Oxford University Press Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Oxford University Press Reviews

Updated 19 Jun 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 481 reviews

2.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
33%
Recommend to a Friend
48%
Approve of CEO
Nigel Portwood
180 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great work culture and great work life balance(in 51 reviews)

  • "Industry is not that great and mostly it's a low value product sales for customer, but still OUP has done remarkably well(in 48 reviews)

Cons
  • "Not OUP related but traffic is constant thorn in everyone's side(in 53 reviews)

  • "Low pay with high demand workflow(in 38 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Marketing Intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Oxford University Press full-time

    Pros

    Brilliant, inclusive company with smart people.

    Cons

    Few to be honest.

    Advice to Management

    Keep working on staff diversity.

    Oxford University Press2019-03-20

    Oxford University Press Response

    March 22, 2019OUP Glassdoor Account Manager

    We’re delighted to hear you enjoyed your time with us, and can say that diversity and inclusion is a real priority for us – if you have any additional feedback feel free to reach out to us at glassdoor@oup.com. We wish you all the best in your career going forward and hope your experience ...

    Show More
  2. "Decent money. overall package good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Oxford University Press full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Decent pay, lots of holidays. Good pension.

    Cons

    Dead end job. work in decline. no chance of advancement. no overtime pay. Difficult to see much of a future.

    Oxford University Press2019-06-17
  3. Helpful (2)

    "Fun but slow"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Coordinator in Oxford, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Oxford University Press full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Supportive environment Easy and flexible working hours Great clubs Beautiful building in a great part of Oxford

    Cons

    Very slow paced!! I don't mean day to day work necessary, but decisions often have to go through multiple layers of meetings before being agreed upon. There is a lot of bureaucracy.

    Advice to Management

    Strip down some of your working processes to allow small teams to move more quickly.

    Oxford University Press2019-06-06

    Oxford University Press Response

    June 11, 2019OUP Glassdoor Account Manager

    We're glad to see you enjoyed the environment and facilities at OUP, and thank you also for your thoughts on how we can improve. If you would like to speak to us about any of your experiences you can reach us at glassdoor@oup.com

  4. Helpful (2)

    "In general lines OUP is good but it doesn't feel a very modern place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Oxford, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Oxford University Press full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Great building, facilities and people are great to work with

    Cons

    Low pay, nearly impossible to work across different teams to learn new technologies because management will not allow it.

    Advice to Management

    Be more flexible and modern regarding work across teams.

    Oxford University Press2019-06-07

    Oxford University Press Response

    June 11, 2019OUP Glassdoor Account Manager

    Hi, thanks for the feedback - it's great to see you'd recommend us as a place to work and we note your thoughts on technology and flexibility. If you have any questions or additional comments you can email us at glassdoor@oup.com

  5. "Good company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Marketing 

      I worked at Oxford University Press full-time for more than 5 years

      Pros

      The people, culture and history and mission of the company

      Cons

      Lack of processes, and time taken to get projects off the ground

      Oxford University Press2019-05-24

      Oxford University Press Response

      May 31, 2019OUP Glassdoor Account Manager

      We're really happy to see you enjoyed working at OUP and that our mission and culture were part of the reason for that - you can reach us at glassdoor@oup.com if you have any other feedback. Very best of luck in your next role!

    • "An interesting place to work"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Oxford University Press full-time

      Pros

      Heritage, people and facilities are all great.

      Cons

      Sometimes change can be difficult to implement.

      Oxford University Press2019-05-10

      Oxford University Press Response

      May 15, 2019OUP Glassdoor Account Manager

      Hi thanks for posting a review. Feel free to contact us at glassdoor@oup.com if you have any questions or anything to add.

    • "Calm and mission-based"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Current Employee - Production Manager 

        I have been working at Oxford University Press full-time

        Pros

        Everyone vlearly really cares about what we do.

        Cons

        The pay is not great.

        Oxford University Press2019-05-02

        Oxford University Press Response

        May 7, 2019OUP Glassdoor Account Manager

        Thank you for your feedback. If you would like to add anything, please do feel free to email us at glassdoor@oup.com.

      • Helpful (7)

        "Lovely people but terrible pay and progression"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
        Doesn't Recommend
        Neutral Outlook
        No Opinion of CEO

        I have been working at Oxford University Press full-time

        Pros

        The people who work here are lovely, and there's a great working environment. There are a few good perks - great pension, onsite gym, lots of places to buy food and drink onsite, lunch time talks by authors.

        Cons

        It's depressing to see that all the reviews on here consistently mention pay and career progression, but the company clearly hasn't taken heed to these comments. The pay is a disgrace. They pay as little as they possibly can, and far below market rate and other competitors. This is especially disappointing as Oxford is the least affordable city in the UK, and it's not as if OUP is a small struggling company unable to...

        Show More

        Advice to Management

        Pay your staff a decent wage.

        Oxford University Press2019-04-13

        Oxford University Press Response

        April 17, 2019OUP Glassdoor Account Manager

        Hi, we appreciate your feedback and are really glad you feel the people here are lovely. We agree entirely. However, we are concerned by your comments about pay and progression. Please let us reassure you that the feedback we receive via Glassdoor is taken seriously, so if you would ...

        Show More
      • "Oxford University Press is a wonderful place to work"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Production Controller in Oxford, England
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I have been working at Oxford University Press full-time (Less than a year)

        Pros

        By far the nicest, most down-to-earth people I have ever worked with. The company has a good flexible working policy which is great if you have a family. There is a gym, you get discounts off some nice restaurants/ bars in town and free entry to the botanical gardens, among other perks. If you are a book lover, then OUP is a wonderful place to work - we also have frequent talks from select authors and regular book sales....

        Show More

        Cons

        Technology can be a bit behind at OUP but this is improving. The coffee can be terrible (but the surrounding area has an abundance of great coffee shops).

        Oxford University Press2019-04-17

        Oxford University Press Response

        April 30, 2019OUP Glassdoor Account Manager

        Thanks for the review - it’s great to hear you would recommend us as a place to work and that you agree our people are great. You can reach us at glassdoor@oup.com if you would like to discuss any of your thoughts.

      • Helpful (3)

        "Oh dear"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Marketing Manager 
        Doesn't Recommend
        Negative Outlook
        No Opinion of CEO

        I worked at Oxford University Press full-time (Less than a year)

        Pros

        - On the whole, great colleagues who genuinely want to make a difference - Depending on your line manager, you can have autonomy in how you work

        Cons

        - Quite often there's a poor understanding of what management want of you, which I believe is because they dont really know themselves

        Oxford University Press2019-04-24

        Oxford University Press Response

        April 30, 2019OUP Glassdoor Account Manager

        Hi, thank you for this - all feedback is really useful to us. If you would like to share more about your feelings about management to help us get a better idea of your experience here, please feel free to contact us at glassdoor@oup.com.

      Found 481 reviews