Office Angels Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Office Angels Reviews

Updated Oct 14, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 56 reviews

3.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
67%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Office Angels CEO Kate Garbett (no image)
Kate Garbett
3 Ratings
Pros
  • "(in 3 reviews)

  • "Executive Director is fantastic, very motivating and has time for everyone regardless of what level you are at(in 3 reviews)

Cons
  • "I then rang the branch manager who had no time for me in what I was saying and made me feel guilty for leaving to work for a competitor(in 3 reviews)

  • "Obviously as its temp work you can be dropped from the assignment very quickly(in 3 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "A professional recruitment business with service at the forefront of our minds!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Operations Manager in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Office Angels full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    An amazing inclusive organisation with a real family feel. Putting employees first and rewarding hard work and dedication every day. Dedicated to ensuring our customers are given the best experience when finding a new role or recruiting for their team. Fantastic training, flexible working patterns, we are all in this together.

    Cons

    I can't think of any!

    Office Angels2019-10-14

    Office Angels Response

    October 16, 2019Executive Director

    This is really great to read, thank you for taking the time to add in a comment. There is always lots more room for improvement but service will always be our key priority. Kate

  2. "Unforgettable organisation"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Recruitment Consultant in Crawley, West Sussex, South East England, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Office Angels full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I worked at Office Angels Crawley for over 3 and a half years. I feel incredibly honoured to of had the opportunity to have worked for such a powerful brand. Surrounded by kind, empowering businesswomen and leaders. My Executive Director, Area Manager and Branch Manager always treated me fairly and made me feel so valuable. Office Angels is unique and one of a kind, a company that truly cares about your well-being... and career development. Thank you, Office Angels, for making my time with you so enjoyable.

    Show More

    Cons

    None! I left Office Angels due to personal circumstances

    Office Angels2019-09-11

    Office Angels Response

    October 15, 2019Executive Director

    Thank you so much for your review! Kate

  3. "Great Place to Work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Consultant 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Office Angels full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Everyone is very supportive of each other and genuinely wants everyone to do well. Executive Director is fantastic, very motivating and has time for everyone regardless of what level you are at. Fantastic training and lots of opportunities for progression and development. Good bonus scheme and lots of other incentives both locally and nationally. Flexible start and finish times and more emphasis on work life... balance than most recruitment firms.

    Show More

    Cons

    Basic salaries are lower than market average although bonus in sales roles does make up for this in some way

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you are doing!

    Office Angels2019-09-05

    Office Angels Response

    October 15, 2019Executive Director

    Thank you so much for your review! Kate

  4. "A great company and team"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Recruiter in Manchester, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Office Angels full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    There is a really positive top-down culture of care at this company. Our Executive Director is focused and enthusiastic about making OA the best it can be. The Manchester office is a friendly and supportive place to work - in recruitment, you often reap what you sow, and if you work smart and care about what you are doing, there is lots of opportunity to be successful here. The tide is definitely turning in terms of... recognising that offering flexibility means that people can still do their jobs well whilst working from home on occasion, or with condensed hours.

    Show More

    Cons

    As with other reviews, the basic salary is not as competitive as it could be.

    Advice to Management

    My opinion about my job is the best it has been in years. Thank you for continuing to look for ways to engage and support your employees.

    Office Angels2019-09-05

    Office Angels Response

    October 15, 2019Executive Director

    Thank you so much for your review! Kate

  5. "Great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Recruitment Consultant 

    I have been working at Office Angels full-time

    Pros

    Great opportunities and benefits available

    Cons

    No cons to working here.

    Office Angels2019-08-21

    Office Angels Response

    August 23, 2019Executive Director

    Thank you for your review! Kate

  6. Helpful (1)

    "Absolute joke. Avoid at all costs"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Receptionist in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Office Angels full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    They were nice when I went to visit them in the office, although they did leave me waiting for over half an hour...

