Optimax Laser Eye Surgery Specialists Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Optimax Laser Eye Surgery Specialists Reviews

Updated 18 Jul 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 13 reviews

2.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
39%
Recommend to a Friend
51%
Approve of CEO
Russell Ambrose
10 Ratings
  1. "Great company to work for!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Optimax Laser Eye Surgery Specialists full-time

    Pros

    Autonomy and continually evolving. Unafraid to try new things. Friendly, caring and considerate staff with a focus on excellent work/life balance.

    Cons

    None I can think of.

    Advice to Management

    Continue with the good work.

    Optimax Laser Eye Surgery Specialists2019-05-15
  2. "Not great."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Patient Advisor/Treatment Assistant 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Optimax Laser Eye Surgery Specialists full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Get a chance to work with some amazing surgeons, easily the best part of the job. The team culture in some clinics, if you end up in a good one, can be really good.

    Cons

    Pretty much a lottery whether there is any progression available to you. Irony is that if you do your job well and are in a stable clinic with a low churn you're probably less likely to progress than in a chaotic clinic with staff coming and going. Salary - Poor. Bonus targets are set for clinics, then not given the resources to achieve them, e.g not replacing staff who leave.

    Advice to Management

    For PA/TAs there is a very high staff churn. Focus on these employees who you can see are making a difference and reward them appropriately. Your business model means these staff bring in a lot of revenue but are not compensated appropriately.

    Optimax Laser Eye Surgery Specialists2018-07-20
  3. "Job is very good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Optimax Laser Eye Surgery Specialists full-time

    Pros

    The job is easy if you know what you are doing

    Cons

    You have to work at weekend a lot.

    Optimax Laser Eye Surgery Specialists2018-04-20
  4. "Shambolic Company!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Optimax Laser Eye Surgery Specialists part-time

    Pros

    The Chinese place next door is pretty good

    Cons

    Where do I start? Poorly managed company with no care or appreciation for its hardworking members of staff. Old, smelly building that was never really cleaned - we had to work on DUSTY desks! Rude and obnoxious CEO along with her little entourage that often made it feel like a prison as opposed to a working environment.

    Advice to Management

    I have no advice for you as this company cant be helped.

    Optimax Laser Eye Surgery Specialists2018-05-14
  5. "A company that I enjoyed working for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Optimax Laser Eye Surgery Specialists full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    A senior management team that is hardworking and supportive. Staff who made coming to work a good and positive experience, even if some days were hectic. Small teams of people who come together to make a great working atmosphere. Career progression if you want it. Many staff had been promoted within the company. You just needed to demonstrate capability and a desire to progress when an opportunity arose.

    Cons

    Some days could be long, but this was expected in a service industry and you are made aware of this at interview. You do get time back or over time payments.

    Advice to Management

    Thank you for your support and the excellent training I received.

    Optimax Laser Eye Surgery Specialists2018-02-14
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Optimax"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Optimax Laser Eye Surgery Specialists full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Ethical and conscientious company. Always willing to listen to staff and action necessary changes, even from the very top.

    Cons

    None, great company to work for.

    Advice to Management

    Great job.

    Optimax Laser Eye Surgery Specialists2018-02-05
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Great experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Optimax Laser Eye Surgery Specialists full-time

    Pros

    Great family-business values. Senior managers have worked in the industry a long time and therefore can offer great support and advice. Still a happy employee even after 10 years!

    Cons

    None, it’s been a good 10 years!

    Advice to Management

    Thank you.

    Optimax Laser Eye Surgery Specialists2018-02-05
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Excellent Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Optimax Laser Eye Surgery Specialists full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    As a family run business goes, this is one of the best, Senior Management listen and react to feedback. I've been here now for 8 years and the business has grown in tough times. Excellent Chairman with a fantastic CEO as our leader.

    Cons

    No cons at this company

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work

    Optimax Laser Eye Surgery Specialists2018-02-01
  9. Helpful (4)

    "Terrible CEO & Management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Optimax Laser Eye Surgery Specialists full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Fantastic staff & surgeons

    Cons

    Terrible micro management by senior management & especially the CEO, no one is trusted in this company, no one is looked after unless your in the “click”. They pay peanuts to hard working loyal staff with no benefits at all. Oh sorry actually they offer the tastecard as a benefit but you have to pay for it yourself. No progression as they won’t allow you to shine. No support from HR. CEO runs this company...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Look after your staff Trust them Reward them & not just by emailing them saying thank you!!! HR start looking after your staff with some real benefits.

    Optimax Laser Eye Surgery Specialists2018-02-14
  10. Helpful (3)

    "No appreciation"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Optimax Laser Eye Surgery Specialists full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Interesting field to work in

    Cons

    Low salary No appreciation of staff No support from management CEO Beata runs the company her way and only her way which 9 out of 10 times is the wrong way

    Advice to Management

    Need to show more appreciation to your hardworking loyal staff

    Optimax Laser Eye Surgery Specialists2018-02-14
Found 13 reviews