Online Business Systems "onliners" Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Online Business Systems Employee Reviews about "onliners"

Updated 27 Jun 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.8
99%
Recommend to a Friend
99%
Approve of CEO
Online Business Systems President and Chief Executive Officer Charles (Chuck) Loewen
Charles (Chuck) Loewen
107 Ratings
Pros
  • "Excellent professional development opportunities; annual budget(in 35 reviews)

  • "Leadership is supportive and involves input from all Onliners(in 20 reviews)

Cons
  • "Being away from the main office is hard when you're isolated at a client site with no other Onliners or only a few(in 9 reviews)

  • "Parking can get expensive, but only 3 blocks from major bus routes and many consultants work at the client site(in 8 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "onliners"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "22 years and counting!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Vice President Sales & Client Relationships in Winnipeg, MB
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Online Business Systems full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Online's culture is remarkable, and the people on the team are amazing. I believe that because the culture is so positive and strong, and Onliners appreciate their employer, we are all in a perfect spot to focus on our clients and helping them achieve great things.

    Cons

    No big cons to speak of. Maybe we should have more summer bbq's for the team??

    Continue reading
    Online Business Systems2019-06-27

    Online Business Systems Response

    July 15, 2019Chief People Officer

    It’s great to hear from a senior Onliner who has 22 years of tenure. Even better is that you still feel the culture and the people are Online’s real strengths. As you know, we work hard to hire great people and maintain a culture where Onliners feel appreciated and valued and have opportunities for growth. As the company grows, we know how important it is that we provide timely communications on our vision, our strategy, and the role Onliners can play in our future. Thanks for the feedback. If the weather permits in Winnipeg, perhaps we can extend the BBQ season. 😊

    Continue reading
  2. "Great place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Online Business Systems full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    The people. Online is made up of very smart driven people. It makes coming to work motivating and rewarding. Leadership. Leadership is supportive and involves input from all Onliners. Culture. The culture at Online is very team oriented and always has Onliners are always doing the right thing for clients, for Online and for fellow Onliners. Always interesting. Online has various clients in various industries and provides numerous services therefore it is always interesting work.

    Cons

    None that I can think of right now.

    Online Business Systems2019-06-18

    Online Business Systems Response

    June 27, 2019Chief People Officer

    Thanks for your feedback. We often hear that our people and our culture are what separate us from others. We are fortunate to have such a vast array of leaders at Online ….. from our Career Mentors to our Competency Leaders to our Principals to our Senior Mgmt. and Executive teams. They all care about the well being of our team members and support the growth and development of the next generation of Onliners.

    Continue reading
  3. "Six great years and counting!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Team 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Online Business Systems full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    People here are team players - I am very fortunate to work on a team that truly feels like family. We celebrate each others successes and we support each other whenever we run into challenges. Career Mentor (CM) Program - This program has been extremely valuable to my growth and development, both personally and professionally. I am grateful to not only have an amazing CM, but also for the informal mentorship that I receive from other Onliners. We have so many intelligent and fascinating people who work here and you can learn a lot by starting up a conversation. Social Events - Its great to get to know your coworkers outside of work - I really enjoy attending our golf tournament, holiday party, team meetings and summer BBQ's. Challenging and Rewarding work - I get to focus on work that I find rewarding, which means a lot to me. I have a boss who encourages me to step out of my comfort zone and supports me along the way. Thank you Online for a great 6 years, looking forward to many more!

    Cons

    Last time I wrote a review, I was hoping we would introduce a retirement plan, and we now have one. Nothing else to mention!

    Continue reading
    Online Business Systems2019-06-04

    Online Business Systems Response

    June 24, 2019Chief People Officer

    It sounds like we are the lucky ones to have you! We are glad to see that you participate in all Online has to offer. Online provides many opportunities to connect and socialize, especially if you reside in one of the cities where we have an office. Getting involved really does help build a sense of team. As your probably know the RRSP/401K match was in response to what we were hearing from Onliners. We are glad we were able to introduce this benefit last year. Thanks for your feedback!

    Continue reading
  4. "Professional Family"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director in Portland, OR
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Online Business Systems full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    I've been with Online for almost 14 years. As with many other long-tenured Onliners, I view my fellow Onliners as my professional family - focused more on delivering quality and valuable deliverables and experience to our clients than climbing the corporate ladder. We have each others' backs; we treat our clients like we would treat guests in our home; we make "work" as much fun as it can be; we strive to be the best at what we do and how we do it.

