Ocado Technology Engineering Manager Reviews

Updated Apr 29, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 13 of over 273 reviews

4.7
82%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Ocado Technology CEO James Matthews
James Matthews
9 Ratings
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year
    Featured Review

    Probably the best company to work for during the 2020s

    Nov 9, 2020 - Software Engineering Team Lead in Sofia
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    * Great culture - "There are no dumb questions", "Everyone makes mistakes", "Make it work, then make it pretty", "Challenges are well accepted" * Visible Impact from the work that you're doing - On many of the projects the CEO and other high-level management are recognising the work that you're doing. * Great people work here - passionate and motivated to achieve great results!

    Cons

    * I can't think of cons at the moment.

    6 people found this review helpful

    Ocado Technology Response

    Communications Associate

    What a great review! We're incredibly pleased to see employees loving their work. Thanks for taking the time to leave your feedback.

  2. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Great Place To Work

    Apr 29, 2021 - Engineering Team Lead in Hatfield, East of England, England, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great culture, company that's growing fast, lots of impressive work happening, smart & enthusiastic & motivated colleagues, great work/life balance

    Cons

    Promotion process can be sluggish, compansation for UK roles not quite comparable with London market

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Ocado Technology Response

    Communications Associate

    Thanks for taking the time to leave a review! It’s great to hear that you enjoy working at Ocado Technology. Regarding your comment about remuneration, we would like to reassure you that we put a lot of effort into ensuring our total packages are competitive for each region that we operate in. Thanks again!

  3. 5.0
    Former Employee, more than 5 years

    Great culture, rapid growth

    Mar 22, 2021 - Engineering Manager in Hatfield, East of England, England, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Ocado Technology has put a lot of effort into defining software engineering and product owner/manager roles, and provided clear expectations. I found the culture to be one of the best of all the companies I've worked at, though it is fair to say that some departments are further along in this space than others. Leadership is accessible and friendly, as is everyone else. People are always willing to help. CI/CD and development tools are maturing constantly, OT is ahead of many organisations in this place.

    Cons

    My experience was generally very positive.

    1 person found this review helpful

    Ocado Technology Response

    Communications Associate

    Thanks for leaving a review! We’re so pleased to hear you had such a positive experience at Ocado Technology.

  4. 3.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Engineering Team Lead

    Apr 11, 2021 - Engineering Team Lead in Hatfield, East of England, England, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Nice people, no deadlines, nice career progression path

    Cons

    Poor salary, Chaotic WFH environment

    1 person found this review helpful

    Ocado Technology Response

    Communications Associate

    Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. Regarding your comment about salaries, we would like to reassure you that we put a lot of effort into our total packages are competitive for each region that we operate in. Thanks again.

  5. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 8 years

    Great place to work!

    Nov 13, 2020 - Head of Engineering in Hatfield, East of England, England, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I've thoroughly enjoyed my time at Ocado so far. - Lots of variety of work (I've moved between different areas and roles a lot) - Deeply interesting domains - Gained some very good friends - Learned from some exceptional people - Good support - "Get things done" attitude - A fair amount of autonomy in most areas - Generally data driven in decision making

    Cons

    - Some Ocado Technology wide decisions weren't communicated well, with reasoning unclear - Sometimes the balance between technical quality and delivery speed is pushed too far towards the latter, which has a short term benefit and a long term cost.

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Ocado Technology Response

    We're glad to hear you think Ocado Technology is a great place to work! We have recently invested in more tools to allow us to better capture feedback from our employees, and this feedback has highlighted how important the communication of strategy and goals are for our employees. Our leaders are focusing on this area, and are finding better and more interactive ways of sharing our organisational, stream and departmental goals. We hope this will enable our employees to better understand the business direction, as well as better understand the decisions we make (and why we make them!)

  6. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 10 years

    Exciting company which promises a huge global influence in years to come

    Jun 5, 2020 - Engineering Manager in Hatfield, East of England, England, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Interesting work with a massive scale - our work will impact the lives of millions of people globally. Great culture has kept me happy at Ocado for many years. Good benefits, my favourites are the sliding hours policy allowing me the flexibility to start any time before 10 and finish any time after 4 provided I do the contracted 8 hours of course, and the ability to have parcels delivered to work. The staff discount on groceries has saved thousands over the years. The share incentive schemes have also been very lucrative due to Ocado's performance on the stock market.

    Cons

    You might look at the head office location as a con - it's in Hatfield which is a short way out of London. For me though, the commute from London zone 3 out to Hatfield is much more pleasant than it would be going the other way.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Ocado Technology Response

    Senior PR and Communications Manager

    Thank you :)

  7. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Very good culture!

    Nov 11, 2020 - Engineering Manager in Hatfield, East of England, England, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Very good culture. Great team. Inclusive environment. Decent rewards.

    Cons

    The office building is missing 'Google-style' features. Why there is no slide to the canteen??

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Ocado Technology Response

    Thanks for your review, we're glad to hear you appreciate the culture and the working environment. Feel free to feed any suggestions back to the team.

  8. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 5 years

    Great company that care for the tech and the people!

    Jun 8, 2020 - Software Engineering Manager in London, England, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    What I prefer about Ocado is the people in it. Very smart and always supportive of each others! The company gives us a lot of trust which leaves us with a lot of autonomy to work.

    Cons

    Since there is now an Office in London, there are very few Cons in my view. I sometimes find that there is a bit too much to do for the time I have.

    1 person found this review helpful

    Ocado Technology Response

    Communications Associate

    Thank you for your review, it's brilliant to hear you're still passionate about working at Ocado Technology after all this time.

  9. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 8 years

    Great culture and interesting projects

    Feb 6, 2020 - Software Engineering Manager 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Company culture, inclusive , interesting new technologies, fast paced, sensible working hours

    Cons

    Chaotic management structure, project manager estimations are always wrong

    1 person found this review helpful

    Ocado Technology Response

    Communications Associate

    Thanks for reviewing – great to hear you're still enjoying working with us after all this time!

  10. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Great place to work

    Feb 19, 2019 - Software Engineering Intern in Hatfield, East of England, England, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Very nice people and technology to work on.

    Cons

    Location is a bit boring but very close to London.

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Ocado Technology Response

    Social Media and Content Lead

    Thanks for the positive review! For anyone thinking about commuting between Hatfield and London, we offer free season ticket loans for the train, a free shuttle between the station and the office, and free parking. Ask your recruiter for more information.

Viewing 1 - 10 of 13 Reviews

Popular Careers with Ocado Technology Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at Ocado Technology? Share Your Experiences

Ocado Technology logo
or