 19, 2015 - Software Developer SE2 in Hatfield, West Midlands, England, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Use latest technology stack, good atmosphere, relax environment

    Cons

    No bonus, location, many in-experience developers

    2 people found this review helpful
  10. 4.0
    Current Employee

    Workplace with very peaceful and friendly atmosphere

    Mar 27, 2015 - Software Engineer in Hatfield, East of England, England, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    No extra hours, professional and friendly coleagues

    Cons

    Location of the office is not really good for people living in London.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 29 Reviews

Popular Careers with Ocado Group Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at Ocado Group? Share Your Experiences

Ocado Group logo
or