Ocado Group Employee Reviews about "long hours"

Updated Jan 18, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 29 of over 970 reviews

3.6
65%
Recommend to a Friend
77%
Approve of CEO
Ocado Group CEO Tim Steiner
Tim Steiner
451 Ratings
Pros
  • "When you finish early you still get paid for your scheduled hours(in 39 reviews)

  • "A good pay to work ratio, that has only increased multiple times since I joined just under two years ago(in 33 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Long hours but pay is competitive(in 30 reviews)

  • "The vans don't have parking sensors or a rear camera, causing unnecessary additional stress when parking or reversing(in 26 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Reviews about "long hours"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Good employer

      Jul 18, 2019 - Operations Support in Andover, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Large company, good facilities nice people

      Cons

      Long hours but pay is competitive.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 3.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Ok

      Jan 18, 2021 - Delivery Driver 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      If you finish early, you still get paid for the whole day

      Cons

      Long hours. Early starts. You're just a number

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Ocado Group Response

      Community Manager

      Thanks for taking the time to review Ocado Group. We're pleased to hear you are enjoying the early finishes. We'd also like you to know that at Ocado Group, the work you do is always relevant and recognised. Katie

    3. 3.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Okay as a part time position

      Oct 14, 2020 - Personal Shopper in London, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - no experience needed, training provided - you can earn a little bit more for hitting targets

      Cons

      - long hours, only 2 half-hour breaks - you're just a number - few opportunities to progress - poorly maintained equipment so things are constantly going down and it takes time for engineers to come over to see what the problem is.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Ocado Group Response

      Community Manager

      Thank you for taking the time to review Ocado Group. We're pleased to hear that you are able to carry out the role with no previous experience, but with the training provided. In terms of your other feedback, we do offer everyone regular personal development meetings with managers in which there are opportunities to discuss progression. We would highly recommend speaking to your manager to discuss this further. We'd also like to emphasise that we value every single one of our employees. Katie

    4. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      current situation

      Aug 31, 2020 - Inventory Analyst in Tamworth, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      share save scheme and free shares every 3 years. Decent days off.

      Cons

      Long hours, lack of progression, poor pay structure.

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Ocado Group Response

      Community Manager

      We appreciate you taking the time to leave a review of Ocado Group, and are happy to hear you are benefitting from the share save scheme. In terms of the lack of progression, we recommend speaking to your line manager to discuss your concerns further. Katie

    5. 1.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Ill treatment to staff, no work-life balance, bad management team

      Oct 4, 2020 - Project Management in Hatfield, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Stable and growing under Covid-19, company stock, international environment and job

      Cons

      No management structure at all, free style, very long hours working with no OT, poor HR, poor mental health

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful

      Ocado Group Response

      Community Manager

      Thanks for your review of Ocado Group. We're pleased to hear that you enjoyed the diverse environment during your time with us. We would like you to know that we have listened to several areas of feedback on your point about management and are looking to address issues with management through a new survey technology. Employees will be able to leave feedback anonymously without fear of comments going straight to the manager. Thank you for your hard work during your time with us. Katie

    6. 2.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      You have to be pretty desperate to work here

      Aug 13, 2020 - Warehouse Worker in Erith, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - Good pay and you get a decent bonus if you meet your targets - Most of the people are nice including the managers (well, the ones who work in the warehouse so know how awful it is) - It is bearable for a couple of months as an interim job

      Cons

      - Long hours with minimal breaks - You’re expected to be a robot. At Ocado you’re not a person, you’re just a number. - The higher up managers (as in your manager’s manager) don’t care, you get treated as if you’re nothing - You’re discouraged from talking to colleagues

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Ocado Group Response

      Community Manager

      Thank you for your review of Ocado Group, and thanks for your hard work over the past few months. We're sorry that you had a negative experience with management and felt as though you weren't a valued member of the team. We have made a note of your comments and will pass these on to the relevant team to review. Katie

    7. 4.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Great company

      Jun 12, 2020 - Software Engineer 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good benefits and nice people

      Cons

      Long hours, no room for progresion

      1 person found this review helpful
    8. 3.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Freezer worker

      May 27, 2020 - Warehouse Worker in Erith, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Pay, security, training staff friendly.

      Cons

      Long hours, targets, managers, your just a number.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 2.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      You have to be really desperate to take this job

      Apr 27, 2020 - Warehouse Operative/Picker in Tamworth, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Reasonable work incentives - discounts on Ocado, company shop, bonuses for good performance. Training colleagues and induction managers were friendly Facilities of a good standard

      Cons

      Very poor remuneration in comparison to other warehouse jobs. Many details of the job were kept from me prior to induction. Salary isn't what it was advertised to be. Really long hours. They work you hard. Unrealistic targets. 13 weeks of probation for a warehouse worker! Outrageous.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    10. 1.0
      Former Employee

      Managers

      Apr 9, 2020 - Personal Shopper in Tamworth, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      No Pro At All In Ocado

      Cons

      Bad managers No work and life abalance Long hours Bad pay

      1 person found this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 29 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Ocado Group Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Ocado Group? Share Your Experiences

    Ocado Group logo
    or