    Cons

    Truly an absolute joke. Certainly avoid the Liverpool st branch at all costs. - I went in looking for both permanent and temporary work. In the interviews they told me they had plenty of work etc. I could already honestly tell though that they hadn't read through my CV beforehand... - The person managing temps has to this day NEVER contacted me since the initial meeting. I actually emailed her over a MONTH after... we met asking if she had any roles (she mentioned there were opportunities 2x per week) and she said 'they would soon have some'. Of course she has not contacted me since. It's been 2 months in total. What a mess - In terms of permanent positions: there was 1 job (in 2 months) that was matched to me (bearing in mind I have 3 years of experience in similar roles) that I had an interview for. After the interview I was told to call OA which I did. Strangely enough she asked ME what the next steps would be in the application process. So bizarre. She then did not contact me again for another 2 weeks, and I received absolutely no feedback. - (permanent positions) I would be forwarded roles via email. When I responded saying I was interested she would find the most bizzare excuses eg (and I'm actually serious) 'the hiring manager has suddenly gone on holiday. So the hiring process has been postponed for 3 months'. It's actually funny. -Just a complete lack of communication. This company is a joke. Avoid at ALL costs.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    -More training or auditing needs to be done to ensure that those looking for work are being regularly communicated with. -There needs to be more honesty. Don't make false promises you won't keep. Or don't hire people if you don't think you can find them a role. - I understand the focus is probably on KPIs so people are viewed as numbers, but you don't have to make it so obvious...

    Office Angels2019-09-06
  7. "Interactive and diverse job role"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Candidate Consultant in Hammersmith, England

    I worked at Office Angels full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Job perks, variety in tasks to do every day, very a boring day

    Cons

    Sales pressure. Too low pay

    Office Angels2019-08-13

    Office Angels Response

    August 27, 2019Executive Director

    Thank you so much for your comments, I am sorry that you felt sales pressure as in your role as Candidate Consultant - you should not have been in a sales role. We are always reviewing our basic salaries as I agree they could be higher. Currently our bonus schemes are above market rate, but as a Candidate Consultant you may have not been able to increase your salary accordingly. We have in the last 12 months introduced a Candidate Consultant self-promotion criteria to allow Candidate Consultants to increase their salary but I do agree there is still more to do here. Kate

    Show Less
  8. "Fun company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Recruitment Consultannt in London, England

    I have been working at Office Angels full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great people, if you work hard you are rewarded

    Cons

    Be prepared to put in the hours

    Office Angels2019-07-29

    Office Angels Response

    August 23, 2019Executive Director

    Thank you for your review! Kate

  9. "Outdated and not competitive in market"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Permanent Recruitment 

    I worked at Office Angels part-time

    Pros

    Nice office, and great manager

    Cons

    No structure - hard sell. Outdated business model

    Office Angels2019-08-05

    Office Angels Response

    August 27, 2019Executive Director

    Thank you for your review. I was so surprised to read this and would really value the opportunity to talk to you further if you would be willing. I pride myself on placing service above sales, and building exceptional relationships in order to grow the business, and so I am so surprised that you found the business a hard sell and would be keen to understand where you were based. I am sorry that was your experience. We are continually evolving our business model as recruitment is changing and I am sorry you were not able to see the changes that we are making. Kate

    Show Less
  10. "AVOID - Was looking for permanent work."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Office Angels

    Pros

    None, absolute joke, worst experience.

    Cons

    Been a while since I was invited into their office to find a permanent position. Since then no contact, no interviews and false promises of sending over job opportunities on the day. Stuck up and lazy environment who don’t care about finding you work, just a waste of time and filling out paperwork for no apparent reason.

    Advice to Management

    Don’t invite people to come in and waste their time if you’re not even going to follow through and at least help. FOLLOW UP WITH PEOPLE. Start caring and don’t make people feel inferior. You don’t even deserve 1 star didn’t have a choice.

    Office Angels2019-08-05

    Office Angels Response

    August 27, 2019Executive Director

    I am so disappointed to read your review and would personally like to apologise for the experience you received. This is absolutely unacceptable and not the service that we pride ourselves on. We are a people first business who always want to provide an honest and transparent service to our clients, candidates and indeed our own employees. We can’t help everyone, but explaining what we can do, not over promising and providing alternative solutions are all things we are regularly praised on in our customer reviews. If you would be willing to get in touch personally, I would really like to know which office you received this experience from. My email address is kate.garbett@office-angels.com. We take poor service incredibly seriously, and if you can confirm where and who you were dealing with I can ensure this is fully investigated. Kate

    Show Less
Found 56 reviews