Optical Express Employee Reviews about "senior management"

Updated Sep 10, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 32 of over 426 reviews

3.8
70%
Recommend to a Friend
76%
Approve of CEO
Optical Express Chairman & CEO David Moulsdale
David Moulsdale
283 Ratings
Pros
  • "Optical Express have given me the chance to move up to a manager role(in 31 reviews)

  • "Great team in both clinics, it makes going to work a joy(in 24 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Wish I joined Optical Express sooner(in 18 reviews)

  • "Having to tell a patient they are unsuitable for surgery(in 18 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    Talk anonymously with Healthcare professionals

    Reviews about "senior management"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Love my job

      Aug 17, 2021 - Manager in London, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      1. Started as a PA and got developed into a manager. 2.Love the feedback from the patients after surgery once they are 20-20. 3. Senior management easily accessible and very close to the day to day operations.

      Cons

      Bonus structure needs to be clearer, more staff benefits needed

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful

      Optical Express Response

      Thank you for your review of Optical Express. We love to hear that our people love what they do as much as we do. Career progression and job satisfaction are extremely important to us, so we are delighted to hear that you have progressed in your role. We do listen to the feedback we receive and have recently added Perkbox to our staff benefits package. We look forward to continue to work with you and help you develop further in your career.

    2. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Overworked and underpayed

      Sep 10, 2021 - Patient Advisor in London, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      None. Horrible company to work for. Stay clear! Culture of favouritism and bullying. From senior members as well as your peers.

      Cons

      You are overworked, under payed, the company does what it can to cut bonus down and increase workload. You become a undervalued member of the team if you voice your concerns. Management and senior management do not care about your well-being as long as they are getting their pay and bonuses. No care about mental health despite mentioning it to various members of the management team. You are better of being unemployed, because this place affects your mental health so much that you may as well stay unemployed you'd be better off!

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful

      Optical Express Response

      Thank you for your review. We are disappointed to read that you felt your mental health was negatively impacted during your time here. The wellbeing of our people is our priority and we offer support, including mental health support to those who feel they need it. We wish you all the best for your future.

    3. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 10 years

      Rewarding Place to Work

      May 11, 2021 - Manager in East Kilbride, Scotland
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Every day is different, always busy. Working every day to help change patients futures. Hearing great stories how surgery changed patients life's. Positive working environment with approachable and effective senior management.

      Cons

      Nothing I can think of

      2 people found this review helpful

      Optical Express Response

      Thank you for your review. We feel truly fortunate that every day we hear from our patients that their lives have been positively changed. We are also proud to encourage a positive working environment for all of our employees and are delighted that you are happy in your role.

    4. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Great company to work for.

      Mar 4, 2021 - Specialist, People Team in Glasgow, Scotland
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I have worked for the business for a good few years now and have seen the business constantly evolve. New Senior Management team focus on their people and patient care. There is a healthy balance between both. If you are career driven and hungry for progression, Optical Express is the right company for you.

      Cons

      There are no cons. Come join us.

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful

      Optical Express Response

      Brand Manager

      Thank you for your review. Caring for our patients and people is our priority and we are pleased that this is understood and apparent throughout our business. We look forward to working with you for many more years to come.

    5. 1.0
      Former Employee

      Don't do it.

      Nov 24, 2020 - Manager 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Store staff are generally very helpful and hard-working but under appreciated.

      Cons

      Unless your working in a store specifically pushing laser surgery you get forgotten about. Senior management are a joke, salary is poor considering what is expected of you. Staff gets stretched beyond belief and lone working is frequent.

      Continue reading
      7 people found this review helpful
    6. 2.0
      Former Employee

      No smoke without fire

      May 15, 2020 - Anonymous in Glasgow, Scotland
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Sales people potentially can make a lot of money (however it can be taken away days before expected day. multiple occasions) Some good people Training delivery

      Cons

      Clock in and out system and heavily monitored by management/payroll No bank holidays. No real benefits to speak of - Free Lasek if applicable. Very short lunch (again monitored). Treated as children on a various things. Staff considered highly disposable. Continual change in management structures. No continuity on objectives and processes. Lack of leadership within Senior Management. CEO lead with fear of raising your head above the parapet Highly target driven and managed heavily at all levels. Various cliques within management - no discussion is private. Uncomfortable working space - crammed, often too hot or too cold.

      Continue reading
      6 people found this review helpful
    7. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 10 years

      Great company

      Nov 16, 2019 - Manager 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Excellent opportunities for progression. Great staff and senior management

      Cons

      Sometimes you need to travel to other stores to help

      2 people found this review helpful
    8. 2.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Wouldn't recommend

      Nov 8, 2019 - Designer in Glasgow, Scotland
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Individually the team I was in were nice and my manager was kind.

      Cons

      It extremely chaotic, nothing is planned throughout the year and there is no clear strategy so my job was constant firefighting but there also isn't any interest from senior management to improve this. Personal learning and development isn't a thing at Optical Express and one-to-one's and objectives aren't kept to up date. I was never given a clear job description and it didn't seem like anyone else had been either so there are a lot of people there trying to look important but not actually doing much. General everyday processes are just as disorganised. Staff aren't kept up to date with things they actually need/want to know which can make working like stressful and difficult. They are happy to show people the door for any reason.

      Continue reading
      5 people found this review helpful
    9. 3.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Employee Feedback

      Jul 9, 2019 - People Function in Glasgow, Scotland
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Fellow team members, colleagues, onsite facilities, exposure to dealing with senior management/stakeholders

      Cons

      Lack of flexible working, career progression not as quick as it could be in some areas

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    10. 1.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      If you have the option to work anywhere else, literally anywhere, choose that before Optical Express.

      Jul 8, 2019 - Marketing in Glasgow, Scotland
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Nice office, some nice people. That's about it.

      Cons

      Absolutely no direction from senior management and a complete refusal to change the way things are done through fear of reprisals. Poor investment in technology resulting in your job being made even more difficult and backward. A refusal to invest in their staff and the tools they require to do their job. High attrition of staff and a known bullying culture if you face doesn't fit. Openly discuss HR cases with other members of staff, including personal issues. The most unfriendly environment. Emails or requests are ignored by senior management resulting in decisions being delayed and issues arising. Trying to get holidays is a struggle. If you have worked over your normal hours and ask to get away 10/15 mins early, it turns into an argument or you are asked to work the time back. Even though this has been worked back earlier in the week....

      Continue reading
      8 people found this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 32 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Optical Express Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Optical Express? Share Your Experiences

    Optical Express logo
    or