Oliver James Associates Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Oliver James Associates Reviews

Updated 12 Feb 2020

To filter reviews, or .

4.6
91%
Recommend to a Friend
97%
Approve of CEO
Oliver James Associates Managing Director James Rogers
James Rogers
194 Ratings
Pros
  • "The people at Oliver James are the best thing about the company(in 46 reviews)

  • "Social events bring the whole of OJ together which is great(in 34 reviews)

Cons
  • "The only drawback has previously been long hours(in 64 reviews)

  • "Most of the frustrations around working hours / flexibility have been addressed(in 28 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Consultant 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Oliver James Associates full-time

    Pros

    Great company to work for the leadership team are dedicated to making sure everyone is happy trained and looked after which is refreshing.

    Cons

    Not many major cons

    Oliver James Associates2020-02-13
  2. "Great company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Consultant in Manchester, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Oliver James Associates full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good company benefits, transparent environment, approachable Directors, sociable working environment.

    Cons

    It is a challenging environment and pressurised but the rewards outweigh this.

    Oliver James Associates2019-12-12
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Good working environment if you are competitive"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Researcher in Manchester, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Oliver James Associates full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Very good salary and benefits (including bonus) in case performance is excellent. Great summer and Christmas parties (never seen them anywhere else). Very good training team, that trains you at the beginning of your contract but also during your working life at OJ.

    Cons

    Very stressful and competitive environment. Very demanding atmosphere and long working hours.

    Continue reading
    Oliver James Associates2019-11-11
  4. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Managing Consultant 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Oliver James Associates full-time

    Pros

    - Lunchtime gym sessions - Decent industry hours - Decent commission structure - Good senior management team - Great summer/Christmas parties

    Cons

    - Very KPI heavy - Some old school attitudes (but these are changing)

    Continue reading
    Oliver James Associates2019-10-07
  5. Helpful (1)

    "The world is your oyster"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager in Manchester, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Oliver James Associates full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    As a graduate, choosing my first role and employer was important to me. I was particularly attracted to Oliver James Associates due to its people first and foremost, the business’s values and ethos, the growth plans and the prestige of the firm. I joined in 2015 as an Associate Consultant and through hard work, being part of a successful team in Manchester and with the support of the leadership team was promoted through the ranks year on year to Manager, having been given lots of opportunity including to build and grow my own desk and even move to New York! The business is meritocratic and truly lives by its values of being the most trusted recruitment firm globally. I have enjoyed working closely with and learning from the leadership team and being part of the leadership team consequently myself where my ideas were listened to and implemented. I couldn’t recommend a better business to a budding recruiter seeking to progress and develop his or her career. I left the business a couple of weeks ago and this was down to relocation and to try something different; I was able to do this through the doors opened to me by being part of the OJA family for nearly 5 years. Finally, the OJA has a great L&D team (as well as a vibrant social atmosphere and company events!) and a good commission structure rewarding hard work.

    Cons

    No major disadvantages to note - constant hard work is expected, so if you are lacking commitment, then it’s not the place for you!

    Continue reading
    Oliver James Associates2019-09-17
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Hard work, stressful but fun."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Recruitment Consultant in Manchester, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Oliver James Associates full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The right teams and markets will make you alot of money. The company pays for alot of events and socials. Good management at the higher levels.

    Cons

    Middle management micro manage you and are KPI obsessed. Long hours.

    Oliver James Associates2019-09-16
  7. "Inspiring Business, Great Mentors, Unparalleled Opportunities"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Manchester, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Oliver James Associates full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    In a pretty saturated recruitment market, Oliver James Associates stands shoulders above their competition. Approach towards business is strategic and intelligent, training and development of all staff is paramount, and the investment they make into technology, office environment, staff rewards and wellbeing is unrivaled. With so many businesses struggling or making cut-backs it's refreshing to be part of such a pioneering and growing company.

    Cons

    The company is getting big, but this is not a business that you can expect to hide and be average in. It's tough to get a job here, and you have to be committed to working hard, but you will find yourself surrounded by some of the best recruiters in the market, who will inspire you to push yourself harder and with that will come exceptional earnings and promotional opportunities - just look at how many Directors have risen from consultant level during their career here. If you have an entrepreneurial mindset they will back you and you could be the next Director opening a new location.

    Continue reading
    Oliver James Associates2019-08-15
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Senior Consultant Opinion"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Consultant in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Oliver James Associates full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Established business with excellent client relationships means that making placements and money is easy

    Cons

    Very process driven and lacks any creativity. Days become monotonous and boring. You feel very much like a cog in a machine

    Continue reading
    Oliver James Associates2019-06-17
  9. "Fantastic training and leadership"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Oliver James Associates full-time

    Pros

    Training and leadership are excellent.

    Cons

    Long working hours, although I’ve heard this has improved recently.

    Oliver James Associates2019-05-15
  10. "Amazing recruitment firm in London"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Oliver James Associates full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Amazing platform to help succeed Training helps develop talent from no experience to senior positions Great culture helping people work together but allows for a positive competitive spirit Social events bring the whole of OJ together which is great

    Cons

    Long hours but that's what you get with recruitment

    Oliver James Associates2019-03-28

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 242 reviews