PEAK6 Investments Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

PEAK6 Investments Reviews

Updated 2 Apr 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.0
56%
Recommend to a Friend
70%
Approve of CEO
PEAK6 Investments Co-founder and Chief Executive Officer Matthew Hulsizer
Matthew Hulsizer
102 Ratings
Pros
  • "Nice office space is the only positive that comes to mind(in 25 reviews)

  • "You get the chance to work with some really smart people(in 15 reviews)

Cons
  • "At times work/life balance is tough, but that's any company job(in 10 reviews)

  • "High performing traders and a few high performing software engineers are the only ones shielded from the constant drama within the company(in 9 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Good options trading"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Trader in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at PEAK6 Investments full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    smart co-workers, cool office, good technology

    Cons

    politics, side projects, hours, lack of diversity

    PEAK6 Investments2020-04-03
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Good Place to Learn, Needs Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Trading in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at PEAK6 Investments full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I learned a lot in my time at Peak6 about trading, programming, and project management. I thought it was a fun place to work with a lot of cool events and perks, and a great kitchen. Some members of leadership (Tom in trading) are great. If you're proactive about seeking more opportunities, usually people are pretty eager to give them to you. If you fit in well or can fake it, you will do great here and people will want to give you projects, have you on their team, etc. Work/life balance pretty good. I really liked the majority of the people who I met and worked with there and I made some good friends in my time there.

    Cons

    Some leadership is good, but some can be rude and disrespectful. It doesn't feel like anything happens when you provide feedback- no one actually tries to address or change things or follows up. There is random firing and layoffs, and frequently at that. Trading base salary is low compared to other firms. The atmosphere is such that going into a 1-on-1 is a nerve-wracking experience. Unclear what the basis/logic for their performance scoring metrics is- transparency in general is an issue. The culture can be catty and people play favorites. Basically, if you can get in line and drink the kool-aid, you'll do well here. If not, eventually they'll fire you for it or you'll get tired and leave. End of the day, I would recommend Peak6 to a friend, but only a friend who I think would already fit or mold themselves to who Peak6 wants you to be - the benefits don't outweigh the cons unless you can subscribe.

    Continue reading
    PEAK6 Investments2020-03-27
  3. Helpful (2)

    "Very Driven Culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at PEAK6 Investments full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    There is always something going on! There's always something fun happening! Very intelligent people work at this firm – you learn a lot from others. If you want to add value, this is a great place to work. If you have ideas, everyone is willing to listen! It's a very diverse culture.

    Cons

    At times work/life balance is tough, but that's any company job. They are flexible and they understand you have a life outside of work and need to get things done.

    PEAK6 Investments2020-02-05

    PEAK6 Investments Response

    February 22, 2020Chief People Officer

    Thank you for taking the time to post a review and for sharing your insight. You’ve captured the essence of the PEAK6 culture: it is place to where really smart people are working very hard to accomplish ambitious goals. But between the deadlines and deliverables, we offer a variety of opportunities and events to have some fun along the way. Work/life balance is an important part of the employee experience and is supported by our leaders. Please reach out to me, Judi Hart, Chief Operating Officer at jhart@peak6.com, if you want to share more about your experience. - Thanks, Judi

    Continue reading
  4. Helpful (2)

    "Re: Capital Management needs another round of change"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Engineering in Chicago, IL

    I have been working at PEAK6 Investments full-time

    Pros

    Log in to support the previous review with same headline. "There are still a few people in the CapMan organization that can be looked up to. " - Agree

    Cons

    "CapMan has been under dysmal leadership in the last few months. The CTO is so incompetent that he neither understands technology nor the domain. Besides using a few tech buzzwords which he just hears around, all he understands and talks about is project and process management. As another review mentioned, we will be better off with paying a consultant a few months rather than have such an expensive leadership that is net negative for the firm." - Agree

    Continue reading
    PEAK6 Investments2020-02-20

    PEAK6 Investments Response

    February 22, 2020Chief People Officer

    Thank you for taking the time to post a review and for sharing your insight. A change in leadership can be a challenging time for employees. Plans, processes, systems and getting the right people in place can’t happen overnight. Be patient. While change can make you temporarily uncomfortable, there is a larger plan at work. The PEAK6 culture welcomes feedback, talk to your manager about how you can feel more engaged. Please reach out to me, Judi Hart, Chief Operating Officer at jhart@peak6.com, if you want to share more about your experience. - Thanks, Judi

    Continue reading
  5. "Underwriter"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Operations Specialist II in Overland Park, KS
    Doesn't Recommend

    I have been working at PEAK6 Investments full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Good technology and ok atmosphere

    Cons

    How they select people to terminate is horrible

    PEAK6 Investments2020-02-26
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Great place for the right type of people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Vice President Product Management in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at PEAK6 Investments full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    PEAK6 is highly diverse lots of different opportunities. I've worked in over 10 different sub-businesses and have always enjoyed and grown in my roles. It's a great place to work if you're self motivated and want to add value. Management is actually very open to hearing new ideas and will support you .

