PageGroup Senior Manager Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Find jobs for Senior Manager

PageGroup Senior Manager Reviews

Updated 26 Aug 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
99%
Recommend to a Friend
99%
Approve of CEO
PageGroup CEO Steve Ingham
Steve Ingham
4 Ratings
  1. "Senior Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Manager in Guildford, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at PageGroup full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Amazing culture and people to work with. Clear goals and targets.

    Cons

    Some people don't like sales.

    PageGroup2019-01-22

    PageGroup Response

    May 2, 2019Beverley Nicholas, Regional Talent Director

    Thank you for your review and it’s good to hear from someone who has been with PageGroup for a while. I couldn’t agree with you more about the culture and the people, it’s why I have been here so long! We appreciate that sales doesn’t suit some people and we are honest about what a career here involves and support people with the training and coaching they need to be successful. I wish you all the best with your future career with PageGroup.

    Show Less
  2. Helpful (5)

    "Would go back any day"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Manager in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at PageGroup full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    I loved working for Page! I learned so much, tripled my salary in 4 years, worked with some amazing people and got some amazing opportunities. Negative reviews you might read are outdated; 8-6 working is a thing of the past, and flexible working has meant that employees come and go much more freely, and the office is a more relaxed and far less corporate place than the one I joined. Some departments are now... completely dress down but even the more corporate ones (finance) are no longer wearing ties to work. Nowadays the company culture is very different all together. I never worked on the weekend or in the evenings, but it’s easy to get invested and as a manager I spent a lot of time telling my teams to switch off while on days off. This is a company that is very exclusive about its hires - if you have any concerns at all about a potential hire, they’re probably a no. Therefore everyone around you is pushing to move forwards and it’s extremely rare to overhear anyone moaning about the business. Despite being a global business, the SLT are extremely visible in local offices and take time to understand staff, even joining teams on celebratory nights out etc. Progression can be extremely fast, training is excellent, and support is always there should you ask for it, although once you know what you’re doing you are given a great deal of trust and freedom to do your job. Bonuses take a while to start as you build your market, but once they do they can be significant. In the meantime, and throughout, there are loads of smaller rewards along the way, ranging from public awarded bottles of champagne to trips abroad for top performers. They put you through your paces to get to management, and as such all the managers are truly inspiring. There are also loss of opportunities to move abroad, if that’s your thing, after a few years good service, or to move into different areas. The company, for a recruitment company, is extremely moralistic. Compliance checks ensure that revenue is properly signed off by clients and focus goes on maintaining clients long term relationships. That said, many clients see recruitment as an entirely free service, and will cancel roles after several weeks work etc. The company finds a great balance between customer service and commerciality, and the benefit of such a well known brand is they are I afraid to walk away from non commercial business. Over the last couple of years the business has transformed completely, investing more in technology and development than ever before, and reviewing and changing their corporate structure to better serve clients. If you’re looking for a great company that will progress you up your career and let you do some amazing things along the way, this is the one for you.

    Show More

    Cons

    Nothing atypical of a big company. - Changes can be talked about for several months without ever moving forward, then someone can leave and everything changes very quickly. - You have to work in the next role up for some time before being promoted to it. The higher you go, the more hazy and less specific the targets for promotion become, and you have to put faith in the business that thy will promote you when... they are ready. Of course, it’s a performance business, and the higher up the ladder you are the less you bill. As such, the higher up you are, the closer to the door you are should the team below you stop delivering. - bonuses can again be hard to predict. Since the bonus is dependant on both your personal performance and the wider teams, since bonus pots can be shared at a higher levels with other teams and since the team costs are never publicly shared (so people can’t work out colleagues salaries), working out likely bonuses is tough. Having said that, looking back on bonuses, they’ve always worked out fairly over the course of each year.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    I’ve seen some good people leave because they weren’t allowed to transfer departments (because they were billing well), and I’ve seen others offered promotions to buy them back after leaving. If they are worth those promotions, and if the company doesn’t want to lose them, give them opportunities and reward their work before they get to the point of quitting. Otherwise, keep doing what you’re doing - love the... business.

    Show More
    PageGroup2018-01-11

    PageGroup Response

    January 23, 2018Beverley Nicholas, Regional Talent Director

    Thank you for your comprehensive and balanced review and I’m pleased to hear that you not only enjoyed your time at PageGroup but you also saw the benefit of some of the positive changes and investments we have made in the business. Our culture has certainly evolved to reflect what our employees need and want and it’s good to hear someone dispelling the external myth that we still ask people to work long hours. Our bonus scheme reflects the importance of teamwork at Michael Page and also the way we work on behalf of our candidates and clients and we do strive to provide as much clarity as possible. Alongside the leadership development programme we have launched in the UK we are also working with our Global HR Director to review our senior talent management approach to provide more guidance and support as you progress within the business. There are always areas that we can improve on and I’m disappointed to hear that internal transfers haven’t been encouraged as we have so many opportunities to enable people to extend their experience and skills. I’m sorry that after such a positive experience with PageGroup you have chosen to pursue your career elsewhere but I wish you all the best in the future and hope that our paths may cross again.

    Show Less
  3. "Great Place to Work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Manager in Liverpool, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at PageGroup full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    I've now been with Page Personnel for over 6 years and have been promoted 3 times at the senior level. Page has given me the opportunity to pursue my career aspirations and I'm now a Senior Manager with a team of 8/9 staff. The senior management team are really supportive and the company offers on-going training for those people wanting to grow within a company. The maternity package offered by Page is great and... the support received when you are becoming a mum is definitely a positive.

