Oxford University Press Reviews

Updated Jan 15, 2022

To filter reviews, or .

Found 500 of over 942 reviews

3.5
67%
Recommend to a Friend
59%
Approve of CEO
Oxford University Press CEO Nigel Portwood (no image)
Nigel Portwood
95 Ratings
Pros
  • "Human Resources was very involved in work/life balance initiatives(in 81 reviews)

  • "In the four years that I worked with OUP, I grew as a professional(in 65 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "OUP really needs a change in culture, but the C-suite is full of traditionalists(in 77 reviews)

  • "Low pay compared to others in same industry(in 57 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Good work

      Dec 9, 2021 - Test Engineer in Pune
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Perfect location great pay improvement

      Cons

      Good environment good improvement skills

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Project Manager at OUP

      Jan 13, 2022 - Project Manager in Bhubaneshwar
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Unique Company, has it own museum, orchestra, library etc.. Some special to have that connection with history

      Cons

      IT Department managed badly and full of self importance.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 3.0
      Current Employee

      Ok place to work

      Jan 13, 2022 - Process Improvement Manager in Bangalore
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Nice environment to work in

      Cons

      Company stripping away benefits to be by one

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 4.0
      Current Employee

      You gotta love publishing.

      Nov 19, 2021 - Development Editor in Chennai
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Love the values and the people with whom I work.

      Cons

      Pay, equality, workload, management issues.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 3.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Poorly compensated

      Dec 3, 2021 - Assistant Marketing Manager in Pune
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Prestigious, global company with diverse workforce.

      Cons

      High staff turnover, poorly compensated, high-pressure working environment.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 4.0
      Former Employee

      Good company

      Nov 13, 2021 - Exam Invigilator in Bangalore
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good company, management team are nice, high bonus

      Cons

      too far away from home

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Great place to work, great culture, and I had a great manager.

      Nov 11, 2021 - Resourcing Partner in Surat
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great culture, very supportive, and they treat you like a capable worker (not micro-managing, in my experience). Was really happy with my manager and my team. Very fun focused and outgoing. Great Christmas party in Oxford too!!

      Cons

      Make sure you ask if you need assistance. In my experience, you will be trusted to perform your duties and achieve your targets under your own steam - but that does not mean support is not there. In fact there's plenty, but be sure to mention if you struggle. Was one instance of a manager wanting to anonymously provide negative feedback on an employee changing jobs internally (what would amount to unaccountable character assassination), but this was stopped by HR. Some salaries could be higher (but you could say that everywhere!)

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Oxford University Press Response

      OUP Glassdoor Account Manager

      Thank you for taking the time to leave a review, especially the comments around our culture and how you felt supported by both your manager and team during your time at OUP. If you would like to provide us with any further feedback, please consider emailing glassdoor@oup.com.

    8. 3.0
      Current Employee

      Ok

      Oct 26, 2021 - Account Manager in Oxford, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Some good people and good mission

      Cons

      Poor recognition, salary and career progression

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Oxford University Press Response

      OUP Glassdoor Account Manager

      Thank you for your feedback, especially the comment around our people and mission. We would like to reassure you that both rewarding our people for their hard work, and supporting their career development, are two key focus areas for us. If you have any ideas on how we can improve, please consider emailing glassdoor@oup.com.

    9. 5.0
      Current Employee

      nice palce

      Oct 5, 2021 - Data Analyst in Oxford, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I really liked working for them

      Cons

      No permanent positions available at the time

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Oxford University Press Response

      OUP Glassdoor Account Manager

      Thank you for your review, it's wonderful to see that you enjoyed your time working at OUP. We hope that we can welcome you back in the not too distant future.

    10. 3.0
      Current Employee

      Pros and Cons

      Sep 25, 2021 - Product Director in Oxford, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Mission led Great people Lovely building and working environment

      Cons

      Lack of diversity Very complex structures and processes Overly compliant

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Oxford University Press Response

      OUP Glassdoor Account Manager

      Thanks for your review, especially the comment around our people - we’re really pleased to hear that you would recommend working at OUP to others. On your point around diversity, supporting diversity and inclusion across OUP is a core focus for us right now. While there’s still more that we can do, we’re confident we’re heading in the right direction. Also, we are always open to suggestions on how we can streamline our processes to reduce unnecessary complexity - if you have any feedback, please email us at glassdoor@oup.com.

    Viewing 1 - 10 of 500 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Oxford University Press Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Oxford University Press? Share Your Experiences

    Oxford University Press logo
    or