Officescape Reviews

Updated 7 Jun 2020

To filter reviews, or .

Found 17 of over 18 reviews

1.4
6%
Recommend to a Friend
16%
Approve of CEO
Officescape President Felix Tan (no image)
Felix Tan
12 Ratings
  1. 2.0
    Current Employee

    Bad

    7 Jun 2020 - Account Manager 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I learned new things everyday

    Cons

    Micro managed and horrible management

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 1.0
    Current Employee

    Real leadership is non-existent from the top

    8 Jan 2013 -  
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Most of the staff is friendly and welcoming to new ideas and approaches.

    Cons

    The president of the company does not welcome new ideas or approaches if they didn't come from himself. His background and culture does not welcome them. Officescape is a company specializing in telework solutions and doesn't support their own employees in working remotely. The company culture involves not rewarding their best workers. Raises are given on a as-deserved basis only, which is never. The president of the company has to approve all expenses, but most small expenses are expected to come from the employee with no compensation. Salaried employees are held to the fire by the hour (sick time, 8-5), yet are not paid anything more for overtime.

    Continue reading
    6 people found this review helpful

    Officescape Response

    Manager

    In my tenure, it has been my observation that Officescape’s president welcomes new ideas from all employees. I have witnessed the empowerment of management to lead strategic & tactical planning within their departments. Employees do utilize Officescape’s telework solutions to remain productive while working remotely, full-time, in day-extender roles, etc. and are recognized for their efforts on a weekly basis and during reviews related to promotions & raises. Officescape is a pay-for-performance company. Performance reviews focus on employee development, setting short and long-term goals. Pay increases are consistently well above the national average. Salaried/Exempt employees are not eligible for overtime pay in any company by law.

  3. 1.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    A Hot Mess

    12 Feb 2015 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    - good gallows humor - co-workers/first level supervisors are generally decent people who are stuck in the same boat - never took work home (mostly because didn't care enough to) - if you got employee of the month you got a giant stuffed elephant to put on your desk - ok office building/furniture

    Cons

    - payroll issues - vendors don't get paid - upper management/owner don't listen to employees and are clueless as to how to manage people - poor communication, both internally and with clients - can't work from home even though it is a remote office company - unimpressive pay rate for amount of work expected, fair rate for work actually performed - lots of run-around and artificially stressful situations created by management/owner not doing their job and/or passing the uncomfortable conversations off to underlings - lousy break room

    Continue reading
    4 people found this review helpful
  4. 1.0
    Former Employee

    I don't know how it's still running

    23 Mar 2015 -  
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I think anybody that has worked there, can agree that the people were the best thing about Officescape.

    Cons

    -Bounced paychecks, starting last year. The owner thought that providing a cashiers check Friday evening was a victory (if he didn't ask you to wait a few days to ensure funds were there for depositing and cashing). -Low morale, it got worse and worse to where there wasn't a smile in sight -No growth opportunity -Lied to vendors and clients regarding payment or checks owed, typically didn't have funds to cover -Used his own staff to be front lines for all customer complaints, and ensured they were never able to transfer anybody to the Accounting Department or himself -Accounting department didn't have answers to any money questions, which is concerning to all -Health Insurance lapsed at least once, due to owed bills -If an employee ever spent personal money on business expenditures, it would take weeks to get that reimbursed- if ever - Company didn't even practice the industry we preached, teleworking -The company was evicted from their property, due to unpaid rent for over 5 months - As they were escorted off the property, the CEO told clients that there was a fire, or a building incident so they needed to leave...LIE! He expected our employees to face the clients but he could lie to their faces

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful
  5. 1.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    What happened?!

    26 Jan 2016 - Anonymous Employee in West Lafayette, IN
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Things didn't seem too bad when I started working there as an intern. But as I transitioned to a part-time role, the true colors of Officescape started to show themselves. We did have a fun company picnic, department gatherings, and birthdays. Although, come to think of it, all the fun stuff we did was department specfic, and nothing company wide or sponsored. I need to thank my direct management for that, no one from "upstairs" really cared at all.

