Optimax Laser Eye Surgery Specialists Reviews

Updated Jan 27, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 25 of over 27 reviews

2.8
43%
Recommend to a Friend
46%
Approve of CEO
Optimax Laser Eye Surgery Specialists Founder & Proprietor Russell Ambrose (no image)
Russell Ambrose
19 Ratings
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 5 years

    Grateful for the oppurtnity

    Oct 20, 2019 - Patient Advisor in London, England, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I started working for Optimax 5 yrs ago without any prior knowledge in Ophthalmology. I do however have many years of customer care and leadership. The training, guidance and support I have been given has been greatly appreciated. Whilst I have been at Optimax, I have found the support given like a breath of fresh air in comparison with my previous employers. Optimax is a family run business so everyone deals with everyone on a day to day basis, nothing is hidden. If something isn't right, they change it to make it better with openness and honesty. The management team and clinic managers genuinely want all of their employees to reach the their full potential. Optimax is a non commission environment that works hard to look after their patients. The support, guidance and training you receive is tailored to each individuals needs. It really does make a difference and has set me up to be able to apply for higher positions in many companies and not only in this field. I really do value the opportunity that has been given and plan to stay for many more years to come.

    Cons

    The cons of my current role is I would like to be paid in a higher bracket to match my skill set that I use within my current role. I am sure this will come in time as career development is something that they do encourage with many PA's developing into Managers and other higher positions for the right candidates.

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful
  2. 1.0
    Former Employee, more than 10 years

    Terrible management

    Jan 15, 2021 - Manager in London, England, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Free Laser Eye Surgery for staff

    Cons

    Management are all corrupt, CEO is a bully and micromanages everyone, Beata McManus does not know how to treat people. Chairman Russell Ambrose is greedy and a con, he conned long serving staff members out of their owed redundancy money so he could keep it for himself, he told staff the night before their payday they wouldn’t get the money owed to them. They work you like donkeys and watch everything you do every second of the day, it’s worse than being at school.

    Continue reading
    4 people found this review helpful
  3. 1.0
    Former Employee, more than 10 years

    DO NOT WORK FOR THEM

    Jan 20, 2021 - Staff in London, England, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Nice colleagues is the only plus

    Cons

    Promised redundancy pay-didnt get, promised owed Holiday pay-didnt get it have to claim of government Due to CVA found out night before pay going in by email. DO NOT WORK for them , very clique. Manager only wants staff hes recruited to prosper. He is evil dont argue or question him or get marked down in yearly review. We are all out of pocket just by being made redundant. Owner lied to staff and after making staff redundant is now recruiting for staff and refurbishing clinics with new theatres. The company is doomed

    Continue reading
    3 people found this review helpful
  4. 4.0
    Former Employee

    Good for experience

    Dec 16, 2020 - Patient Advisor 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    lots of clinical experience gained, great colleagues

    Cons

    understaffed, pay not the greatest

    2 people found this review helpful
  5. 1.0
    Former Employee

    Horrendous company to work for

    Jan 14, 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Free laser eye surgery, plus discount for family.

    Cons

    Too many to mention but they way the Chairman behaved in conning long-serving staff out of their rightful redundancy package tops the lot. Chairman is so money orientated he will stab anyone in the back to make or save a couple of pennies. Please do take a look at companies house....

    Continue reading
    3 people found this review helpful
  6. 1.0
    Former Employee

    Bad management

    Jan 27, 2021 - RGN Staff Nurse 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Have met some good employees

    Cons

    Only money orientated, don't care about the staff.

    Continue reading
    4 people found this review helpful
  7. 1.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    It is a sales job

    Feb 28, 2020 - Patient Advisor 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    You make bonus if you sell enough surgery. The clinic has a monthly target on how much money they need you to make so if you dont make enough you dont get any money free surgery if you need it thats it

    Cons

    upper management only care about money, not their staff or even their patients staff are harassed to call their 'thinkers' even when they dont want surgery The only thing managers care about is if you make money

    Continue reading
    4 people found this review helpful
  8. 3.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Not recommended

    Dec 16, 2019 - Patient Counsellor in Manchester, England, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Friendly colleagues, central London location

    Cons

    Low salary, no room for advancement, ambiguous job description

    Continue reading
    3 people found this review helpful
  9. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 5 years

    Supportive and caring

    Sep 11, 2019 - Assistant in Peterborough, England, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The entire management team are encouraging and supportive, the training provided is fantastic, you continuously learn through your employment which keeps it fresh, overall they are a great company to work for. The pay is good too which always helps ;)

    Cons

    None! I don't have a bad word to say.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  10. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Clinic staff

    Oct 20, 2019 - Clinical Nurse Manager 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great company, great technology and great surgeon

    Cons

    Some of the staff can be challenging but that is every where

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 25 Reviews

Work at Optimax Laser Eye Surgery Specialists? Share Your Experiences

Optimax Laser Eye Surgery Specialists logo
or