OpenMarket Employee Reviews about "work life balance"

Updated Nov 9, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 32 of over 142 reviews

4.2
81%
Recommend to a Friend
84%
Approve of CEO
OpenMarket CEO Silvio Kutic
Silvio Kutic
3 Ratings
Pros
  • "OpenMarket is a people oriented company(in 33 reviews)

  • "Work-life balance is not just a cliche, it's truly great with OM(in 30 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Continue to work with parent company to optimize processes (this is getting better)(in 15 reviews)

  • "They acknowledge their mistakes, but there still hasn't been any fundamental change to how they communicate and interact with the OpenMarket people(in 12 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    The latest conversations about Tech

    Join the conversation on

    Tech

    1y

    a 

    Technical Account Manager

    Being a woman in tech, I only recently started advocating for myself at work about advancement opportunities. Because of this I wanted to ask this question to my male counterparts. When you have 1:1's with your direct reports and talk about career growth / aspirations what is your managers’ response typically? I’d like to gauge how my experience (negative) differs from others. For instance are you met with blockades, enthusiasm, dread, etc?

    385

    57 Comments

    Tech

    210.7K Members 

    Ask candid career questions

    -1 - https://www.fishbowlapp.com/bowl/technology/posts?cf=gd&utm_medium=Glassdoor&utm_source=glassdoor.co.uk&utm_campaign=Reviews&utm_content=Industry-content-prominent-Reviews&utm_term=OpenMarket~315265
    Join the conversation on

    Reviews about "work life balance"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Progressively led company

      Jun 3, 2016 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - Progressive leadership style - Excellent work/life balance - Above average level of investment in employees' personal and career development - Attention to encouraging employee diversity - Friendly, collegial environment

      Cons

      - Size of the organization means that career progression not always possible within the org.

      1 person found this review helpful
    2. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Great software company

      Jun 27, 2015 -  
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      OpenMarket is a money spinner for its parent company, Amdocs. It's consistently profitable, and as such is given a lot of autonomy. Combined with a strong CEO who has a good handle on national operations and international integration, it makes OpenMarket's London office a great place to work, and strikes a superb balance between using fresh technology and running reliable customer-facing services. The culture is laid-back but very productive, thanks to a sensible system of integration between the technical and account teams, and a shallow technical reporting structure with lots of opportunities to feed back to your line manager. It has a great technical culture and is flexible with employees trying to strike a good work/life balance.

      Cons

      The management likes to look before it leaps, so it can be a little slow to take opportunities, and rarely tries to create business proactively. I also felt I was a little underpaid, and it was hard to communicate that effectively.

      1 person found this review helpful
    3. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Great place to work!

      Dec 8, 2014 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The people are great - smart, fun, team-oriented - this is the #1 thing I hear everyone say about OpenMarket. Good work/life balance - you are not driven into the ground by unrealistic expectations or an attitude that assumes you have to use your personal time to write software properly. Flat org/great autonomy - the platform uses SOA and Dev is organized around "service teams" that maintain high degrees of autonomy. Removes a lot of overhead/logistics and avoids micro-management.

      Cons

      Is owned by a larger company (Amdocs) that is not as nimble and has some processes that carry through into OpenMarket (e.g., travel processes) - fortunately this has little impact on day-to-day work.

      2 people found this review helpful
    4. 2.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      It was a great place to work but hasn't been the same since the buyout

      Nov 9, 2021 - Anonymous Employee in Seattle, WA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      OpenMarket has(/had) an amazing group of smart and talented people. The org charge was very compressed with very little "middle management" layer. You could talk directly to the president and get straight answers if you wanted them. The company's overall communication _was_ great. I felt like I knew what our direction was, how our financials were looking, what our competitors were doing, and how we were planning on changing to meet new challenges. Benefits are above average, pay is good, and the work/life balance is fair.

