Oxford University Press Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Oxford University Press Reviews

Updated 16 Mar 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.0
56%
Recommend to a Friend
56%
Approve of CEO
Oxford University Press CEO Nigel Portwood (no image)
Nigel Portwood
64 Ratings
Pros
  • "Holiday car pay Work life balance(in 60 reviews)

  • "A nascent focus on change and digital transformation is going to make OUP an exciting (and career-defining) place to work for many people(in 58 reviews)

Cons
  • "Need more investments in the publishing operations if OUP is going to be an active participant in the new publishing environment(in 64 reviews)

  • "Low pay and slow career progression(in 48 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review

    "Supportive employer with good chances for development"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Production Editor in Oxford, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Oxford University Press full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Career development opportunities, societies/clubs, nice office environment

    Cons

    location, high living and travel costs

    Oxford University Press2019-07-30

    Oxford University Press Response

    August 2, 2019OUP Glassdoor Account Manager

    Thanks so much for the positive review. We’re really pleased that you are enjoying working with us. If you want to expand on any of the points you highlight in your review – both good and bad – then please get in touch by emailing glassdoor@oup.com.

    Continue reading
  2. "Great Opportunities"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Oxford, England
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Oxford University Press full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    A great place for graduates to develop.

    Cons

    Nothing of significance to mention

    Oxford University Press2020-02-06

    Oxford University Press Response

    February 28, 2020OUP Glassdoor Account Manager

    Thanks for the recommendation! If you’d like to expand on your review at all please email us at glassdoor@oup.com.

    Continue reading
  3. "Sales"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Representative in Chichester, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Oxford University Press full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Holiday car pay Work life balance

    Cons

    Territory size, commission, job progression

    Oxford University Press2020-01-07

    Oxford University Press Response

    January 20, 2020OUP Glassdoor Account Manager

    Thanks for your feedback and we’re really pleased to hear that you would recommend working with us. You can tell us more about your experiences by emailing glassdoor@oup.com.

    Continue reading
  4. "Outdated Useless Prince2. Extremely Lacking Technologically."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Project Manager in Oxford, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Oxford University Press full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Some brilliant & talented staff, although the higher they were the less competent they tended to be. Nice gym, ok canteen.

    Cons

    Bullying was endemic and entrenched. There were some good managers but real leadership was rare, so bullying was the standard way to "get things done". Some departments had so much churn they could have started a dairy. Everyone knew it and everyone saw it but rather than actually tackle it HR sent everyone on "awareness training" and washed their hands of it all. Generally there was an overwhelming bureaucracy that smothered any spark of originality and stifled any attempt at progress. Those that learnt management-speak and kept their heads down seemed to fit in. In terms of digital the company was years behind, using outdated methodology and deprecated technology. Luckily it seemed that you could stick the Oxford brand on anything and customers would buy it. As a company they have built a big enough userbase to be able to get away with mediocrity.

    Continue reading
    Oxford University Press2020-01-19

    Oxford University Press Response

    February 17, 2020OUP Glassdoor Account Manager

    OUP has a zero tolerance approach to bullying, so we are concerned by your feedback. We have a confidential helpline to help us to identify, investigate, and tackle any activities or behaviours that do not align to our Code of Conduct, and we would encourage you to get in touch through this route at SpeakUpOUP@expolink.co.uk. Alternatively you can get in touch by emailing glassdoor@oup.com.

    Continue reading
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Good in some areas but bad in others"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Designer in Oxford, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Oxford University Press full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    People who work 'on the ground' are mostly friendly and supporting, especially my team Some good perks such as discount benefits

    Cons

    Higher management are all out for themselves and don't understand what groundwork happens. Constant strategy changes to keep themselves in a job and little incentive for everyone to stick about

    Oxford University Press2019-12-13

    Oxford University Press Response

    January 20, 2020OUP Glassdoor Account Manager

    We appreciate you taking the time to share your experiences, and we’re pleased to see that you have experiences some good perks to working at OUP, including our wonderful people. We would however, like to understand more about your feedback around management and strategy, and hope you’ll consider contacting us via glassdoor@oup.com to tell us more.

    Continue reading
  6. "Not the worst place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Operations Analyst in Oxford, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Oxford University Press full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Colleagues are generally very good people, the atmosphere on the ground is always friendly and collegiate.

