Openreach Reviews

Updated 28 May 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.9
73%
Recommend to a Friend
84%
Approve of CEO
Openreach CEO Clive Selley
Clive Selley
126 Ratings
Pros
  • "Good company ethos, good pay, good career prospects(in 14 reviews)

  • "Plenty of progession and work life balance is good(in 12 reviews)

Cons
  • "Senior Management need to agree on reasonable timescales for fibre migrations(in 10 reviews)

  • "This company love micro managing the very smallest stuff to the smallest degree(in 6 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Enjoyed working there"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Telecommunications Field Engineer in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Openreach full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Training, van, phone, laptop, tools, friendly colleagues, respected by most customers, manage your own workstack, nice culture, pension

    Cons

    Internal call centres long waiting times for call backs sometimes

    Continue reading
    Openreach2020-05-28
  2. "Supportive environment"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Manager in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Openreach full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Great team making a real difference connecting people

    Cons

    Can be complex and slow to deliver change although Covid has actually helped speed things up making decisions more agile

    Openreach2020-05-28
  3. "Openreach Employment"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Fibre Planning Manager in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Openreach full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Always challenging and rewarding to be a part of the UK Fibre rollout

    Cons

    Openreach does not offer competitive salaries in with it's competitors in the Fibre industry.

    Continue reading
    Openreach2020-05-23
  4. "Awesome!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Network Engineer Apprentice in Shrewsbury, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Openreach full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great Variety of work Out in the fresh air Lots of help and support Different every day Most people are great!

    Cons

    Certain groups can be cliquey

    Continue reading
    Openreach2020-05-18
  5. "Great Company"

    5.0
    Current Employee - Network Programmer Manager in Preston, North West England, England

    I have been working at Openreach full-time

    Pros

    Great benefits, pay, locations, hours

    Cons

    No criticism for the company

    Openreach2020-05-17
  6. "Brilliant support"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Trainee Engineer in Wirral, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Openreach full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I am a new starter and lock-down was in force on my start date. I was sent a laptop and mobile phone to my home address and have been kept busy with interactive learning and daily catch-ups with a manager. All of the trainers have been really supportive and welcoming. I am very impressed that Openreach adapted so quickly to the Covid 19 situation and feel part of the organisation already, even though I have not yet met any of my colleges face to face.

    Cons

    I have found none so far.

    Continue reading
    Openreach2020-05-15
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Outstanding employer"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Human Resources Business Partner in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Openreach full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Career development, Leadership, Benefits, Growth, Professional development

    Cons

    Location can sometimes be restrictive

    Openreach2020-05-10
  8. "Pole Tester job role"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Telecommunications Engineer in Hereford, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Openreach full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I'm a pole tester so am mainly an independent worker setting my own work for the day. I am given a lot of responsibility and am rewarded for this by being left to do my job. A pole tester is always at the end of the company phone we are supplied with.

    Cons

    I am on a much worse contract than some of my counterparts, disparencies there are a general bugbear

    Openreach2020-05-12
  9. "Engineering"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Openreach full-time

    Pros

    Every day school day Flexible

    Cons

    Zero No cons Can be challenging

    Openreach2020-05-05
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Positive Overall"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Finance Business Partner in London, England
    Recommends

    I worked at Openreach full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Pay and flexibility were very good

    Cons

    Systems need improvement and career progression unclear

    Openreach2020-04-26
Found 245 reviews