Origins Employee Reviews about "great discount"

Updated 23 Sep 2019

To filter reviews, or .
3.2
59%
Recommend to a Friend
49%
Approve of CEO
Origins President       Lynne Greene (no image)
Lynne Greene
27 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Tense sales goals, Bonus is rare(in 10 reviews)

  • "If your just part time it will make a difference(in 8 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "great discount"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Origins"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Key Holder in Bellevue, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Origins full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great discount, great customers, product

    Cons

    Retail hours, stringent black out times

    Origins2019-09-23
  2. Helpful (6)

    "Key holder (lowest manager) mall origins"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Esthetician in Boston, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Origins full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great discount (40%)!, tons gratis (free stuff quarterly and when new products come out) tuition reimbursement

    Cons

    The pros look amazing at first glance however hear about some of the cons. I still suffer from ptsd and flashbacks from my manager verbally assaulting me and everyone on staff. At least one person cried everyday. I've never experienced such a cruel management situation. She would threaten that if we called to tip off HR she would hear about it. It was unbelievable.

    Continue reading
    Origins2018-02-03
  3. Helpful (4)

    "Fun place to work, love my fellow employees, corporate dropped the ball"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Guide 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Origins part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Fun atmosphere, get to interact with people (and do facials), sense of teamwork in the store, gratis, and bonuses for store performance (like customer capture rates, etc) and great employee discount- 45% in store and 30% at other Estée Lauder companies (like aveda and mac cosmetics). I've loved working with my team and learning the ins and outs of sales and the business. Plus, doing facials and meeting all the interesting people that walk in our doors has been really fun. I looked forward to going to work!

    Cons

    Corporate has REALLY screwed up- we've been out of stock of the biggest sellers for ages, and a lot of our client base has moved on. It's insane to have huge expectations of stores when they don't even provide the products we need to sell. It has looked like our store is going out of business for months because of all the empty space on the shelves, and there seems to be a disconnect between what happens in the stores and what corporate does (like telling stores they have some plantscription SPF cream supply ready to go, but they're going to hoard the product to use in mother's day gift sets, you know, instead of sending them to stores to sell to the many people on waitlists. I'm sure that our customers will really appreciate waiting another 2-3 months for the cream they've already been waiting for months to purchase in an even more expensive gift set! /s ) I would have nothing but positive things to say about working here if corporate wasn't making such poor decisions leading to this stocking catastrophe.

    Continue reading
    Origins2017-03-29
  4. Helpful (2)

    "Fake it till you make it"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Former Assistant Manager in Los Angeles, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Origins full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great benefits, great products, great discount and great customers. Had many amazing co-workers. Free products twice a year. Easy Uniform.

    Cons

    Unattainable sales goals. They hire managers from outside of the company. Broken promises about being promoted. Chain of Command when communicating as if the "higher ups" are too important to speak to you. No training on new products though expected to sell them. If you do not fit a certain "look" then you will not go far. Extremely unfair salaries and raises.

    Continue reading
    Origins2017-02-07
  5. "yeah"

    4.0
     

    I worked at Origins

    Pros

    employee discount, great gratis twice a year

    Cons

    giving mini facials and sales goals

    Origins2016-11-21
  6. "Sales Guide"

    4.0
    Sales Guide in Fremont, CA

    I have been working at Origins for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Great people and great discount on Estee Lauder products!

    Cons

    Goals can be tough depending on the day that you work.

    Continue reading
    Origins2016-10-26
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Assistant Store Manager"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Manager in Charlottesville, VA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Origins full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    great brand, great discount, great learning opportunity

    Cons

    corporate is a bit unorganized. promotions only seem to benefit online and not retail stores

    Continue reading
    Origins2016-07-06
  8. Helpful (3)

    "Full time key holder"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Key Holder in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Origins full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    The gratis is definitely a nice perk! Meeting new people and constantly learning about new products. Most days aren't the exact same, which I think is nice. Great employee discount on products. Benefits are very good for full time only/good vacation package.

    Cons

    Being an Estee Lauder company, Origins gets the short end of the stick. We used to get a free product when it launched (so we could try it and sell it better) However, we no longer get the new products. They've cut out our seasonal training (which was very educational to us. We sell the products to consumers...so you'd think the company would invest in their employees!!) VERY POOR communication within the company (including corporate)!! Very strict on goals and crunching numbers (our biggest competition is Origins online...which has different sales than the retail stores!) Nothing is ever good enough, the company constantly wants more from their employees. We do NOT work on commission, however, trying to make BONUS IS VERY HARD! Raises are minimal! Being a keyholder is basically being a ASM without extra pay. Not flexible schedule.

    Continue reading
    Origins2016-06-23
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Key Holder"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Assistant Manager in Detroit, MI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Origins for less than a year

    Pros

    Great products, unlimited samples, Estee-lauder wide discount, great starting pay,great coworkers, district manager is close to hourly employees, laid back enviorment, easy interview process, bonuses

    Cons

    No training, not informed that you had to meet specific numbers, frequent product name changes, so it makes inventory hell.

    Continue reading
    Origins2016-02-08
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Love Origins"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     

    I have been working at Origins

    Pros

    Great discount, great clients, nice atmosphere, great colleagues

    Cons

    Small staff, minimal payroll hours, lots of phone calls to get clients into the store.

    Origins2015-07-03
Found 13 reviews