    Cons

    Very little room for upward development, terrible pay, senior leaders are out of touch.

    Continue reading
    Oxford University Press2019-12-13

    Oxford University Press Response

    January 20, 2020OUP Glassdoor Account Manager

    Thank you for sharing your feedback, though we’re saddened to see that you wouldn’t recommend OUP to others. It’s great to hear your feedback on our people – we’re always so proud of the welcoming atmosphere they create in our offices – but would like to discuss your comments around reward, development, and management in more depth. We’d encourage you to get in touch with us via glassdoor@oup.com.

    Continue reading
  7. "Meaningful mission with wonderful, cash-strapped colleagues"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Commissioning Editor in Oxford, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Oxford University Press full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Strong mission, great colleagues, good work-life balance, brilliant location

    Cons

    Salaries do not reflect cost of living

    Oxford University Press2019-11-20

    Oxford University Press Response

    December 12, 2019OUP Glassdoor Account Manager

    We’re really pleased to see that you’re enjoying your time with us. We know so many of our colleagues are proud of our mission. It’s also great to hear that you have been able to achieve a good work-life balance; it’s something we want to help all of our people achieve. If you would like to share any further feedback, please email glassdoor@oup.com.

    Continue reading
  8. Helpful (2)

    "It's ok..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Release Manager in Oxford, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Oxford University Press full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good location, good people. in fact it's the people that make the it a nice place to work

    Cons

    fragmented business setup where divisions act as individual companies. too much duplication of effort. lack of direction.

    Continue reading
    Oxford University Press2019-11-14

    Oxford University Press Response

    November 18, 2019OUP Glassdoor Account Manager

    We’re grateful that you’ve taken the time to leave a review, and thank you for your comments about our people – we always hear a lot of amazing feedback about our people. However, we’re sad to see you wouldn’t recommend OUP as a place to work. We’d like the opportunity to understand your feedback in more depth, so hope you’ll consider emailing glassdoor@oup.com to tell us more.

    Continue reading
  9. Helpful (8)

    "Avoid"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Development Editor in Oxford, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Oxford University Press full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Nice offices. Some nice colleagues.

    Cons

    No training whatsoever. Any "training session" was basically, "go on Lynda.com and get ready for if a spot above you does open up" and then the remaining hour was spent listening to senior members of staff complaining about how there are no opportunities for even lateral movement. The CEOs are idiots that don't understand OUPs place in the market and blunder from one disaster to another. They are bailed out by their association with the University. If this were any other company, it would have gone bust ages ago. There is also a culture of bullying and HR couldn't give a toss. When I confronted them with evidence of constructive dismissal, they just shrugged their shoulders and did nothing. Lower pay than elsewhere in the sector.

    Oxford University Press2019-11-26

    Oxford University Press Response

    December 12, 2019OUP Glassdoor Account Manager

    We’re grateful that you’ve taken the time to share your experiences at OUP, but concerned by some of the comments you’ve made, particularly around bullying. We do not tolerate bullying at OUP, and strongly encourage our employees to report bullying or any other unethical behaviour to our confidential service, SpeakUpOUP@expolink.co.uk. If you’d like to get in touch about any of the other issues you’ve raised, please email us by contacting glassdoor@oup.com. We'd be particularly keen to expand on your feedback about our learning and development offer; we have a clear commitment to developing our people, so would appreciate understanding more about your specific experiences.

    Continue reading
  10. Helpful (13)

    "Low growth makes for shady dealings"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Project Manager in Oxford, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Oxford University Press full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great people, canteen, beautiful building

    Cons

    Constant IT problems, re-structuring which usually means people suddenly leave and you know nothing for days until a faux positive email is sent. Overall terrible communication. Knows they can always fill vacancies so don’t bother with current employees.

    Continue reading
    Oxford University Press2019-10-23

    Oxford University Press Response

    October 30, 2019OUP Glassdoor Account Manager

    We are concerned by a number of the points you raise in your review, especially around people’s morale and communication. We’re also concerned by your comment around ‘shady dealings’, as we have a clear focus on operating ethically at all times. If you’ve experienced or witnessed any unethical behaviour, we’d encourage you to get in touch with our confidential helpline – SpeakUpOUP@expolink.co.uk – so we can investigate this further. If you’d like to expand on any other aspects of your review, you can reach us on glassdoor@oup.com.

    Continue reading
Found 325 reviews