PA Consulting Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

PA Consulting Reviews

Updated 16 Feb 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.5
67%
Recommend to a Friend
61%
Approve of CEO
PA Consulting CEO and Director Alan Middleton
Alan Middleton
241 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Too much emphasis on utilisation for lower ranks(in 32 reviews)

  • "Work life balance can be challenging when matched with client demands(in 30 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review

    "Great company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Principal Consultant in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at PA Consulting full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Strong brand in the market with a diverse range of projects. PA has a great track record in innovation and very good relationships with clients. There is a focus on learning and development of staff.

    Cons

    Some efforts to improve culture but this is not consistent across teams and it relies heavily on local leadership. As any other consultancy you will need put in the extra hours outside projects to grow and develop yourself.

    Continue reading
    PA Consulting2020-01-04
  2. "good people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - IT Consultant 

    I have been working at PA Consulting full-time

    Pros

    good salary, good work. interesting and varied clients

    Cons

    sales targets pushed down to low grades

    PA Consulting2020-01-21
  3. "Fascinating work, brilliant minds, high expectations"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at PA Consulting full-time

    Pros

    Fascinating work that really makes a difference in the world, working with true experts in their field who care about what they do, not just there for the salary.

    Cons

    As with any consulting environment, a high level of both autonomy and self-direction which will be great for some but not for others.

    PA Consulting2020-02-12
  4. "Strong public sector focus"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Principal Consultant in London, England

    I have been working at PA Consulting full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good public sector work across local and central govt

    Cons

    Limited exposure to the private sector

    PA Consulting2020-02-16
  5. "PA Consulting"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Construction Program Manager in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at PA Consulting full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good place to work, nice people, smart people

    Cons

    Harder than big 4 to get resourced onto jobs you might like as smaller range

    PA Consulting2020-01-31
  6. "Nice place to work at, great people, but has some issues"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Consulting Analyst in Cambridge, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at PA Consulting full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great people and very innovative environment

    Cons

    Slow career growth at times, because of profit maximisation of company also resulting in less than fair rewards

    PA Consulting2020-02-12
  7. "Good development but needs variety of clients"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Consultant 

    I have been working at PA Consulting full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Training, development, location and people

    Cons

    Primarily public sector clients so lacks variety

    PA Consulting2020-02-11
  8. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Air Traffic Control Specialist in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at PA Consulting full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Excellent work life balance and excellent projects

    Cons

    Minimal career structure and unclear career progression

    PA Consulting2020-01-26
  9. Helpful (3)

    "Good work encumbered by corporate culture from the 1950s"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Principal Consultant in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at PA Consulting full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    I work in a relatively small sector team and have always felt supported and challenged. I've worked consistently on projects, some of which have been very interesting. I respect the people I work with, who are for the most part intelligent and competent individuals.

    Cons

    The corporate culture at PA can be shocking. There has over the last few years been a cursory gesture towards Diversity & Inclusion, but this hasn't resulted in any real change. Any truly positive initiatives are all organised and led through the hard work of very junior team members (who get no recognition for their efforts). The CEO is entirely unconnected to his staff. I've worked at PA for nearly 8 years and have not met him a single time (fine if this were a company of 100,000 ppl, but we are talking 2,500...). In the years since Private Equity acquisition the whole company had gotten cheap, cheap, cheap. Support functions have been cleared out, benefits reduced to nothing. Training non-existant. All the while the rates our clients pay go up.

    Continue reading
    PA Consulting2020-02-03
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Be Careful"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at PA Consulting full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good IT systems, good benefits

    Cons

    Bad senior management, unclear outlooks, mixed messages to the company, deceiving

    Continue reading
    PA Consulting2020-02-04

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 542 reviews