OneMain Financial Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

OneMain Financial Reviews

Updated 11 Sep 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 1062 reviews

2.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
38%
Recommend to a Friend
69%
Approve of CEO
OneMain Financial CEO Doug Shulman (no image)
Doug Shulman
53 Ratings
Pros
  • "Nice package decent place to work good benefits flexible work hours(in 87 reviews)

  • "Ability to work remote/Great benefits package/Collaborative work environment(in 45 reviews)

Cons
  • "Your collections targets are based on loans you did not write(in 93 reviews)

  • "Upper management is not professional(in 68 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Financial services can be soul sucking but all things considered, not a bad place to be."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at OneMain Financial full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Work life balance, some very good managers in Baltimore, opportunities for growth but this did not necessarily translate to more compensation. Community Involvement

    Cons

    compensation, goal setting and review process. Business in a holding pattern until it is sold or spun off from Citi.

    OneMain Financial2014-09-01
  2. Helpful (1)

    "This a TERRIBLE PLACE TO WORK"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Manager in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at OneMain Financial full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great staff and friendly people. they treat you like family

    Cons

    But management calling team members in one after the other to snitch on each other so you can get a peanut raise in salary is just so sad. If you get shortlisted to work for them, do not be excited my dear... but instead RUN FOR YOUR LIFE!

    Continue reading
    OneMain Financial2016-04-26
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Awful place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I worked at OneMain Financial

    Pros

    Free bar on a Thursday

    Cons

    No emails from 10-11 No sitting down from 2-3 Not allowed to wear black shirt Stuffing envelopes is part of your job role Trainer is terrible on the phone Every quote is checked by someone else before sending to customer Role play with your boss each morning in front of your colleagues All the above is expected from a reseller not known in the industry. Terrible!

    Continue reading
    OneMain Financial2014-08-13
  4. "comment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Personal Loan Specialist in Houston, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at OneMain Financial full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Loan process is fast, and easy for customer(s) to get funds the same day.

    Cons

    Interest rate and opportunity to advance career.

    OneMain Financial2019-09-11
  5. Helpful (2)

    "Pros and cons"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Consumer Loan Specialist in Edinburg, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at OneMain Financial full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good schedule, ok pay, you get a bonuses monthly, discount on flights, hotels, and parks, 1st year you get 3 weeks of vacation sometimes 4 weeks

    Cons

    Super stressful, upper management doesn't care about employees, could careless about turnover, goals that company puts are over the top their not realistic, if you dont meet your numbers the first 3 months your hired they'll let you go, they get after you when you cant meet goals on collections. Area managers dont care how you collect or make a loan fall through as long you meets your goal which it most of the time unethical

    Continue reading
    OneMain Financial2019-08-28

    OneMain Financial Response

    August 29, 2019Sr. Social Media Community Manager

    We appreciate your feedback. Our branch team members take part in a variable incentive program (VIP) based on their individual branch sales goals. If you have concerns with the VIP program, we urge you to reach out to your Manager or HR Business Partner to discuss further. - CK

    Continue reading
  6. "Good company, decent pay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Personal Loan Specialist in San Diego, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at OneMain Financial full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Intensive training process, learn a lot about finance, easy to use applications, great management, incentives.

    Cons

    Tiny office space, there’s less than 6 employees per branch, business casual dress, undesirable products

    OneMain Financial2019-08-28

    OneMain Financial Response

    August 29, 2019Sr. Social Media Community Manager

    We appreciate your feedback. Our goal is to help everyone be successful, and we work hard to ensure people perform at their highest level. Thank you for sharing. - CK

    Continue reading
  7. "Good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Personal Lending Specialist 

    I worked at OneMain Financial full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Pay was pretty good there

    Cons

    Late Nights on tuesday nights

    OneMain Financial2019-08-26

    OneMain Financial Response

    August 29, 2019Sr. Social Media Community Manager

    Thank you for your comment. We strive to reward our team members with fair compensation for the work they do. - CK

    Continue reading
  8. "Fantastic company."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Personal Loan Specialist 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at OneMain Financial full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Amazing company to work for. Only reason I left was to join the military. Management was easy to talk to and you weren't scared when they came to the branch to talk.

    Cons

    Only con is the fast pace environment, but I love that type of work, for some it can be to much, the goals are high but you are heavily rewarded with bonuses if you hit them.

    OneMain Financial2019-08-22

    OneMain Financial Response

    August 23, 2019Sr. Social Media Community Manager

    Thank you for sharing! We are happy to hear about your positive experience! - CK

    Continue reading
  9. "It's ok"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Branch Manager 

    I have been working at OneMain Financial full-time

    Pros

    Company trips, bonus potential, employees are GREAT!!!

    Cons

    Everything is scrutinized. Tough to get promoted even as one of the top branches in the state. 0 work/life balance. They will bash you to potential employers when you leave.

    Continue reading
    OneMain Financial2019-09-03

    OneMain Financial Response

    September 9, 2019Sr. Social Media Community Manager

    Thank you for your feedback. We are glad you enjoy working with your co-workers. Thank you for being part of the team! Regarding your concerns, we encourage team members to discuss their individual work life balance needs with their direct managers or HR Business Partner. You may also send concerns to hrsocialmedia@omf.com - CK

    Continue reading
  10. Helpful (5)

    "Great Company (BUT)"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Loan Officer in Mount Airy, NC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at OneMain Financial full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    If you got your goals your bonus would be great

    Cons

    The collection of the accounts was the worst had to work every last weekend of the month no matter if your collection number for your office was great. Also on the last day of the month you may have to work till 8:00 pm to get the most out of your collection number

    Continue reading
    OneMain Financial2019-08-26

    OneMain Financial Response

    August 29, 2019Sr. Social Media Community Manager

    Thank you for your review. We're sorry to hear that you had that experience, and take this matter seriously. We encourage our team members to have open communication with their direct manager or HR Business Partner. You may also email feedback to hrsocialmedia@omf.com. - CK

    Continue reading
Found 1062 reviews