    Cons

    Upper management was non-existent, and all you'd hear from them where complaints about competitors. Thankfully I didn't have to deal with the bankrupt debacle of 2015 when both of the office were evicted....talk about pathetic and embarrassing! Perfect timing on my part for jumping from a sinking ship in time. In my time there, there was no room for opportunity or growth and advancement. You just had to make due with what you had, and deal with it.

    Continue reading
    3 people found this review helpful
  6. 1.0
    Former Employee, more than 8 years

    Great Vision...Poor Execution

    13 May 2015 - Senior Sales Manager in West Lafayette, IN
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    There were great people within the organization who were truly dedicated, I include the founder/CEO in this statement. There was once a product line and a direction that made good sense where, if properly executed, really could have been something.

    Cons

    There was simply a lack of business sense on the part of the CEO to have any true vision become a reality. Despite a true desire on the part of leadership to succeed, they simply lack the skills to get it done. In fact, the decision making seemed to be in direct conflict with true progress. The CEO never availed himself fully of the talent around him. Decisions were made in a vacuum without outside contribution, which lead the company down a darker and darker path as the years went on. Business practices became morally questionable and the integrity of the employees doing the master's bidding became too much for many. The lies and poor judgement severed any trust internally and externally the CEO had.

    Continue reading
    6 people found this review helpful
  7. 1.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    I actually mean 0 stars

    23 Mar 2015 - Anonymous Employee in Indianapolis, IN
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    -Decent building (when we had it) -Good co-workers -Food events from time-to-time

    Cons

    -President, Felix Tan, ran the company into the ground -When there were major issues, nobody knew what to do, and the upper people tried to ignore them and not respond, or just take a few days to respond -Finances were terrible, because the president tried to do them, and clients AND employees were barely paid, and never on time -It got to the point where there was very little work to be done, so work was horrendously boring -Nobody could understand Felix as he not only struggled to speak English, but he screamed all of the time for no reason, especially while other people were trying to work in the same building while he did this -Being escorted out of the building by the police and building management because they haven't paid the building rent in 6+ months is embarrassing -Paid-for-performance is a lie, as "guaranteed raises" mean nothing. Don't promise raises and not give them, it's not our fault you can't keep the company from collapsing.

    Continue reading
    5 people found this review helpful
  8. 1.0
    Former Employee

    Witnessed some of the most unethical business practices while employed with Officescape

    17 Mar 2015 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Work/life balance was decent. Great coworkers at the College Park and Meridian offices (both are now closed though). Officescape experienced some promising growth a few years ago but the profits were wasted away.

    Cons

    The unethical decisions made at the top of the company reflected poorly on employees, who had to answer the numerous questions that came from clients and customers. The president ran the company into the ground by lying to everyone, including his own employees and customers. The staff and customers were recently escorted off of the premises at the Meridian office when Officescape was evicted from the building. Even before the eviction, employee's paychecks bounced on several occasions, going back to 2014. Employees were also expected to front business expenses but were never reimbursed within a reasonable amount of time.

    Continue reading
    6 people found this review helpful
  9. 2.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Sales

    2 Jun 2012 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great people to work with and not a high pressure sales job in Lafayette, IN

    Cons

    Low pay Incomplete products with no technical support No marketing budget Products are a few years behind the market especially for a technical product services company

    Continue reading
    6 people found this review helpful
  10. 1.0
    Former Employee

    Upper management vs everyone else

    19 Mar 2014 - Anonymous Employee in Indianapolis, IN
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Bright minds and ideas from ground-level employees

    Cons

    President is non existent, hands-off with serious issues but micromanages daily processes. It's his way or the highway. People are leaving the company at an alarming rate, the company refuses to address it other than post the artificially inflated scores on glassdoor. Staff is paid well below the average salary for their position in our location. You are expected to deduct your hours when missing any time between 8-5, but to be available 24/7. Mileage is not covered for sales people. We are expected to be chained to our office.

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 17 Reviews

Work at Officescape? Share Your Experiences

Officescape logo
or