PRA Health Sciences Manager Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

PRA Health Sciences Manager Reviews

Updated 29 Mar 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.4
72%
Recommend to a Friend
77%
Approve of CEO
PRA Health Sciences President, CEO & Director Colin Shannon
Colin Shannon
51 Ratings
  1. "A couple of teething problems still persist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Lead Data Manager 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at PRA Health Sciences full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good work life balance/ Number of opportunites/ Average benefits

    Cons

    Minimal management and HR comms on items of great significance. Often left in the dark completely.

    PRA Health Sciences2018-03-19
  2. Helpful (4)

    "Undecided"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Clinical Manager in Leeds, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at PRA Health Sciences full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Decent work life balance, but depending on project.

    Cons

    High workload and feel under appreciated. Typical corporate work, not seen for the 99% great work, but recognised for the 1% bad. Systems overload and not able to be creative.

    Continue reading
    PRA Health Sciences2019-02-05
  3. Helpful (1)

    "No Career Direction"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Clinical Team Manager in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at PRA Health Sciences

    Pros

    Great systems and very innovative

    Cons

    Senior Management/PMs don't push back where needed. Career progression can be very limited and "if your face fits". If you want to progress you have to leave

    Continue reading
    PRA Health Sciences2016-11-16
  4. Helpful (1)

    "PRAH - Drug Safety"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - PVG Manager in Swansea, Wales

    I worked at PRA Health Sciences full-time

    Pros

    The Drug Safety team in the EU is excellent. The managers all get along fine and are genuinely friendly, not just professionally or superficially, but rally nice people. Right from the interview and on-boarding to appraisal they are respectful, polite understanding and very mature. I did not find any sort of under-currents, attitudes and false pretence in the management. The leadership attitude trickled down the organization and was evident in junior staff who go along well and enjoyed their work ad the environment.

    Cons

    None that I knew of and from the low turn-over rate this definitely was a good place to work.

    PRA Health Sciences2016-05-14
  5. Helpful (4)

    "No career progression - poor line management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Clinical Project Manager in Edinburgh, Scotland
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at PRA Health Sciences full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Salary and very little else

    Cons

    career progression was limited only to my desire to leave and then it was amazing how many opportunities were suddenly presented to me, from changes in studies, promotion, salary rise etc. it was simply amazing how easy changes to my working life were as soon as I resigned.

    Continue reading
    PRA Health Sciences2014-05-06
  6. Helpful (1)

    "let down - not what was promised"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Resource Manager in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at PRA Health Sciences full-time

    Pros

    salary is ok - and benefits in line with market average

    Cons

    no progression no direction I worked in the resourcing team for a short while and wanted to get out ASAP. The role is transactional - there is no ownership and no clear direction within the team - constant management conflicts. The director doesnt even understand resourcing and you battle on for hours over minor simple resourcing practices that he doesnt understand. You are a glorified coordinator that is expected to resource for excess of 370 employees.. unrealistic expectations and a dead end job! An awful environment where you are constantly left feeling stupid and can see the same in fellow colleagues within the global team!

    Continue reading
    PRA Health Sciences2013-10-10
  7. Helpful (4)

    "Poor line management and career prospects - disappointing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Project Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at PRA Health Sciences full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Salary was the only competitive opportunity I found at PRA.

    Cons

    Very poor line management, when noting I was unhappy with he role I found myself in compared to the job offer I was presented with and the lack of Coe to progress in my career I was informed that the best way to progress was to threaten to resign and negotiate a new role from there including a promotion. I immediately update my CV and moved on as his was confirmed by more than one senior employee!

    Continue reading
    PRA Health Sciences2013-05-06
  8. "Highly-recommended company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Program Manager in Columbia, MD
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at PRA Health Sciences full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Functional manager is very supportive, candidate and looks out for direct reports. Functional manager listens to direct reports to help provide development opportunities and supports growth. Company is very transparent- keep hosting Town Hall meetings!

    Cons

    For the flex employees find ways for growth outside compensation.

    PRA Health Sciences2020-03-29
  9. "Nice CRO"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Contracts Manager in Philadelphia, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at PRA Health Sciences full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Reasonable compensation and great benefits of working remotely.

    Cons

    Not much interaction/connection up the hierarchy if you are embedded in a bigger corporation - may be a pro or con, depends.

    PRA Health Sciences2020-02-06
  10. "Extensively growing company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Clinical Team Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at PRA Health Sciences full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Work-life balance, great cross-functional cooperation, very kind co-workers

    Cons

    Talent management seems to be lacking, so far not great at using employee experience gathered outside the company, difficult to grow, move up on carreer ladder

    Continue reading
    PRA Health Sciences2020-02-17
Found 98 reviews