Optus Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Optus Reviews

Updated Dec 4, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.7
68%
Recommend to a Friend
71%
Approve of CEO
Optus CEO Allen Lew  (no image)
Allen Lew
301 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Company is cost cutting and yearly restructures are not uncommon(in 26 reviews)

  • "The only con about working in the Sydney office is that it is based at Macquarie Park which is far if you do need to have face to face meetings(in 18 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Retail Sales Consultant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Retail Sales Consultant 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Optus part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great opportunity to development communication. team work, customer service skills

    Cons

    Mentality demanding Should spend more time developing new employees

    Advice to Management

    Increase break times

    Optus2019-12-03
  2. "Why wouldn't you want to work for Optus!?"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Retail Service Specialist in Campbelltown, New South Wales
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Optus full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Optus is a great place to work! As an employee I feel that I am valued and that my thoughts and ideas are respected and listened to. You work with a variety of different people and have exposure to people from all areas in the business. There is a lot of training and development available to people who want progression within the company. There is recognition and rewards for people top performers and hard work.... There are always new roles and opportunities popping up as the business adapts to the ever changing Telco industry. There are a bunch of perks you get access to as an employee. You get to work in modern, tech filled work spaces with creativity and collaboration at the heart of everything we do.

    Show More

    Cons

    Sometimes communication between areas of the business can lack but Optus is definitely listening to feedback and working hard to improve on this.

    Optus2019-11-27
  3. "Autonomy and flexibility to get work done"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Corporate Counsel 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Optus full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Friendly colleagues, great facilities and supportive flexible work culture with opportunities to grow.

    Cons

    The usual large company processes to work through.

    Optus2019-11-25
  4. "Great job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Representative in Brisbane
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Optus part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great work environment, probably one of the best jobs I have ever worked at

    Cons

    Monthly KPI'S but they are pretty achievable

    Optus2019-11-22
  5. "Zigzagging Required"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Platform Owner in Sydney
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Optus full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Main campus(head quarters) is well located near transport and a major shopping centre. Maternity and paternity leave benefits are fantastic.

    Cons

    You can't stay long in this company if you want to progress your career. I have seen many employee leave and then return to the company in order to climb up the ladder.

    Advice to Management

    Retain your talented staff by giving them a clear path way and opportunities to grow in the organisation.

    Optus2019-12-05
  6. "Fantastic place to work with great benefits"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Graduate in Sydney
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Optus full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great people, culture and benefits. From the obvious (discounts on optus products) to a online platform with retailer discounts to learning opportunities for personal and professional growth. Working on a campus has a fantastic vibe; you can work inside but also outside and enjoy the park-feel at lunchtime with trees, water and picnic tables.

    Cons

    Its very hard to chose between all the coffee outlets! There is a strong culture of meetings which can be time consuming.

    Optus2019-11-18
  7. "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Technical Specialist 

    I have been working at Optus full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    great campus, work life balance

    Cons

    complex and lengthy outsourced procurement process

    Optus2019-11-13
  8. "Good career opportunities"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Human Resources in Sydney
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Optus full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good Career opportunities for good performers

    Cons

    Silos hinder ability to enable change

    Advice to Management

    Unify

    Optus2019-11-13
  9. "Amazing place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Sydney
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Optus full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I've never been more empowered and engaged in my role. It's a really exciting workplace. The salary is competitive, parental leave is above average (including paying super annuation), flexible work, work-life balance, great employee events, and learning opportunities. The Optus shuttle bus helps make it easy getting to Macquarie Park.

    Cons

    Some processes can be frustrating.

    Optus2019-11-12
  10. "no followup"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Retail Sales Consultant 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Optus part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    big company bright future nice boss

    Cons

    process is takinh is too lonv

    Optus2019-11-25
Found 691 reviews