PGL (UK) Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

PGL (UK) Reviews

Updated 21 Mar 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.2
56%
Recommend to a Friend
65%
Approve of CEO
PGL (UK) Group CEO Peter Kerkar
Peter Kerkar
24 Ratings
Pros
  • "Fun social life, you're outside a lot(in 9 reviews)

  • "Wide range of outdoor activities trained in, good social atmosphere(in 6 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "Housekeeping"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Housekeeper in Brighton, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at PGL (UK) full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great staff and friendly workers, lovely.

    Cons

    Not enough food, hungry all the time.

    Continue reading
    PGL (UK)2020-01-07
  2. "Rewarding and confidence-building (and so much fun)"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends

    I worked at PGL (UK) full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    The level of challenge, trust and responsibility. And all the weird stories to look back on.

    Cons

    The company genuinely cares about its employees (no, really) and is working hard to keep up with changes in staff expectations. The shift in mindset is happening, but the resources aren't all in place yet. Bear with them.

    PGL (UK)2020-02-24
  3. "Everything is bad"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Swindon, Wiltshire, South West England, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at PGL (UK) full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The food from time to time

    Cons

    Management, HR, Food, accommodation, contract, other workers, support given

    Continue reading
    PGL (UK)2020-03-21
  4. "Bad Pay, Good Fun"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Activity Instructor in Osmington, England

    I worked at PGL (UK) full-time

    Pros

    The actual job was relatively easy, although you do get a lot of responsibility without a lot of training.

    Cons

    Pay is very bad (minimum wage, and they deduct food and rent from that), and team leaders can essentially fire you at their will, they just find a weak excuse ( it happened to co-workers a few times when I was there)

    PGL (UK)2020-01-07
  5. "Very rewarding career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Team Leader in Swindon, Gloucestershire, South West England, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at PGL (UK) full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Having worked for this company since leaving college I have found it to be a great place to work with many career opportunities. the company provides great experiences for the young people on its educational experiences but for me it has always been about the opportunities provided to employees. as the largest provider of childrens activities in the UK for over 60 years there is a massive amount of experience in the workforce. people entering the business have all the opportunities available to them if they choose to take them. PGL has become a large employer with over 3000 employees but the senior managers are 70% home grown and have worked their way up over 20 to 30+ years from junior delivery or support positions. this makes it a very real company to work for where the senior managers are very aware of the challenges faced by their team and are very keen to make this a great experience for everyone. in my time in the company I have observed people entering the company as a gap year opportunity to end up as general managers or members of the senior management board. these are good people that have worked hard and supported their teams to get ahead. it is not a cut throat business and there is no room for showboating or getting ahead by who you know. PGL provides opportunities for people of all ages be it your first job or last job.

    Cons

    Like any other job you get out of it what you put in. It can be just a job but be prepared for it becoming a way of life.

    Continue reading
    PGL (UK)2019-12-11
  6. "Amazing Job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - AIGL in Wootton, Isle of Wight, South East England, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at PGL (UK) full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Lovely people Company looks after you Would consider my seniors as both friends and bosses

    Cons

    Can not think of any

    Continue reading
    PGL (UK)2019-11-09
  7. "Not good nor bad"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Housekeeper 

    I worked at PGL (UK) full-time

    Pros

    Working in a Beautiful location

    Cons

    No privacy living on site, only good as a student job

    PGL (UK)2019-11-11
  8. "Definitely work here again"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - AIGL 
    Recommends
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at PGL (UK) full-time

    Pros

    Very supportive management. They made reasonable adjustments for me. I felt valued as a member of staff. So I was happy to work overtime. Working for PGL gave me a stress-free life. Made friends and I was well looked after. Offered everyone the chance to progress. Very proud to say I worked for PGL.

    Cons

    management worked impeccably hard and sometimes that resulted in communication with each other and staff not being the strongest.

    PGL (UK)2019-10-10
  9. "Everything realtors to guest Care on site"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Guest Care Manager in Preston, North West England, England

    I have been working at PGL (UK) full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Living and food paid for, can get lots of training provided

    Cons

    Work life balance is very much work based! Living arrangements very depleted! Needs upgrading

    PGL (UK)2019-09-23
  10. Helpful (2)

    "Meh"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - AIGL in Hindhead, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at PGL (UK) full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good community Good colleagues Great spirit

    Cons

    Pay Accommodation and food Made me work overtime without any choice

    Continue reading
    PGL (UK)2019-09-13
Found 80 reviews