    Cons

    Our corporate culture is not for everyone

    Online Business Systems2019-05-22

    Online Business Systems Response

    May 27, 2019Chief People Officer

    We couldn’t have said it better ourselves. What you describe is exactly who we strive to be. It is extremely gratifying to hear it from one of our team members. Our corporate culture really is like a professional family. We don’t have a lot of hierarchy, politics or corporate ladders to climb. You are right in that if someone is looking for a more structured formal hierarchy, this may not be the right fit for them.

    Continue reading
  5. "Executive Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Executive Assistant in Winnipeg, MB
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Online Business Systems full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The People at Online are incredible: Reliable, Resourceful, Organized, Kind, Professional, Dedicated Online cares about their employees. There are many events throughout the year that are held to thank Onliners for their dedication to delivering exceptional service to our internal and external clients.

    Cons

    I have not experienced any cons as an Onliner.

    Continue reading
    Online Business Systems2019-01-28

    Online Business Systems Response

    January 30, 2019Chief People Officer

    Thanks for the kudos. We will never grow tired of hearing them and we will always do our best to continue to live up to them.

    Continue reading
  6. "Onliners have Leadership, Intelligence, Experience, and Drive"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Consultant in Winnipeg, MB
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Online Business Systems full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Online places a high value on personal and professional leadership skills, heavily influenced by Dale Carnegie leadership principles. I'm amazed to always work with smart colleagues on smart challenges. Online's leadership lives their core values. Excellent Professional Development program for professional growth. Great benefits (health, RRSP program) Great experience opportunities. (I've been engaged in 13 projects across 6 clients in almost 8 years.) I'm honored to count myself an Onliner.

    Cons

    If you're an Onliner you're a consultant. Time tracking is important. You are expected to onboard quickly in client environments. You are expected to learn leadership skills. You often have less creative control and project ownership in client-run projects. You may need to navigate complex accountability and governance structures of mid-to-large enterprise. These can be struggles for those seeking purely technical growth.

    Continue reading
    Online Business Systems2019-01-25

    Online Business Systems Response

    January 30, 2019Chief People Officer

    Thanks for your feedback. We were so pleased that your “Pros” comments hit on a lot of things that we take pride in and work hard to achieve. We know we have an amazing team of Onliners who meet challenges head on and persevere until they find a successful solution. While we have always supported professional development of our team members (both soft skills and hard skills) this had even more focus this past year when we introduced “Goal Setting” as part of our revised Performance Management framework. We know that setting goals and working to achieve goals is a lifelong commitment to growth and development and something we encourage all Onliners to do. It is gratifying to hear that you see our core values alive and well on the team. While many speak of their commitment to core values, we all know that actions speak volumes. We agree that as a Consultant you may be expected to navigate complex environments within our client sites. This is what separates great Consultants from others. We believe that the best Consultants have well rounded skills that allow them to shine in whatever environment they are placed. This becomes the basis for our next version of “How to Be an Onliner” (HBO), specifically the “Growing as an Online Consultant” programs.

    Continue reading
  7. "Online is a great place to work with keen and motivated people."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Marketing Coordinator in Winnipeg, MB
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Online Business Systems full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    "Onliners" are great to work with and are willing to help out and put energy into their work. There is lots of opportunity for growth and professional development within the company. Good core values of Online that align with Onliners. The opportunity for a flexible/remote schedule if applicable. Good work life balance.

    Cons

    Expensive/limited parking but option to pay for part of bus pass.

    Online Business Systems2018-11-21

    Online Business Systems Response

    January 2, 2019Chief People Officer

    We share your sentiments. We also feel Onliners are great to work with. We hear this from other Onliners and clients all the time. Throughout our hiring process we look for candidates who share our same values. These individuals seamlessly integrate into teams and contribute to a culture that is very much about collaboration, teamwork and ongoing development. We also know that to keep good people we need to offer good work balance. We are all better for it. Yes, parking can be expensive in some of the cities where we work. The plus is that we are quite central and have access to several amenities. Taking the bus has become more popular in Winnipeg since the bus pass is subsidized.

