Opower "smart people" Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Opower Employee Reviews about "smart people"

Updated 19 Mar 2019

To filter reviews, or .
3.8
69%
Recommend to a Friend
75%
Approve of CEO
Opower Founder & CEO Daniel Yates
Daniel Yates
134 Ratings
Pros
  • "I know I have the support of some very smart people and I can see my career growth potential here(in 21 reviews)

  • "Competitive salaries, with many of the west coast perks you see in the HBO show, Silicon Valley (free massages, Friday lunch, etc)(in 17 reviews)

Cons
  • "Though things settled down a bit post-IPO, I'd still say work/life balance is tough at Opower(in 14 reviews)

  • "Everyone's main complaint is the lack of a 401k match(in 14 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "smart people"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Helpful (3)

    "A company that ENGAGES.. Addictive!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Director in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Opower full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Smart people... I've been working in Intel and Oracle before and the professional level in Opower is even higher. In addition you really feel valued and the management is really helpful. By the way, it's the first time that I enjoy working for a company and I don't mind answering emails on the weekend... Dan and Alex got it! :) When you feel that you are working for a nice company with nice people around and you are decreasing the climate change... What else can you ask for??? :) I would like to add that even the brand is amazing. We have some goodies that are really nice and Opower is now a real brand with some marketing that is awesome!

    Cons

    There are two tiny issues I would complain for... First, there are a lot of internal reviews in a bad moment of the year. Second, the goodies that are sent to the offices out of the States are really poor... We don't get the good ones! ;)

    Continue reading
    Opower2014-07-31

    Opower Response

    July 31, 2014Employer Brand Manager

    Thank you for this review and such helpful feedback! We've grown so much and want to keep the O experience the same as much as possible across the globe. I'm passing your review feedback to HR today. I am also personally mailing some O swag goodies to London next week. I'll send it to the sales team with a note to ensure whoever you are, you get it! Thanks for being a part of Opower....cheeriO! - Chrissy

    Continue reading
  2. "Smart People, Interesting Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Software Engineer in San Francisco, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Opower full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    When I worked at Opower I felt like I was surrounded by smart people. Most engineers were very competent and very engaged in their jobs.

    Cons

    The pace of change at Opower was glacial. It took a long time to release new products, and the company was large enough (even before being acquired by Oracle) that I didn't feel empowered to change the organization. I was frustrated by the review and promotion process. My boss agreed that I met all the documented points to be promoted to the next level of engineer, but I had to wait a further two more review rounds to receive the promotion. This was my reason for leaving.

    Opower2019-03-20
  3. "Used to be great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     
    Recommends

    I worked at Opower

    Pros

    Worked with some amazingly smart people who truly believed in company mission.

    Cons

    The CEO lacked vision, low pay and sale to Oracle. Slightly political environment, need to know the right people.

    Opower2016-10-24
  4. Helpful (5)

    "Great Growth Potential - Super Smart People"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in Arlington, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Opower

    Pros

    I LOVE it here! Ever since coming to Opower I've been mentored by my team and am constantly being challenged. They are open to new ideas and new ways of looking at things, and never settle for the "way it's always been done". I know I have the support of some very smart people and I can see my career growth potential here. It also doesn't hurt that they have some really great perks; dogs in the office, massages, free lunches on Friday, and so many other seemingly small things but things that add up and make it an environment you want to be in. It's not the free lunch that makes me stay here, it's the job and the mission. Couple that with great people and puppies... enough said.

    Cons

    We work some long hours at times and that can sometimes just be the job. But it's it's not all the time and it's pretty predictable which makes it manageable.

    Continue reading
    Opower2016-04-20
  5. Helpful (41)

    "Downhill would be an understatement"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Opower full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    There used to be some interesting problems to work on and there are still some very smart people who work there. Base comp is decent and benefits are standard for a tech company.

    Cons

    The entire company is dysfunctional and morale is at an all time low. The stock price continues to nose dive and upper management is panicking as they watch their net worth disappear into thin air. The recent changes to the company's mission and goals has been poorly executed and caused significant damage across the company. They continue to lose their most talented employees and refuse to hire the most necessary positions. Instead, upper management chooses to hire and promote their friends into useless positions that add no value to the company. They then sit there and wonder why they can't deliver to their clients on time. Career advancement and opportunities are a joke unless you're buddies with the management team. Certain managers continually get promoted with less than a year in their current position while individual workers actually getting stuff done don't receive any recognition for the hard work they do. All you have to do is look at the LinkedIn profiles of some of the managers to see how ridiculous their progression through the career ladder has been. Upper management blatantly lies to their employees and does exactly the opposite of what they tell them. I love how Dan sends a damage control email after the stock price drops over 30% in a single day firmly stating that the company finances are fine and that it is a Wall St overreaction. Before that, he had also stated there wouldn't be anymore lay offs in the near future. Of course, that all ends up being a lie as apparently the finances are not great and they had to lay off a significant portion of their employees. That's less than 6 months after a previous round of layoffs. Thanks, Dan! If you're thinking about joining this company, do yourself a favor and don't. There is really no reason to get aboard this sinking ship.