    Cons

    I've read a lot of the negative reviews, and I get it. PEAK6 is not for everyone - you really need to want to add value and bring the right type of energy. There is no clearly defined career path, but you can advance - significantly - if you step up.

    PEAK6 Investments2020-01-17

    PEAK6 Investments Response

    February 5, 2020Chief People Officer

    Thank you for taking the time to post a review and for serving the company for more than a decade. As a long-term employee, you have a deep understanding of the PEAK6 culture. You know that the ideas and opinions of employees are valued and the opportunities are nearly limitless for those who are willing to put themselves forward and put the work in, regardless of the role they are in or the location where they work. Please reach out to me, Judi Hart, Chief Operating Officer at jhart@peak6.com, if you want to share more about your experience. - Thanks, Judi

    Continue reading
  7. "review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Commercial Loan Processing Clerk in Chicago, IL

    I worked at PEAK6 Investments full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good Technical people. If you are young good place to start

    Cons

    Layoff and Firing is more often

    PEAK6 Investments2020-01-13

    PEAK6 Investments Response

    January 15, 2020Chief People Officer

    Thank you for taking the time to post a review. PEAK6 continues to build on the foundation of world-class technology, operational excellence and purposeful design. We believe in creating opportunities and supporting employees at every phase of a career. Please reach out to me, Judi Hart, Chief People Officer at jhart@peak6.com, if you want to share more about your experience. - Thanks, Judi

    Continue reading
  8. Helpful (6)

    "Capital Management needs another round of change"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer 
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at PEAK6 Investments full-time

    Pros

    There are still a few people in the CapMan organization that can be looked up to.

    Cons

    CapMan has been under dysmal leadership in the last few months. The CTO is so incompetent that he neither understands technology nor the domain. Besides using a few tech buzzwords which he just hears around, all he understands and talks about is project and process management. As another review mentioned, we will be better off with paying a consultant a few months rather than have such an expensive leadership that is net negative for the firm.

    Continue reading
    PEAK6 Investments2020-02-12

    PEAK6 Investments Response

    February 22, 2020Chief People Officer

    Thank you for taking the time to post a review and for sharing your insight. A change in leadership can be a challenging time for employees. Plans, processes, systems and getting the right people in place can’t happen overnight. Be patient. While change can make you temporarily uncomfortable, there is a larger plan at work. The PEAK6 culture welcomes feedback, talk to your manager about how you can feel more engaged. Please reach out to me, Judi Hart, Chief Operating Officer at jhart@peak6.com, if you want to share more about your experience. - Thanks, Judi

    Continue reading
  9. Helpful (4)

    "Highly collaborative, opportunities for impact"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at PEAK6 Investments full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Excellent education programs, opportunities for learning and collaboration by working with people with diverse skills and professional backgrounds, open to new ideas and pursuing new businesses.

    Cons

    Limited diversity of workforce (though there are some active programs to help support more women to enter finance). Small size has some drawbacks too. More compensation upside in some roles than others.

    Continue reading
    PEAK6 Investments2019-08-19

    PEAK6 Investments Response

    September 9, 2019Chief People Officer

    Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We appreciate that you enjoy being a part of our highly collaborative culture. Our open culture gives everyone the opportunity to share ideas. We are continuing to grow and develop diversity initiatives and are proud of the progress we are making across the firm as we set our sights on continued growth. Please reach out to me, Judi Hart, Chief People Officer at jhart@peak6.com, if you want to share more about your experience. - Thanks, Judi

    Continue reading
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Trading University"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Technology in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at PEAK6 Investments full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Just like a great college this company offers a lot for your future and looks great on a resume. Awesome benefits, younger & scrappy culture, monthly social events, eager talent and multiple opportunities to shine. Truthfully a place you'll make some long lasting friendships.

    Cons

    Just like college you may find yourself wanting to grow up. Its great as a stepping stone however management is stuck in the mindset of a startup. That comes with its ups and downs. Quick to adapt and elastic but too many chefs in the kitchen comes with big attitudes. Don't expect everyone is out to help you, your work may go unnoticed because of the pace. People may talk very unprofessionally to you via email or in a meeting. Have thicker skin to work here. If you cry in dog movies, you might not make it here.

    Continue reading
    PEAK6 Investments2019-08-19

    PEAK6 Investments Response

    September 9, 2019Chief People Officer

    Thank you for taking the time to post a review. At PEAK6, we work hard to create an environment where our employees can thrive. While it not a place for everyone, it is a place where we act quickly to explore new ideas and offer our employees opportunities to innovate and meet new challenges. Operating ethically is part of our core values and we promote the highest levels of professionalism for all employees. Please reach out to me, Judi Hart, Chief People Officer at jhart@peak6.com, if you want to share more about your experience. - Thanks, Judi

    Continue reading
Found 164 reviews