Pacific Gas and Electric Reviews

Updated 28 May 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.3
63%
Recommend to a Friend
81%
Approve of CEO
Pacific Gas and Electric President and CEO William D. Johnson
William D. Johnson
24 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Tough work life balance but good otherwise(in 45 reviews)

  • "Because of the bankruptcy, there is a lot of uncertainty that comes from upper management as well(in 44 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Great company but..."

    5.0
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England

    I worked at Pacific Gas and Electric full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Plenty of opportunities for growth.

    Cons

    Very bureaucratic sometimes. You spend a lot of time in meetings and trainings than actually doing your work.

    Pacific Gas and Electric2016-01-19
  2. "Well paid but little structure"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Intern 

    I worked at Pacific Gas and Electric for less than a year

    Pros

    - Career development opportunities. Management is looking to recruit for their rotational program so there are lots of opportunities. They also have opportunities to network with upper management - Paid very well for interns

    Cons

    - Not much structure for interns because just was dependent on the supervisor's needs. I often found myself with no tasks at all.

    Pacific Gas and Electric2017-06-26
  3. "Great Company"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Estimating Engineer in Fresno, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Pacific Gas and Electric full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The pay is decent and the work challenging and satisfying.

    Cons

    Just like any big company, it it take a lot to move a big ship.

    Pacific Gas and Electric2020-05-16
  4. "Leadership Issues"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Principal in San Francisco, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Pacific Gas and Electric full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Benefits that reward long tenure

    Cons

    does not promote from within organization

    Pacific Gas and Electric2020-05-28
  5. "N/A"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Analyst in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Pacific Gas and Electric full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great benefits and company culture

    Cons

    Workload can be very heavy

    Pacific Gas and Electric2020-05-12
  6. "Good"

    4.0
    Current Employee - Pilot in Oakland, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Pacific Gas and Electric full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Treat their people fairly in almost all situations

    Cons

    Company processes are frustrating and stand in the way of productivity

    Pacific Gas and Electric2020-05-10
  7. "Project Management"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - IT Project Manager in San Ramon, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Pacific Gas and Electric full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Professional people, caring for job completion and excellent management support.

    Cons

    Initial project estimates low for effort and budget.

    Pacific Gas and Electric2020-05-05
  8. "Great colleagues who love their jobs"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Pacific Gas and Electric full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Large utility that will always have paying customers

    Cons

    Very bureaucratic, decision making is too slow

    Pacific Gas and Electric2020-05-02
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Invest in Human Resources (HR)"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Instructional Designer in San Ramon, CA
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Pacific Gas and Electric full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    + Work-Life balance + Community impact + We don't have a choice, so we better make it a good place to work, their (our) assets are in all of our backyards.

    Cons

    - Nepotism - Employee focus: are you listening? - Culture of "safety": Actions>Words - Contractor safety, management, awareness.

    Continue reading
    Pacific Gas and Electric2020-04-14
  10. "Expert Data Analyst"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Expert Data Analyst in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Pacific Gas and Electric full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    work life balance is good

    Cons

    I am new to this role

    Pacific Gas and Electric2020-04-21
Found 1193 reviews