Onfido "company is growing" Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Onfido Employee Reviews about "company is growing"

Updated 30 Jul 2019

To filter reviews, or .
4.2
85%
Recommend to a Friend
83%
Approve of CEO
Onfido CEO, CoFounder   Husayn Kassai
Husayn Kassai
104 Ratings
Pros
  • "Work/life balance, Sanctus mental health coaching, great colleagues, great opportunities to learn, good office(in 12 reviews)

  • "Company is growing and team is working hard to maintain culture(in 9 reviews)

Cons
  • "Vague career progression path in most engineering roles(in 6 reviews)

  • "fast growing so if you don't like that you may be better suited to a larger company which is more steady(in 6 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "company is growing"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Great vision and product"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Onfido full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    It has been a really great experience so far. The onboarding was intense but very valuable. You get to meet fellow Newfidos and instantly have some friends in every department. Onfido really makes sure you get to know the entire business including a Q&A session with the founders. Made me feel very comfortable from Day 1. The culture is great and the leadership team do a good job to make sure it is maintained. Not easy for such a fast growing company. Benefits include flexible working, mental health coaching, fully stocked kitchen with fresh food pretty much every day. Lot's of opportunities to learn and develop, such Onfido university. Everyone is super friendly and approachable, including C and VP level. Last but not least, the product is second to none and our clients love it. Made the right choice.

    Cons

    Onfido is a fast growing start-up. You have to take your own initiative sometimes to get answers and help, however everyone is happy to take time for you. You will have to put some hard work in for time to time, but you will see the results.

    Continue reading
    Onfido2019-07-30

    Onfido Response

    August 2, 2019Cofounder & COO

    Thanks for the review!

    Continue reading
  2. Helpful (2)

    "Good team building a great business"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - London in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Onfido full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - Feel very autonomous in my role - Culture is really important, people are really protective of it - Company is growing and team is working hard to maintain culture - People want to hear your ideas - The leadership team and available and accessible - Teams work collaboratively

    Cons

    - The rapid scale makes forming teams tricky - Things can move a little too fast at times

    Continue reading
    Onfido2018-12-29

    Onfido Response

    January 17, 2019Cofounder & COO

    Autonomy, culture and a flat hierarchy are definitely a huge deal at Onfido. Thank you for your review; I'm so glad to hear you're enjoying your time with us.

    Continue reading
  3. Helpful (2)

    "Great Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Onfido full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Onfido is a very ambitious fast growing company so there is plenty of opportunity to achieve a lot, both in terms of impacting the product and personal development. As a tech company Onfido puts high value in its employees and as such we are treated very well.

    Cons

    It's still a job. Diversity is poor, in particular the gender imbalance needs to be improved.

    Onfido2017-11-15

    Onfido Response

    April 2, 2018Cofounder & COO

    Thanks for the positive review, and for pointing out the gender imbalance. It's something we're aware of and have taken our first steps towards addressing: https://medium.com/onfido-tech/the-first-steps-improving-inclusivity-and-diversity-at-onfido-751bb480282f

    Continue reading
  4. Helpful (3)

    "Fun and Exciting Place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Team Lead in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Onfido full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - The company is growing ridiculously quickly, which means that we are constantly facing new challenges, and having to adapt to new environments - Everyone is highly driven, intelligent, and all working towards the sustained growth of the company. Working in an environment with talented people, especially when all aligned, is highly rewarding - The office atmosphere is great- snacks, drinks, socials, no dress code, flexible hours, focus on feedback all mean that it's an enjoyable place to work - Benefits: we get decent holiday allowance, 50% subsidy for all exercise, and competitive salaries

    Cons

    - Growing quickly inevitably results in growth pains: we have had some communication issues - A lot of the company have this as their first job- I feel like some of the negative reviews on here are a result of a lack of understanding of what it is like to work elsewhere.

    Continue reading
    Onfido2016-11-17

    Onfido Response

    September 8, 2017

    Hey, Thanks for the 5 stars and for taking the time to write this review - it's really appreciated. Cheers, ZeShaan

    Continue reading
  5. Helpful (5)

    "A fun and challenging place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Employee Experience Manager in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Onfido full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Amazing colleagues! Onfido prides itself on hiring people who are not only incredibly bright but also caring and respectful.This is the main reason why I love coming into work each morning. - Fast paced environment. Just like any growing company, Onfido is changing incredibly quickly! The type of work which I am doing changes frequently and I never get bored. - Challenging environment. I feel challenged and excited by the work I am doing. I am often given projects which clearly contribute to the company's success. - Great office. Onfido looks after its employees! We have plenty of food/snacks to choose from which is rare. - Our Co-Founders (Eamon in particular) clearly invest a lot of their time in making sure that Onfido is a great place to work. Being responsible for company socials/dinners etc, I feel like I am given a lot of freedom and budget to ensure our employees are happy. - Love the fact we have a pool table and a games console in the office! - Shares. Owning a little bit of Onfido makes me proud of every single one of its successes. Equally, it makes me care when things are not going well.

