On the Beach Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

On the Beach Reviews

Updated 22 Jun 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 64 reviews

4.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
87%
Recommend to a Friend
92%
Approve of CEO
Simon Cooper
53 Ratings
Pros
  • "On the Beach is a very enjoyable and relaxed place to work(in 13 reviews)

  • "(in 6 reviews)

Cons
  • "Can't think of any, wish it was closer to the city centre but that's all(in 3 reviews)

  • "basic salary not reviewed for a few years and should be as part of cost of living rises(in 2 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Brilliant place to work- recommend all of my friends"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Advisor in Cheadle, North West England, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at On the Beach full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexible working hours, pay, dress down days, management, staff

    Cons

    non that I can think of

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what your doing

    On the Beach2019-04-25

    On the Beach Response

    April 29, 2019Talent Acquisition Manager

    Thank you so much for your review! It's fantastic to hear that you are enjoying working at OTB :)

  2. "Culture Values Office People Politics"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Developer in Manchester, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at On the Beach full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great office, collaboration, smart people, hack week, moonshot

    Cons

    No innovation, constraint focused, lack of autonomy, politics, toxic management, lack of ownership, micro-management, ostracized developer culture, no architecture direction, no appraisals

    Advice to Management

    Embrace challenging culture, hire skilled and experienced architects, be transparent, rebuild your stack using a cloud first architecture

    On the Beach2019-06-22

    On the Beach Response

    June 24, 2019Talent Acquisition Manager

    Thanks for taking time to give feedback. Good to hear that you liked the office, team collaboration and innovation. Sorry to hear your view of management and architecture. If you'd like to discuss further please contact us at careers@onthebeach.co.uk

  3. "Great employer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service in Cheadle, North West England, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at On the Beach full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Company culture, colleges, benefits, friendly attitude from superiors

    Cons

    Salary, targets unreasonable at times, micromanaged at times

    On the Beach2019-04-15

    On the Beach Response

    April 18, 2019Talent Acquisition Manager

    Your feedback is very valuable. Thanks for taking time to give feedback :) We will keep working to improve our colleague experience!

  4. "Good culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I worked at On the Beach full-time

      Pros

      flexible working beer on friday good dev team

      Cons

      office was dated nothing else really

      On the Beach2019-03-04

      On the Beach Response

      March 11, 2019Resourcing Advisor

      Thanks for your review! Its great to hear you had a positive working life here - we would love the chance to show you our brand new offices! Feel free to drop us a message any time :)

    • "Great People, Culture & High Tech"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at On the Beach full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      - Friendly and passionate people - Teamwork is a must - They value different opinions and encourage open communication - Free car park in the city centre!

      Cons

      Nothing really, benefits are good but can be better :)

      Advice to Management

      Keep doing what yo are doing and don't the let company to turn into giant cooperate organisation.

      On the Beach2019-01-08

      On the Beach Response

      January 10, 2019Talent Acquisition Manager

      Thanks for your feedback. It's good to hear that you enjoy our team culture. It's very important for us too.

    • "Great growing company"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Manchester, England
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at On the Beach full-time for less than a year

      Pros

      Small enough not to be corporate. Big enough to offer opportunities for the employees to grow. Office location. Culture.

      Cons

      Nothing really. The only negative thing which has now been sorted was the office in Cheadle. Now Tech, Prod, Finance and Marketing are based in central Manchester, 5 min from Piccadilly.

      Advice to Management

      Dare to challenge what has been the norm. Dare to do things differently.

      On the Beach2019-01-04

      On the Beach Response

      January 8, 2019Talent Acquisition Manager

      Thanks for taking time share your thoughts. We are delighted that you would recommend us as a great place to work. We will pass your notes to management! Also, we love our new office too :)

    • "Great company where you can make a difference"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at On the Beach full-time for more than 5 years

      Pros

      - Great team full of smart, hard working people - Interesting work - Work/life balance

      Cons

      - Few people aren't as hard working as the others

      On the Beach2019-01-04

      On the Beach Response

      January 8, 2019Talent Acquisition Manager

      It's always nice to hear that our colleagues have room to make difference and to grow. Thanks for your positive feedback.

    • "Friendly, open, and engaging place to work"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Manchester, England
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at On the Beach full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      - Talented people who are enthusiastic about their work - You have the freedom and support to instigate change if you are happy to own the idea - Excellent modern offices with good local amenities - Visible and engaging executive team - Casual office environment - Transparent departmental and pay structures

      Cons

      - - - - -

      On the Beach2019-01-04

      On the Beach Response

      January 8, 2019Talent Acquisition Manager

      Thanks for such a positive feedback on our culture and structure. We are happy to hear that you have no cons :) We will do our best to keep it that way in the future too!

    • "An amazing place to work!"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Software Development Engineer in Manchester, England
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at On the Beach full-time for less than a year

      Pros

      A great place to work with like-minded people. There are too many pros to mention but I'll list my top four: An out of this world new office in Manchester Flexible working hours Totally approachable management, from CEO to Team lead A real push on CPD, they want you to learn new skills!

      Cons

      No downside yet ... it's been the best decision I've ever made to come and work here!

      Advice to Management

      Keep on doing what you're doing!

      On the Beach2018-12-21

      On the Beach Response

      December 21, 2018Talent Acquisition Manager

      It's fantastic to hear you saying "too many pros to mention" ! Thank you so much for your review. We will keep doing what we are doing!

    • "Lovely Company To work For"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Stockport, England
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at On the Beach full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      - Amazing Staff, everyone get along and enjoys working with each other. - Supportive Managers, always there to help. - Nice work environment - free coffee and Tea, Vending machines, breakout areas with pool table etc.

      Cons

      - the system like in any job can be sometimes temperamental however we have an amazing IT team who are always hand on with any issues that may occur

      Advice to Management

      - I could not ask for a better manager, she is the most supportive person I know and always helps you overcome any issues you have to make you better within your role.

      On the Beach2018-11-06

      On the Beach Response

      December 20, 2018Talent Acquisition Manager

      Thanks for your feedback, we think our colleagues are amazing too :)

    Found 64 reviews