Ocado Group Employee Reviews about "vans"

Updated Oct 2, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

Found 45 of over 942 reviews

3.6
65%
Recommend to a Friend
74%
Approve of CEO
Ocado Group CEO Tim Steiner
Tim Steiner
432 Ratings
Pros
  • "When you finish early you still get paid for your scheduled hours(in 39 reviews)

  • "A good pay to work ratio, that has only increased multiple times since I joined just under two years ago(in 33 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Long hours but pay is competitive(in 30 reviews)

  • "The vans don't have parking sensors or a rear camera, causing unnecessary additional stress when parking or reversing(in 26 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Reviews about "vans"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Ocado Delivery Driver

      Jan 30, 2019 - Anonymous Employee in Erith, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good pay, book holiday mostly when you want, vans are good, and bit nippy. Managers are great, and other drivers are great too.

      Cons

      Hours I don't agree with -- 5:30 AM till 1:30 PM, 6am till 3pm, then 4pm till midnight. I'm hardly ever home. Managers get antsy when you accidentally go off route.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      It's an alright job to tie you over until you find something better.

      Oct 2, 2020 - CSTM Delivery Driver in Erith, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      -Pay was alright, would end up with about £380 per week after tax (40 hours) -Got to see some nice sights when I was out and about delivering, some days drove up to 300 miles. Delivery routes span from Central London to Brighton to Margate -Got to see how the rich folk out in Kent live that you deliver to (about 1 in 3 will treat you like a skivvy, rarely tip) -Once you're settled and know your routine it can be laidback, providing nothing goes wrong on your route. You get in in the morning, get your van info off the departure board, go down do your checks and away you go. Don't have to answer to anyone, just return at the end of the day and you're home free (Providing you're a good driver and don't ding the vans)

      Cons

      -Parking can be a nightmare, other road user's can give you hassle, especially when you wanna change lanes because your sat nav is delayed and giving you dodgy intel. -Company has no loyalty towards its worker's, will sack and replace you in a heartbeat. Expect you to be a robot with no life outside of work. (I had a total of 8 absences in 2 years and was sacked for it.) -If you opt for 4 days a week 10 hour days expect to deliver 2 full van loads a day (between 1600-1800kg) -Shift patterns are very anti social. You start out on a mixed shift pattern AM and PM shifts, 5 days a week 8 hour days. I hated PM shifts as you start at 15:30-16:00 and finish at midnight. If your route is running late you could finish even later. latest I finished was past 1am. Decided I wanted to do permanent AM shifts and 4 days a week 10 hour days. (5:30-6:00 starts and finish at 15:30-16:00) but to be put on this rota you have to have choose 2 permanent weekdays off per week and there's a LONG waiting list. I got accepted for Tuesday & Wednesday off and a third random day off (very unlikely to get a weekend day off, I worked nearly every weekend for 2 years.) -Some line manager's are on a real power trip and like to talk to you in a condescending way -Some drops can be very hard for parking, or when you do find a spot to park you're gonna have to carry or trolly a load of heavy shopping very far. -Lots of drops to top floor flats with no lift. It's like an army beasting some days. Especially in the summer

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Ocado Group Response

      Community Manager

      Thanks for taking the time to review Ocado Group. We're pleased to hear that there were lots of things you enjoyed about the role – including decent pay, scenic routes and a laidback routine! In terms of your other points, we appreciate the role can involve some heavy lifting, but we would like to note that we try to be as transparent as possible in our job listings and the Delivery Driver role is advertised as being physical. However, we are acting on this feedback and are currently working on putting systems in place to ease the load. We do also ask that our drivers are prepared to work various shifts with pay rates that vary between times and/or day – hence some of the shift times being more antisocial. Similarly, we'd like you to know that we have listened to several areas of feedback on your point about management and are looking to address issues with management through a new survey technology. Employees will be able to leave feedback anonymously without fear of comments going straight to the manager. Thank you for all your hard work. Katie

    3. 4.0
      Former Employee

      Alright

      Sep 17, 2020 - Delivery Driver in Tamworth, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The hours are good the wage is average

      Cons

      Location Vans are useless Pay

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Ocado Group Response

      Community Manager

      Thank you for leaving a review of Ocado Group, and thanks for all your hard work during your time with us. We are pleased to see that you were happy with the hours and pay as an Ocado Group employee. Katie

    4. 1.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Make it a quick stop gap.

      Jul 21, 2020 - CSTM Delivery Driver in Crawley, West Sussex, South East England, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Shift preference available... loosely. Nice scenic routes sometimes.

      Cons

      Ridiculously short timescales are set when navigating from drop to drop, adding pressure to an otherwise enjoyable drive. Slow driving through long narrow country lanes that the Danni device calculates 60 mph. The vans are made of paper and it's a fate worse than death if you should put a tiny scratch on one. It's all about money.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Ocado Group Response

      Thank you for your review and we're pleased to hear you enjoy the scenic routes you have completed. We have also captured your other points and will pass on your comments to the relevant team to review.

    5. 3.0
      Former Employee

      ex driver

      Apr 26, 2020 - Unemployed in Feltham, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      good hours and weekly pay

      Cons

      very high workload and the vans are rubbish and falling apart most of the time as they aren't maintained

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 3.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Ocado driver

      Apr 23, 2020 - Driver in Bristol, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Everydays different Flexible shifts Weekly pay Working alone

      Cons

      Harsh deadlines Stress of everyday driving Hire / fire firm Vans are I'll equipt e.g. no sensor's, radios broke most the time, satnav always crashes

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 3.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      The best rubbish job

      Feb 18, 2020 - Customer Service Team Member in Weybridge, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      You get to drive around all alone without a manager breathing down your neck all day. The pay is better than if you were delivering for Sainsbury's or Tesco's. Sunday and overtime pay increases. Paid leave for all on Xmas day, boxing day and new year's day. Colleagues are generally friendly. Customers are generally friendly.

      Cons

      The vans don't have parking sensors or a rear camera, causing unnecessary additional stress when parking or reversing. You can opt to work 10 hours x 4 days/week instead of 37.5 hours x 5 days/week, but you'll be doing literally twice the number of deliveries and twice the amount of crate weight than the 8 hour drivers for the same hourly rate. The company doesn't seem to really listen to employee feedback and suggestions. If an unreasonable customer makes a complaint about a driver, it automatically gets put on the driver's record, reported to your manager, within the power of your manager to take it further or not, and the customer will just be rewarded a £10 voucher anyway for making an unreasonable complaint.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    8. 3.0
      Former Employee

      good fellow employees and serving mostly nice customers

      Jan 30, 2020 - CSTM Delivery Driver in London, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      decent vans, good comraderie, private health care, flexible shift changes

      Cons

      the policy of unlimited water delivery up endless flights of stairs as a competetive edge lacks any humanity and there are plenty of sociopath customers in London who take full advantage of it...(you know who you are.)

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 3.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Good part time job

      Dec 31, 2019 - Delivery Driver in West Drayton, London, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Pay is £10.46 alright for part time. Easy to get the groove of driving the automatic vans. Straight forward to understand with this job.

      Cons

      Managers are rude at times. Too many drops to do. Ive had 29and 30 drops sometimes. I spoke to some of the tesco drivers out on the road and they said maximum they get is 15 drops. They were shocked when I told them we get minimum 15 drops.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    10. 3.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Ok but could be better

      Nov 22, 2019 - CSTM Delivery Driver in Tamworth, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Routes pre planned and vans loaded for you.

      Cons

      Management Very little to no praise

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 45 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Ocado Group Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Ocado Group? Share Your Experiences

    Ocado Group logo
    or