    Cons

    - Just like with any company which is scaling at such an incredible rate, sometimes my workload is a little difficult to manage. Late evenings and early mornings do happen from time to time. - With the company growing so quickly, it is becoming difficult to build good working relationships with everyone.

    Continue reading
    Onfido2016-10-14

    Onfido Response

    May 28, 2018Cofounder & COO

    Thank you for the kind words and the detailed feedback! We're trying to grow at the right rate as you point out. Not too slow or too fast. We've been working on not only making our strategy transparent, but also the thinking process behind the strategy. I hope you've felt this in the recent months.

    Continue reading
  6. Helpful (8)

    "Highly Recommended"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Product Manager in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Onfido full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Outstanding company culture (the best company I have worked for in my professional career). It often feels like working with friends. The atmosphere is relaxed. Team is super diverse. You can tell that it is a very high priority to management to create a great working environment for everybody. - Transparent communications and flat hierarchies - Company is growing strongly and doing very well

    Cons

    nothing major comes to mind.

    Continue reading
    Onfido2016-07-25

    Onfido Response

    April 2, 2018Cofounder & COO

    Thanks for the positive review!

    Continue reading
  7. Helpful (6)

    "Caring company with a positive working environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Onfido full-time

    Pros

    I think the company in general, and the managers/CEOs specifically, really try hard to make Onfido a nice place to work and a place that cares about its employees. Overall I'd say they are successful in this goal. The internal culture really can't be faulted, everyone is incredibly friendly and helpful, the day to day atmosphere is relaxed and informal, and if you ever have a problem, there are numerous people you can turn to for help. The company is growing fast, which of course comes with teething problems, so whether Onfido is the right place for you is really depended on your own career-stage and ambitions. Hopefully one would figure this out during the interview process, but if you do have a certain ambition that your current role isn't satisfying, all you need to do is tell the right people and they work hard to find a solutions/create opportunities for you within the company. In addition: - Lots of free food, gym membership, language classes, shares, lots of fun social events, flexibility

    Cons

    I think in certain departments there is a lack of tangible or visible career progression opportunities, which is natural with a company that is growing and thus still in the process of taking shape, but nevertheless leaves question marks for employees to have to think about.

    Onfido2016-03-24

    Onfido Response

    April 2, 2018Cofounder & COO

    Thanks for your honest review. I hope our career ladders that were introduced in 2017 address your concerns about career progression. It's so important for us that employees can track and plan their development with us.

    Continue reading
  8. Helpful (11)

    "Average place to start your career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Onfido full-time

    Pros

    - Passionate CEO - Fast growing company - Work life balance is respected.

    Cons

    - Very low salaries compared to the pressure of the roles - Favoritism within senior management - Blame culture rather than support - Unconvincing identity/company values

    Onfido2016-03-28

    Onfido Response

    January 30, 2018Cofounder & COO

    Hi there, It’s Eamon here, thanks for the review. I’m sorry to hear that your experience at Onfido was only average - my cofounders and I aim for something significantly better than that! That said, I’m glad that you were inspired by Husayn’s vision, and that the growth opportunities alongside our focus on work/ life balance were all things that did work for you. I’ve responded to the point about salaries elsewhere, so here will just say that Onfido invests significant time and effort into ensuring that we have up-to-date market benchmarks, and that we apply that data fairly and consistently to our team. I’ll also say that, given our emphasis on employee experience (including benefits, company socials and events learning opportunities etc) - and given that every Onfido is a shareholder - we think about compensation as an overall package, rather than something that is purely about base salary. Likewise to your point about our company values being unconvincing - it’s absolutely your prerogative to be unconvinced! Onfido has worked hard recently on improving our culture fit interviews, to try to identify those misalignments early on. We also keep our values under constant review - at the moment, Ellie's leading a project to crowdsource ideas on how we can refresh our values for 2018. Many Onfidoers have already contributed, and many more will do so in the coming weeks. I hope that you’ve found a role that you really enjoy, and am grateful to you for taking the time to leave this review.

    Continue reading
  9. Helpful (5)

    "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Data Processor in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Onfido full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The thing I like most about Onfido is the company's culture. Everyone I work with is highly talented, very supportive and determined. The company is growing very quickly and adapting to change. This is a very important skill and will take Onfido a long way ahead. I think this company has a bright feature It is very hard to find a company where employees actually enjoy work. Having worked for several companies in the past, I have truly enjoyed working with Onfido the most. Finally, I feel like everyone across the company from the founders to the associates are always keen to hear your feedback, work across teams and believe in the company's vision.

    Cons

    Communication can be a bit challenging with having different teams in different countries, especially with an 8 hour time difference. I think communication is something every company could improve on.

    Continue reading
    Onfido2017-01-12

    Onfido Response

    May 28, 2018Cofounder & COO

    Glad you are enjoying our culture. Noted re knowledge sharing, thanks for the feedback.

    Continue reading

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 9 reviews