    Show More

    Cons

    Communication between different offices can sometimes not be the best due to the size of the company.

    PageGroup2017-09-11

    PageGroup Response

    November 5, 2017Beverley Nicholas, Regional Talent Director

    Thank you for your review and congratulations on the success you have achieved so far at PageGroup, long may it continue! It’s good to hear you valued the maternity support we provide and it has enabled you to continue to pursue your career aspirations; it’s important to me that everyone has a chance to succeed here. The size of the business definitely has a bearing on communication but, alongside introducing our internal communication platform, we have regional and discipline arrangements to try and help with this. We also welcome employee recommendations – please feel free to send these to your line manager, or share these ideas using our internal communication platform.

    Show Less
  4. Helpful (5)

    "Senior Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Senior Manager in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at PageGroup for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Used to have a reputation for high levels of service in the market place. Also used to provide high quality training for rookie consultants - sadly this has reduced over time and a shadow of former training offered to inexperienced consultants.

    Cons

    One of the worst and less transparent bonus structures in recruitment. You will never know what bonus you will receive as it will have no direct correlation to your own performance. At interview, try asking the question 'if I bill x , what bonus will I receive' . You will either be fobbed off with vague promises of 'best in the market' (it definitely isn't!) or be fobbed off with promises of career progression.... You wont get a straight answer.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Senior Management should stop acting like an old boys network. Too many throwbacks to 1980's management style among the Directors.

    PageGroup2016-10-20
  5. Helpful (3)

    "MP review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Manager in Weybridge, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at PageGroup full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great team ethos, working with like minded individuals. You can progress your career within the UK or Internationally

    Cons

    Commission/Bonus structure is less than other organisations but you get full FTSE benefits in your wider package

    PageGroup2016-09-19
  6. "Great school"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Manager in Madrid
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at PageGroup full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    A place where you can manage your career

    Cons

    Hard work and resilience is the key for success

    PageGroup2019-08-26
  7. Helpful (3)

    "Ever growing, market leader"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Manager in Chicago, IL

    I have been working at PageGroup full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    What I appreciate: Team based, interactive environment with high levels of shared business and cross selling which you seldom see in sales environments. The money. This is a sales role and hard work means more of it. Because of this I’ve been able to travel the world and experience so much more than I ever thought possible. The training is ace. The on-board training is excellent. But it doesn't stop there.... Whatever your title, your managers stay close to you and are constantly tailoring their training to your specific development needs. This has led to a high level of promotions across the office. It's a performance-based culture. We give 20+ PTO days and on top of this, if you are hitting your goals, you’re empowered to run your own schedule and are given flexibility. We strive to be better. Every business has things they want to improve on. In everything MP does, even if they're already getting it right, they don't rest on this and are constantly doing taking steps to be better. The service that we offer is personal and real. It’s not just a numbers game. In our line of work, we're changing people’s lives in finding them new jobs or hires. The goal for each hire is to place someone into a long-term role in the hope that when they get promoted into a leadership role, they want to continue that relationship with us. Rewarding! Finally, the Chicago office has grown tremendously since I joined, both in size and culture. We’re moving into an edgy new office, have the best internal infrastructure that we’ve ever had (due to a high level of internal promotions) and have invested into Chicago based TA and Training functions.

    Show More

    Cons

    Sales can be the best and worst job in the world, lots of highs and lows. It isn't for everyone. While we sell in a solutions orientated, consultative way, it is still sales and there are still targets, this isn't going to change. However, having worked in the industry for a long time, I firmly believe that MP set's the bar high. We expect a lot from our employees, however if you're willing to commit, you can move... up very quickly and earn top money.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Keep adapting and striving to be better.

    PageGroup2018-11-26
  8. "Fun place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Manager in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at PageGroup full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Gives you the skills to build a career good base and decent commission...overall comp is much higher in commission only environment a fun time for a job in your your 20s work hard and page hard Enjoyed trips to cabo, london, ny, etc.

    Cons

    technology and work life balance were behind the times

    Advice to Management

    be more flexible and encouraging. Less with the stick more with the carrot

    PageGroup2018-02-16
  9. Helpful (3)

    "Excellent Career Advancement Opportunities"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Manager in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at PageGroup full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Working at Page has been an excellent experience that I would recommend to all driven, motivated and competitive individuals. Having started right out of college, there were many challenges and obstacles to overcome in learning recruitment and getting myself up to speed; however, with hard work and resilience I was able to build a career here which has led to 4 promotions in just under 4 years with the business.... The company values its employees and rewards those who hit their targets. If you are consistent and performing well, you will have flexibility and reap the benefits of a performance based culture. The quarterly trips are always a great time in excellent locations. There are few organizations that allow for your base salary to exponentially increase (double/triple) over the span of a few short years like Page does. The working environment is fun and competitive. Plenty of opportunities to be recognized for excellent performances. Company culture is work-hard play-hard (i.e. fun incentives, quarterly parties, happy hours). The benefits are great (401k, vacation, medical). Most importantly, there is a ton of potential for career advancement and the ability to make a ton of money.

    Show More

    Cons

    No real cons, just be aware that recruitment is a tough job that requires resilience, determination and adaptability. Hours can be long in the beginning, but the company has gone in the right direction by fostering a performance based culture which allows for flexibility.

    Advice to Management

    Continue to listen to employee suggestions. Keep the performance based culture.

    PageGroup2018-01-17
  10. "Senior Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Manager in Lisbon
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at PageGroup full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    global and dynamic recruitment company

    Cons

    fast growing company, really intense "on job"

    PageGroup2017-11-02
Found 5 reviews