OpenMarket Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

OpenMarket Reviews

Updated 8 Sep 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 102 reviews

3.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
69%
Recommend to a Friend
79%
Approve of CEO
OpenMarket CEO Jonathan Morgan
Jonathan Morgan
36 Ratings
Pros
  • "xico seems to understand work/life balance of their employees without being too soft(in 20 reviews)

  • "Engineering org is full of bright and authentic people(in 7 reviews)

Cons
  • "As a division of Amdocs, it can sometimes feel like we are not part of our parent company(in 9 reviews)

  • "Senior management push out a completely new initiative every few months without completing the initial one(in 5 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (2)

    "Employee"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at OpenMarket full-time

    Pros

    CEO is amazing Authentic management Work culture is excellent-no blame culture Growth opportunities

    Cons

    None that I can think of

    OpenMarket2019-05-09

    OpenMarket Response

    May 30, 2019CEO

    Thanks for your feedback! I’m so glad OpenMarket is providing you with the kind of leadership and growth opportunities you’re looking for in your career. I’d love to hear even more of your feedback – reach out to me at jonathan.morgan@openmarket.com if you’d like to connect.

  2. Helpful (7)

    "Too much hierarchy and office politics"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at OpenMarket full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Friendly and supportive colleagues & reasonable middle management

    Cons

    Looking at the reviews, I expect the majority of the positive comments come from the management, their friends and family members as many OM employees are not satisfied with the company. I really enjoyed working at OpenMarket as my colleagues were friendly and supportive, unfortunately, I cannot say the same about my manager who seemed to be scared of expressing any form of criticism against the leadership. I... completely lost respect towards them as they were timid and unable to defend their own team. Many senior managers seem to be indecisive and lack industry experience, which is reflected in their poor decision making. Majority of them are located in Seattle and are completely out of touch with the situation in Pune, Guadaralaja and London. Furthermore, there is a dangerous trend among the leadership team to employ their ex-colleagues/friends who seem equally incompetent. The company puts an emphasis on diversity, however, the same individuals keep being promoted, some of them got promoted 2-3 times in a year and the majority of them were men. Unfortunately, women don’t get much recognition at OM, especially those who are vocal and dare to criticise the leadership. I also don’t see much diversity across the leadership team- the majority of them are white Americans. Although one of the core values of OpenMakret is ‘be authentic’, not many managers are living up to this standard. The CEO and the management surround themselves with Yes-men only and any form of criticism sooner or later will be punished. ‘Value people’ is another questionable core value of OpenMarket- people should be valued in various ways, paying for drinks and pizza once per month is not enough. At OpenMarket many employees are underpaid for the amount of work they do. The most ‘lucky’ individuals end up doing a job of 2-3 people.  The work culture leaking from the senior management is quite toxic, there is lots of backstabbing and politics that ‘spill’ over the middle managers and regular employees, even those in technical roles. The old-fashioned and not fit for purpose processes and systems may hinder your efficiency. If your laptop doesn’t function properly, it takes ages to get a new one. Moreover, HR, payroll and recruitment processes are very time-consuming and complicated as a result finalising employee’s promotions might take months. If you have any pay-related issues you may end up emailing multiple individuals located in various locations before anyone solves your problem as the HR/Payroll departments are redistributed across the globe. There is a non-existent budget for personal development, only a few of my colleagues were able to attend some conferences last year, most of us couldn’t due to a very tight budget. Nevertheless, some teams (Sales, Marketing) seem to have enough money to attend fancy events. The attrition rate is rocketing high and I have never seen in my whole career so many colleagues departing within such a short space of time. HR claims that this is normal and such an attrition level is an industry-standard. To make it worse, many of those who have left were never replaced. The recruitment team doesn’t employ new people, they just fill the gaps.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Don’t let experienced people go as you will lose all the knowledge. Increase the salaries and respect your employees and they will work hard enough to make OpenMarket successful again. Change the old fashioned procedures and reorganise your HR department as currently, it lacks expertise. Replace most of the senior managers with professionals who have industry experience as those who are in charge are destroying... the company. Conducting employee satisfaction surveys is not enough to make people believe that you really care- you need to show it!

    Show More
    OpenMarket2019-07-29
  3. Helpful (2)

    "experience of OpenMarket"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Administrative Assistant 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at OpenMarket full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Staff are really nice. Management are kind

    Cons

    Can't be sure of job security

    OpenMarket2019-07-01

    OpenMarket Response

    August 19, 2019

    I’m glad to hear that you enjoy being part of the OpenMarket team. Many of our colleagues have been part of the company for many years, so I hope you can see the opportunities are there for the taking. The next few years are going to be incredibly exciting and I hope you’ll continue ...