      Cons

      The new parent company broke trust by promising that everyone would have a place at the combined company, and then laying-off part of the engineering staff. That was followed by several other communication and policy blunders that caused many very talented people to leave. Infobip seems to realize they have a retention problem. They acknowledge their mistakes, but there still hasn't been any fundamental change to how they communicate and interact with the OpenMarket people. The C-suite keeps talking about how we are going to be integrated into a single company, but that vision doesn't seem to trickling down to the individual departments. It is now a year after the buyout and my department still has no idea what our roll will be and still doesn't have any regular communication with our counterparts at Infobip. Instead we get a constant stream of last minute demands for integration work in order to move all of OpenMarket's customers over to Infobip's systems. Despite their (already broken) promises of a merged company where everyone has a job, it still feels like we are being sucked dry and will then be discarded. The amount of OpenMarket people leaving and walking away from retention and end of year bonuses is crazy. In response, there have been several new perks announced, including some additional vacation time, and other improvements in benefits. There still hasn't been any change to how Infobip is handling the cultural, communication, and trust issues though.

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    5. 4.0
      Current Employee

      Good for work

      Jun 29, 2021 - Software Support Specialist in Pune
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good for work an work life balance

      Cons

      Salary hike is not upto the market rates.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Reputable employer who values its employees above all

      Jun 3, 2021 - Senior Product Manager in Seattle, WA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Work-life balance is not just a cliche, it's truly great with OM. Jonathan (CEO) is kind, inspirational, level-headed and 'gets it.' Most colleagues and execs were wonderful to work with! Salary, benefits and time-off policies were generous. OpenMarket is a well-established, reputable player in the aggregation space with solid infrastructure, respectable clients, and an eye toward the future.

      Cons

      The work-life balance scale tips toward life a little too heavily in some regards, with a lack of urgency and accountability in the name of valuing people. Speed-to-market has been too slow to meet industry standards and client demands for new product offerings. Acquisition of products and platforms was definitely needed, and hopefully resolved with Infobip!

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    7. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Fantastic

      Mar 23, 2021 - Engineering 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      People, benefits, tons to do, work life balance

      Cons

      I am not really sure of any

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      OpenMarket Response

      Employee Experience Specialist

      Thank you for taking the time to provide your insights. We value our team members and are happy to hear that you enjoying your overall experience working here. Please reach out to careers@openmarket.com if you'd like to provide further feedback.

    8. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      An amazing place to work

      Dec 10, 2020 - Software Developer in Pune
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      This company has smart and talented people, good opportunities for growth, and learning new technologies. Work-life balance is really good, self-motivating work environment.

      Cons

      I can't think of any downside so far.

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      OpenMarket Response

      Employee Experience Specialist

      Thank you for taking the time to leave an excellent review! We appreciate hearing about your personal experience and are glad to learn that you enjoy working with your team members. As part of our core values, we value people; with that, we're always looking for ways to ensure our OMies have access to growth and development opportunities. If you would like to offer additional feedback, please email us at careers@openmarket.com.

    9. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      People are valued at OpenMarket

      Sep 30, 2020 - Technical Program Manager in Seattle, WA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Opportunities for advancement Emotionally intelligent leadership Global team Work-life balance Good benefits

      Cons

      Tools/ Systems provided by the parent company are more hindrance than helpful

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      OpenMarket Response

      Employee Experience Specialist

      Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback. We appreciate your positive insight and happy to hear your experience is positive overall. We are always looking for ways to improve and can not do that without your feedback. If you have additional thoughts, please contact us at careers@openmarket.com.

    10. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Employees are truly trusted, and that makes a difference in so many ways

      Feb 6, 2020 - Anonymous Employee in Seattle, WA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Culture of trust from the senior leaders translates to healthy work-life balance, lack of micro-managing, empowerment to innovate and (gasp) make mistakes that help you and the business grow, and to enjoy your work and colleagues in a (very sleek new) office environment free from toxic politics. A breathe of fresh air compared with many corporate cultures.

      Cons

      As with many tech companies, diversity and inclusion is a work in progress. However, the leaders have genuine goals to ensure that diverse voices are at the table across the company and are making measurable progress.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 32 Reviews

    Popular Careers with OpenMarket Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at OpenMarket? Share Your Experiences

    or