    Continue reading
  8. "Hidden Gem in the Industry"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - User Experience Developer in Winnipeg, MB
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Online Business Systems full-time

    Pros

    The people are the heart of the company. Everyone here is welcoming, helpful, passionate about their work, and absolutely amazing at what they do. OBS hires the best - and it shows. The atmosphere is collaborative and everyone watches out for each other. There is no backbiting or throwing anyone under the bus when it comes to progressing one's career. You help each other out and there's plenty of room to grow. Most clients are centered in downtown, so being able to walk to the Exchange district for food or just to get some air is a big plus. Close to all the transit! There are so many opportunities to grow your career - you could start as a dev and work your way up to being a project manager if you wanted to. You get special guidance from career mentors, even. The policies are equitable and it feels safe to work here as someone who would be considered a minority in my field. OBS shows its dedication to diversity and equality.

    Cons

    Being away from the main office is hard when you're isolated at a client site with no other Onliners or only a few. You get to miss the culture.

    Continue reading
    Online Business Systems2016-12-16

    Online Business Systems Response

    February 7, 2017Director, People Care

    Thanks for the great review. We loved your heading. Sometimes we think of ourselves as a hidden gem in the industry as well. We are working hard at building our brand so that we become a little less “hidden.” We know we are successful because of the people who work here. The recruiting team and our technical interviewers put a lot of focus on hiring people who are strong cultural fits. These are people who they want to work with. They look for potential new Onliners who are smart, work well as part of a team, have an amazing work ethic and are committed to their ongoing professional development. A sense of fun and good spirited wit is always welcome. An ego is not. We see more and more diversity on our team and we are truly the beneficiary. This year we will put even more focus on this as we develop diversity training for our teams. We know we must do more to ensure Onliners feel connected and engaged when they are working offsite. Through our recently introduced Cultural Ambassador program, we will be revisiting what we can do to ensure Onliners feel connected. This is very much front of mind. In the interim perhaps you can get involved through staff meetings, social committees, book clubs, career team meetings etc. Any other ideas let us know!

    Continue reading
  9. "Great Company. Great Culture."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Minneapolis, MN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Online Business Systems full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    The people at Online are the best I have worked with. They are smart, lifelong learners, hard workers, team players and know how to have fun. I believe the leadership team at Online really cares about the people who work there. They promote development of their people and encourage new thinking and initiatives. They have created an environment where Onliners can thrive. Opportunities are there for those who want them.

    Cons

    I really can't think of anything. We are undergoing a period of growth and transformation. There are bound to be some growing pains, but the leadership team is very cognizant of this and is clearly working hard to ensure a bright future for Onliners.

    Continue reading
    Online Business Systems2016-10-23

    Online Business Systems Response

    November 10, 2016Director, People Care

    Thanks for the feedback. We agree that we have some of the most amazing people. Although many say that, it becomes clear when you are assigned to an Online project team, that Onliners are of a different caliber. Our clients say the same thing. To your point, not only are they smart, but they also know how to have fun. It is true that we are undergoing a period of growth and transformation which can be a challenge to many. We believe that with an ongoing commitment to our culture and leaders who truly care about their team members, we can continue to scale up without losing sight of what got us here… our people. To that end, we recently introduced the Cultural Ambassador program with the goal of keeping us a Great Place to Work and a Great Place to Work with. We are always looking to find new ways to stay connected.

    Continue reading
  10. "QA"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - QA Lead in Winnipeg, MB
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Online Business Systems full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The best company I have worked for. Everyone follows the core values and the culture is very positive. I go to work daily and feel the excitement to share my knowledge and get the work experience that a day entails. Everyone is vert smart but humble, management ar very supportive and approachable. You feel like you are a member of a family when you work here. The perks? You never felt you were working since everyday is just fun and rewarding. No wonder people stay with us and I am one of them. I am proud to be an Onliner!

    Cons

    Nothing really, the reason that we won the best place to work awards would prove why Online Business Systems is an awesome place to work in

    Online Business Systems2016-10-16

    Online Business Systems Response

    November 10, 2016Director, People Care

    Wow! The best company you have worked for is high praise. As a QA Lead I am assuming you have several years of experience under your belt and have worked for a few different companies. It is interesting to see how often Onliners use the word “humble” to describe the people they work with and “supportive and approachable” to describe their Career Mentors and Management team. While these are traits we look for in all new hires they are also the same traits we expect of Onliners who have been here a long time. That is why people refer to us as their extended family. They genuinely like the people they work with. We believe this has been the key to our success and longevity. As a newer Onliner we welcome you to the team and hope you have an amazing work experience at Online and always feel like you are part of our family.

    Continue reading

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 23 reviews