    Continue reading
    Opower2016-04-07

    Opower Response

    April 8, 2016Director, Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for the feedback. When you step back, Opower is in the strongest position the company has ever been, both strategically and financially. 2015 marked a record year for our sales team, with massive renewals and expansions by Opower’s biggest clients. In Q4 alone, we closed the two largest deals in company history. In addition to strong renewals and new business wins, Opower also successfully launched a series of new products including NextWeb and Bill Advisor; and completed the rollout of its software platform. Opower is positioned extremely well for continued success. We entered 2016 with a revenue backlog of nearly half a billion dollars, $100 million cash on hand, and no debt. For more on Opower’s financials - see our public investor center website. In the midst of all this success, we’ve taken significant steps to ensure that Opower remains one of the best places to work in the world. Opower recently announced a dramatically expanded parental leave policy—increasing total parental leave to 16 weeks. We also announced an unlimited PTO policy, building on Opower’s already generous time off.

    Continue reading
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Opower"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Associate in Arlington, VA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Opower full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Opower was a great place to work. The company was a fast moving, meritocracy, where smart people did good work. I enjoyed my coworkers and the challenges of the day.

    Cons

    The company was a little political. Decisions were centralized and required you knowing and having a connection to the right person.

    Continue reading
    Opower2016-02-04

    Opower Response

    February 29, 2016People Team Representative

    Thank you for your time at Opower and for sharing your feedback!

    Continue reading
  7. "A great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Opower

    Pros

    Great mission, smart people, good benefits, fun atmosphere.

    Cons

    The work/life balance isn't the best.

    Opower2015-09-01
  8. "Opower"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Opower full-time

    Pros

    - Founders, management, and employees care about having a positive impact on the world - Very, very, very smart people - Fun culture with nice colleagues

    Cons

    - Pay is less than average, which management justifies because we have mission-driven work - San Francisco office feels far away from HQ

    Opower2015-08-16

    Opower Response

    October 20, 2015People Team Representative

    Thanks for your review. We like all the things you like, too! Regarding the concern around pay, Opower conducts extensive market research for our industry space and office locations and compensates Oployees competitively. Your HRBP would be happy to share more details about this approach!

    Continue reading
  9. Helpful (10)

    "Lots of fun....but poor leadership"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Arlington, VA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Opower full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Fun place to work; free lunch; great, smart people

    Cons

    This was the first job for most of the folks that were executives and that shines through when dealing with a lot of issues. Want to play with the big boys in the SaaS world, but leadership wants to be involved in every single decision- process slows down- too much focus on fun and being cool and not enough work actually being done.

    Continue reading
    Opower2015-07-27

    Opower Response

    October 20, 2015People Team Representative

    Thank you for the candid feedback. As you know, leadership concerns also came up in our quarterly pulse survey. The Management Team takes this feedback very seriously and is working on making improvements across the board - from talent management to transparency to diversity (and everything in-between). We're making adjustments as we go and will continue to get feedback to see how we're doing.

    Continue reading
  10. Helpful (14)

    "Unsustainable growth. Too many cooks."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Washington, DC
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Opower full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Interesting space. Product is unique. Lots of smart people. Decent culture.

    Cons

    The company sells itself on it's double bottom line, but it seems more and more propaganda like than anything else. There are cliques in the company and if you happen to be in the right one, you get ahead. If not, too bad. They hire smart people but in an attempt to "preserve" the culture, end up hiring too many type As so nothing gets done. There isn't a clear sense of ownership of tasks and things get done as there are good people who will work 90 hours a week to get things done. Chaotic environment and dissatisfied clients who complain about every little thing.

    Continue reading
    Opower2015-03-14

    Opower Response

    March 24, 2015Employer Brand Manager

    Thanks for leaving us a review and offering a different perspective. I’ll be sure to pass your concerns to company leaders, the recruiting team, and HR business partners. We agree it’s important to hire diverse personalities to move Opower forward and continue motivating as many people as possible to save energy.

    Continue reading
Found 21 reviews