    Show More
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Overall, a great environment to work in"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at OpenMarket full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - Friendly & welcoming culture - Approachable SLT - Fair salary - Great benefits package - Good career prospects

    Cons

    - The hours can be long (9 hour days are the standard requirement) - The commute can be an issue (London office) as the office is not central and the train lines servicing the station aren't the most reliable - IT & systems onboarding is painful because of the crossover with Amdocs (parent company) & OpenMarket systems. There isn't really a clear process to follow, and everybody seems to have issues for... the first few weeks at least. This is more of a reflection on Amdocs than OpenMarket though - There isn't an official flexible working policy (and the IT issues make this more challenging too)

    Show More
    OpenMarket2019-05-16

    OpenMarket Response

    May 30, 2019CEO

    Thank you for your review. You’re obviously someone with a balanced perspective who knows there are pros and cons to everyone’s work situation. Overall though, it sounds like you’re quite pleased with the major aspects of your role - senior leadership, career prospects, our friendly ...

    Show More
  5. Helpful (13)

    "On its last legs"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Developer in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at OpenMarket full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    High level of autonomy on how you work. Great for a first job in London before you move onto a better place.

    Cons

    Salaries are far below market rate with management refusing to acknowledge this as the case stating that they've done market research. Senior management push out a completely new initiative every few months without completing the initial one. There was talk of getting new starters to write positive reviews online in a recruitment meeting. Refusal to acknowledge the fact that we've lost 60-70% of our UK... engineering department. This coincided with zero recruitment to engineering for a 15 month period. Senior management are happy to outsource projects instead of rehiring developers in the current office. Almost no career prospects as higher level positions are closed off for more outsourcing. An almost empty office as most seats are now vacant and unlikely to be filled.

    Show More
    OpenMarket2019-05-08

    OpenMarket Response

    May 30, 2019CEO

    Thanks for review. I genuinely appreciate getting feedback of all types – it’s impossible to improve without it. Please reach out to me at jonathan.morgan@openmarket.com if you’d like to discuss further.

  6. Helpful (5)

    "Worrying lack of direction"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at OpenMarket

    Pros

    Some good people in some teams.

    Cons

    Lack of direction and the new leadership have limited experience in this field.

    Advice to Management

    Be more open to ideas.

    OpenMarket2018-10-15

    OpenMarket Response

    December 14, 2018CEO

    Thanks for your honest review. I genuinely appreciate getting feedback of all types – we can’t improve as a business without listening to all perspectives. Please reach out to me at jonathan.morgan@openmarket.com if you’d like to discuss further.

  7. Helpful (5)

    "The people are great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Engineering in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at OpenMarket full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I joined OpenMarket because of the people that work here. That's also the main reason I'm still at the company - my fellow employees value open communication, helping each other out, valuing a healthy engagement between technical and commercial teams, can be very serious and ambitious. It's a blame free culture, something I have not seen before, having worked for consultancy companies for many years. There are many... examples of colleagues being good friends outside of work, I myself am such an example. The company, and I mean the whole company, really cares about diversity, a big thing for me, from senior management through the rest of the organisation. The company style is somewhat of a start-up that is growing and taking on big clients - it's a very enabling company that gives you free reign to do things - if you can handle that. If you can't, people are helpful and you're not alone. Did I mention somewhere I really like the people at OpenMarket? I do!

    Show More

    Cons

    The company is growing quickly, with that comes some growth pains.

    Advice to Management

    Keep the company culture, that's why I'm here!

    OpenMarket2018-04-27
  8. Helpful (3)

    "Great place to work, Why?"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Professional Services Manager in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at OpenMarket full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    This company actually adheres to it's core values. The no1 being looking after their people. If you're looking for a technical role or not, you will be looked after. You're voice will always be heard and opinions always considered in decision making. This is a great place to work, with genuinely talented people. You're role could be challenging but you will supported throughout. You will also have a lot of fun... along the way, with pizza, drinks & games. They also have a social committee to help plan events, as well as a focus on diversity too. So here you'll find a work, home and succeed together culture. With a focus on you, the roadmap and the company's future plans.

    Show More

    Cons

    The interview process is long, but definitely worth it. Meetings could be consolidated, to cover multiple topics and whilst the freshly ground coffee is good, we could invest in a bean to cup espresso machine?

    Advice to Management

    Planning and information sharing is very good, let's focus a little more on celebrating our wins.

    OpenMarket2018-04-24
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Best place to learn"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at OpenMarket full-time

    Pros

    Great team who work hard and support one another

    Cons

    challenging market conditions and time is a pressure for the market and the business

    Advice to Management

    keep up working on the hard stuff

    OpenMarket2018-01-02
  10. Helpful (11)

    "Small company with no clear direction"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Engineer in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at OpenMarket full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Small company, friendly people mostly, some social activities but limited to a group of people and their interests.

    Cons

    Lots of changes, recently many old people left after a mass exodus a few years back. New management at least in London very much have selfish agendas, not focusing on company growth or it's employees. There is a lot of technical debt and unnecessary work because of poor management policies. Development managers are mostly helpless as no clear direction is given. Most of time it is either fire fighting or just... discussing about new feature but not doing it. Management tries to reduce the cost by employing people at cheaper locations like Mexico & India without thinking through the pros & cons. Low morale and people stick around just for convenience sake or being lazy. Management follows bad policies to fix issues rather than facing and dealing with issues.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Stopping fooling your employees and get it right; value your people not your directors.

    OpenMarket2017-12-11
Found 102 reviews