Opower Software Engineer Reviews

Updated 19 Mar 2019

To filter reviews, or .
4.0
60%
Recommend to a Friend
71%
Approve of CEO
Opower Founder & CEO Daniel Yates
Daniel Yates
11 Ratings
  1. "Smart People, Interesting Work"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Software Engineer in San Francisco, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Opower full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    When I worked at Opower I felt like I was surrounded by smart people. Most engineers were very competent and very engaged in their jobs.

    Cons

    The pace of change at Opower was glacial. It took a long time to release new products, and the company was large enough (even before being acquired by Oracle) that I didn't feel empowered to change the organization. I was frustrated by the review and promotion process. My boss agreed that I met all the documented points to be promoted to the next level of engineer, but I had to wait a further two more review rounds to receive the promotion. This was my reason for leaving.

    Opower2019-03-20
  2. Helpful (3)

    "A great company that is slowly changing for the worse"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Arlington, VA
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Opower full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Work with smart, passionate, (somewhat) diverse people - Solid work-life balance - Mostly good managers, not too difficult to switch teams if projects get boring

    Cons

    - The best people have left or are planning on leaving - Passion is slowly but surely being replaced by complacency and apathy - Leadership paralyzed by bureaucracy, unable to set a concrete vision that people feel passionately about - Don't expect great raises

    Opower2016-10-30
  3. Helpful (14)

    "A company in decline, put out of its misery by Oracle"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Software Engineer 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Opower

    Pros

    PRE-IPO (the pros were all very typical of a startup) - Great mission - Incredibly talented, interesting, and motivated coworkers - Amazing work and exciting technologies - Great communication and energy across all levels of the company - Great culture - Decent perks POST-IPO (a serious attempt to be a grown-up, profitable company) - Atmosphere built around vanquishing competitors and maintaining leadership in the market - Recognition that processes need to be improved - More focus on products that drive revenue - More focus on maintainability of systems and further maturation of technologies - Company culture still fairly positive - Company-wide pay calibration makes compensation more competitive POST-ACQUISITION - Stock prices stabilize - No significant changes to management structures or product road maps AFTER LEGAL ENTITY COMBINATION (demise) - All of the things that are good about Oracle

    Cons

    PRE-IPO - Low salaries - Dogmatic views on Agile (vs. agile) development POST-IPO (the woes of being a profit-driven organization beholden to shareholders) - Acceleration of SOA- and microservice-based development causes institutional headaches - Continued institutionalization of "Agile" practices without regard to pragmatism - Mission slowly changes to align with the realities of being a public company - More focus on profitable positions, leading to less tehnical innovation and experimentation - Those whose options have fully vested start to leave - Those looking for more excitement (and startup environment) leave - Layoffs and reorgs - Stock prices tumble - Idealistic and/or naive people who don't understand (or care) that public companies need to make money and can't survive on culture or mission alone POST-ACQUISITION - Acquisition causes many to realize that Opower had been declining (and/or maturing/becoming boring) - even before the acquisition - with the acquisition causing them to re-evaluate their careers - Acquisition causes some to leave outright because they don't want to work for Oracle - Amazing coworkers leaving, regardless of reason - Ridiculous, whiny coworkers who blame Oracle for everything wrong with their jobs/lives/Opower's decline - People who don't realize that a culture needs to be maintained, not just inherited AFTER LEGAL ENTITY COMBINATION (demise) - All of the things that are bad about Oracle - Many of the people who should leave are staying - Many of the people who should be stay are leaving

    Continue reading
    Opower2016-08-12
  4. "Awesome place to work"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Contractor - Java Software Engineer in Odessa
    Recommends

    I have been working at Opower for less than a year

    Pros

    Very experienced staff, variety of technologies, quality oriented processes, comfortable environment, few bureaucracy.

    Cons

    Absence of usual in the area English classes and medical insurance.

    Opower2016-07-13
  5. Helpful (10)

    "Once great, now good"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Senior Software Engineer in San Francisco, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Opower

    Pros

    Great work/life balance Nicest people I've ever met A few amazing engineers still work here Profitability soon

    Cons

    Most of the great engineers have left Hiring standards have dropped Unambitious R&D roadmap

    Continue reading
    Opower2016-02-28

    Opower Response

    March 1, 2016People Team Representative

    We appreciate the feedback. Hiring and retaining top talent across all departments remains a priority for Opower.

  6. Helpful (1)

    "Software Engineer in Test"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Software Engineer in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Opower for more than a year

    Pros

    Good learning curves all around.

    Cons

    Nothing I can think about.

    Continue reading
    Opower2016-03-11
  7. Helpful (20)

    "Good place to work, but the future is scary"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Arlington, VA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Opower full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    1. Great work/life culture. Everyone there is friendly 2. Ideas are encouraged and people are open for feedback and conversations 3. Benefits are outstanding with free snacks, drinks and catered meals weekly.

    Cons

    1. Management seems to make poor decisions on the line of hiring while we are losing money. 2. Being a young company has some issues with the pipeline and the hiring practices.

    Continue reading
    Opower2015-12-16

    Opower Response

    January 27, 2016People Team Representative

    Thank you for the feedback. Our past financial performance is publicly available, and we can't talk about our financial future. However, our hiring plans include continuing to grow in areas that are of greatest strategic importance to us. Our investor relations page is a great resource for those who’d like to gain more insight into our financial health: http://investor.opower.com/company/investors/overview/default.aspx.

  8. Helpful (3)

    "Fun place to work, but market and product seem limited in growth."

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Arlington, VA
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Opower full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    People are great to work with. The focus on energy efficiency is important

    Cons

    Growth is slowing and product seems to be a little stale.

    Continue reading
    Opower2015-04-07
  9. Helpful (13)

    "Smart co-workers but a young public company with lots of growing pains"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in San Francisco, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Opower full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Mission Driven - help save power consumption in the world Smart and hard working engineers Still a young company, with plenty of career opportunities to grow (even though the path to career growth is NOT defined)

    Cons

    For a tech company in SF Bay area, the benefits are way below par (assuming they exist) - specially for a start-up/ young public company - No free food (except crappy Friday lunches), no full health insurance coverage, no 401k match, no Employee Stock Purchase Program. Really stingy, even after being public - and there is a difference between being thrifty and stingy. Examples: Company boasts of free chair massages - but for 160+ people in SF office, they have 1 masseuse come in 2 days a week. The way they manage is by initially asking you to book a 10 min slot only once in 2 weeks, and as office grows - they ask you to book only once in 3 weeks. Just get more masseuse - and solve the problem. They refill the most popular snack - ice cream once a month, so it only lasts 3-5 days - and the company very proudly boasts of these benefits. Lot of talk from HR dept - but no actionable work - management agrees there is a 401k match issue - but wont do anything about it. I feel HR dept doesn't really have monetary resources to match up other SF bay area tech companies, but they never even acknowledge it and keep the broken record "We want to be best" running. Very poor compensation, no bonus structure, not well defined promotion plan One of the worst employee review system I've seen which changes every 6-9 months.

    Continue reading
    Opower2014-11-27
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Great people, great mission"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Arlington, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Opower full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The people are the most talented I have ever worked with. I have learned so much after working here, and I am still constantly challenged to do my best.

    Cons

    It's a very challenging environment, and for some, this may be a turn-off.

    Opower2014-10-25

    Opower Response

    November 3, 2014Employer Brand Manager

    We appreciate you taking the time to leave a review. Thanks for being an O!

Found 16 reviews