Oscar Reviews

Updated Aug 18, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 80 of over 81 reviews

4.5
91%
Recommend to a Friend
97%
Approve of CEO
Oscar Chief Executive Officer Andy Morrell
Andy Morrell
32 Ratings
Pros
  • "Commission structure is brilliant(in 9 reviews)

  • "Strong Management team who provide an opportunity for your to not only achieve professional goals, but also personal goals(in 7 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Long hours but this is to be expected (especially if you want to earn(in 6 reviews)

  • "Very old fashioned recruitment company(in 3 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    1. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Great company culture

      Aug 4, 2021 - Senior Consultant in Manchester, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Oscar is a breath of fresh air in comparison to many/most other recruitment companies. There's a genuinely supportive, inclusive culture within the office, that breeds success as a result. If you have the pre-requisite skills to succeed, and you're a good person, you'll be opened with open arms! There's a real open-door policy with the directorship and management - whilst I'm moving out of the recruitment sector, I wouldn't hesitate recommending any friends (or my younger self!) to progress their recruitment career at Oscar!

      Cons

      - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - N/A - - - - - - - - - - - - -

      1 person found this review helpful
    2. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      10/10 for Training and Development

      Jul 21, 2021 - Recruitment Consultant in Manchester, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I've been with the company for over 2 years now and absolutely LOVE it. I've been given guidance in setting up my own personal brand from industry professionals. Help with a performance plan in order to get my desk where it needs to be from Directors that have such a positive outlook. The company culture is beaming and every time I walk in the office I'm greeted with hello's my manager brings me surprise Starbucks and treats to boost team moral. Just an unreal place to work - If you join Oscar you WILL be successful!

      Cons

      Nothing at all to say

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Nice

      Jun 29, 2021 - Senior Software Engineer in London, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      nice to work this company

      Cons

      Thank you for doing your part to keep

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Great place to work, great people to work with

      Jun 15, 2021 - Recruitment Consultant in Manchester, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Due to the excellent training and support for trainees, I received my promotion within 4 months having come from a sales background. The support from fellow colleagues, training sessions, senior management and external guest speakers provide a structure where success is made achievable and realistic. The buzz in the office is great, and the small wins are celebrated daily from all levels of the business. It's been a very happy 4 months and excited to continue to grow in such a special company.

      Cons

      Too many free brownies in the kitchen.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Amazing work atmosphere!

      Jun 9, 2021 - Resource Consultant in Manchester, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Oscar has a very supportive environment with constant training and development and an amazing working atmosphere! Everyone here supports each other and wants each other to do well!

      Cons

      The only con is the amount of food places that deliver in the centre city - not good for the waistline!

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Oscar Response

      Thank you for taking the time to review your experience of working at Oscar. It’s great to read that you are impressed with the training and development. We really pride ourselves on this area and I am sure you will continue to get so much out of our School of Excellence. We are glad you love the working environment; we continue to review this to make sure our people feel supported and have fun along the way! We can definitely relate with the endless food choices at lunch time… my only advice is keep it balanced with the free fruit we offer 😉

    6. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      New Job Bliss

      Jun 2, 2021 - Resource Consultant in Manchester, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Working at Oscar has been eye opening. The employees truly are at the centre of the company and everything possible is done to ensure everyone can work at the optimum. No one I have met has greeted me with any less than a big smile and an offer to help which has been so greatly appreciated. Also, with constant training opportunities and the chance to get advice from the pros, it's clear why Oscar is one of the best and what they do!

      Cons

      The person in charge of the music in the mornings has questionable taste!

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Oscar Response

      Thank you for taking the time to share your experience of working at Oscar so far. We are so pleased to hear that you are enjoying your new role and the environment. It’s great that we have finally been able to get back into the office and enjoy our new state of the art work space. We wish you the best of luck and hope you continue to thrive at Oscar! On a side note apologies about the morning music… we will look into this 😉

    7. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Everything I know from working at Oscar...

      May 19, 2021 - Lead Consultant in Manchester, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I started at Oscar almost 3 years ago. In that time I have had 3 promotions and progressed massively BUT........ more importantly I have received an abundance of support. Throughout my time and even to this day. Not just from the directors and management team but from the wider team! One of the greatest things about working at Oscar is the people around you. Always there to help, to provide advice and to encourage you to keep striving to be better. Even if you have no sales experience ( I didn’t!) Oscar is amazing at seeing you’re potential, recognising your personal goals and helping you get there. Oscar is amazing for anyone who wants to progress without limit, Work with an amazing team who support you and work toward your goals daily. I would also say something I have seen every day throughout my career ...the leaders of the business actually care. Not just about the business and where it’s going but about you both personally and professionally and coming from a different career background, this isn’t something you get in a lot of businesses!!

      Cons

      No cons to report regarding Oscar and the team!

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Oscar Response

      Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. It is really pleasing to read that your time at Oscar has been successful and you feel supported in several areas. We are really passionate about ensuring our environment is dynamic for our people to succeed and we work hard to drive the right initiatives which help motivate, inspire, and support employees across all our offices. Keep up the great work!

    8. 1.0
      Former Employee

      Nope

      Jun 15, 2021 - Consultant 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The money is good if you work ridiculous hours

      Cons

      Treat people like battery hens

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful
    9. 5.0
      Current Employee

      A Great Start

      Apr 26, 2021 - Resource Consultant 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I've only just started at Oscar but I couldn't feel more welcome, everyone is so nice and willing to help. The onboarding has been great and although there is a lot of information to take in, I'm enjoying the training. You are not forced to stay late and it is not a boys club boiler room environment. I'm really enjoying my time there already and I feel like it's somewhere I want to spend a long time at.

      Cons

      Honestly there are not any

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Can see myself here for the long haul

      Apr 20, 2021 - Senior Recruitment Consultant in London, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Where do I start? I came from another recruitment company when I first joined Oscar and from the day I started here it's been a breath of fresh air. The management team promote a culture where you encourage those around to win whilst sharing knowledge / points of learning on a daily basis. Colleagues and management are supportive and they really seem to have nailed the 'friendly competition' mentality across the offices. Career progression opportunities are limitless and you're surrounded by people who have successfully built their careers from the ground up which really pushes you to strive forwards! The support that I received throughout lockdown was immense and the company put a huge emphasis on maintaining our mental health - Going out of their way to check in daily and arrange Zoom entertainment to keep the team together. Compensation and incentives are great - There's always something to be aiming for whether it's early finish targets / holiday incentives / promotions / company days out! They've managed to nail employee engagement on this front. I genuinely don't have a bad word to say about the management team. It is built from a band of people who all have been (or are still) recruiters (which is more than a lot of recruitment businesses can say). The support across the company is unrivalled and the MD / CEO are top notch. The wider team also uphold a brilliant culture and I've met friends for life through working here. Coming from another company historically, Oscar have been nothing but great and the way that I've seen my career develop already leads me to believe that I'll be here for years to come.

      Cons

      None that I can think of - Keep up the amazing work!

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 80 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Oscar Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Oscar? Share Your Experiences

    Oscar logo
    or