Ochsner Health System Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Ochsner Health System Reviews

Updated 18 Jul 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 649 reviews

3.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
70%
Recommend to a Friend
81%
Approve of CEO
Ochsner Health System CEO Warner Thomas
Warner Thomas
341 Ratings
Pros
  • "If you are looking for s great place to work(in 25 reviews)

  • "Family atmosphere, good benefits, good use of technology(in 23 reviews)

Cons
  • "low pay, no advancement opportunities(in 22 reviews)

  • "If you aren't a doctor, nurse or patient, upper management doesn't care(in 16 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Salary"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Education Program Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Ochsner Health System full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Flexible with time for family

    Cons

    A lot of work, could pay more for education experience

    Ochsner Health System2019-07-18
  2. "Great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Host 

      I have been working at Ochsner Health System part-time

      Pros

      Great place to work, ability to move up in the company

      Cons

      Pay can definitely be higher

      Ochsner Health System2019-07-08
    • "Good benefits"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Pharmacy Technician 

      I have been working at Ochsner Health System full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      Good benefits and awesome coworkers.

      Cons

      Pay could be more competitive.

      Ochsner Health System2019-07-07
    • "Cardiovascular Sonographer"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Cardiovascular Sonographer in Metairie, LA
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Ochsner Health System full-time for more than 5 years

      Pros

      Challenging. Professional. Cutting edge .

      Cons

      Excellent place of employment

      Ochsner Health System2019-07-04
    • "Great place to work, they are trying to perfect their brand"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Administrative Fellow in New Orleans, LA
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Ochsner Health System full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      I work in a corporate area and the people that I have been able to work with are extremely down to earth, smart, and genuinely want employees at all levels to succeed. One of Ochsner's core values is "patients first" and I truly believe that most employees keep this in mind, even if they are not directly patient facing. There are a lot of opportunities for leadership development and further education, which I believe...

      Show More

      Cons

      Everyone at Ochsner talks about how bad the pay is--and this is true! They spend a LOT of money on agency/contract help in many departments (nurses, therapists, medical coders, etc.). Although fair market value in the south may be lower than most of the nation, Ochsner should consider that they are headquartered in New Orleans, and the pay here should be more competitive with other cities around the nation.

      Advice to Management

      -Show more appreciation and value to CLINICAL staff. I know that a lot of direct care providers have been unhappy working at Ochsner, while employees in more supportive departments (IT, Supply Chain, Administration, Finance, Facilities, Learning and Development, Talent Management, etc.) are more happy with their jobs. Ochsner NEEDS to concentrate on better ways to spend less on contract/agency staff. I know that there...

      Show More
      Ochsner Health System2019-07-03
    • "it's okay..."

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Pharmacy Technician Specialist 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Ochsner Health System full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Competitive pay and benefits, huge amount of effort invested in community involvement and also in innovation.

      Cons

      Very little opportunity for upwards movement into higher level positions due to practice of not promoting from within. If you're entry level there's opportunity to move up, but it will eventually dead in when they refuse to promote despite qualifications and praise

      Advice to Management

      Promote from within, retain amazing employees and increase the value of the employee that was initially invested in.

      Ochsner Health System2019-07-17
    • "Great Company"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Current Employee - Receptionist in New Orleans, LA

        I have been working at Ochsner Health System full-time for less than a year

        Pros

        they have great benefits and management is very supportive

        Cons

        scheduling can be difficult to get days off you want

        Ochsner Health System2019-07-12
      • "Revenue Cycle associate"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Revenue Cycle in New Orleans, LA
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I have been working at Ochsner Health System full-time for more than a year

        Pros

        Great company. Management can be flexible with your hours (but it depends on the department, your manager and your work). Ochsner Power of One conference is a good experience.

        Cons

        Insurance is on the high side, but the coverage is very good. Some departments can be very territorial and will play the blame game when things go wrong instead of owning up to their error.

        Advice to Management

        Pay better salaries to employees with certifications.

        Ochsner Health System2019-06-23
      • "Great place to work"

        StarStarStarStarStar
          Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
          No Opinion of CEO

          I have been working at Ochsner Health System

          Pros

          Lead learn education and opportunity

          Cons

          Long hours,deadlines, and hurdles to get past

          Advice to Management

          Very good at keeping everyone involved with progress going on.

          Ochsner Health System2019-06-23
        • "Like any Company, there are pros and cons"

          StarStarStarStarStar
          • Work/Life Balance
          • Culture & Values
          • Career Opportunities
          • Compensation and Benefits
          • Senior Management
          Current Employee - MRI Technologist in New Orleans, LA
          Recommends
          Positive Outlook
          Approves of CEO

          I have been working at Ochsner Health System full-time for more than a year

          Pros

          Decent pay and availability to pick up overtime if desired.

          Cons

          Most members in management only remain in their position for less than 2 years, this leads to constant inconsistencies between the work environment during different time periods.

          Ochsner Health System2019-06-21
        Found 649 reviews