Palantir Technologies Deployment Strategist Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Palantir Technologies Deployment Strategist Reviews

Updated 24 Dec 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.9
72%
Recommend to a Friend
43%
Approve of CEO
Palantir Technologies Co-Founder and CEO Alex Karp
Alex Karp
17 Ratings
  1. Helpful (5)

    "Best place for growth"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Deployment Strategist in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Palantir Technologies full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The best opportunity for both professional and personal growth I can imagine. You'll be given real, difficult problems working with some of the world's biggest companies and have a chance to have real impact on the world. Comp (especially for Europe) is incredible and increases quickly if you're doing well. People are probably the best part about working here. I joined as a new grad and the main reason was the people I have met. Everyone is world class at what they do, but also people tend to be great personally. This obicously doesn't apply to every single person but is overall true. If you want to, you can travel the world, with all expenses paid. The product is at a really good place now and it's very cool to work with the tech available.

    Cons

    A lot of untrue negative press You mostly can't talk about all of the cool stuff we do

    Palantir Technologies2018-09-20
  2. Helpful (4)

    "Deployment Strategist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Deployment Strategist 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Palantir Technologies full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Best company I have ever worked at. Incredibly inspiring people around you, opportunities to personal growth wherever you go and a company culture that is very friendly, curious and makes you continuously challenge yourself and develop.

    Cons

    This is not a con for me personally, but Palantir would be a stressful place for people who are not good at working under changing premises and in an ever-changing environment.

    Continue reading
    Palantir Technologies2018-05-26
  3. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Deployment Strategist in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Palantir Technologies for more than a year

    Pros

    Space to grow, a mission that matter and despite the hard work a deep care for the welfare of its employees

    Cons

    There is a lot of travel that can mean you might struggle to hold down a routine.

    Continue reading
    Palantir Technologies2017-07-03
  4. Helpful (16)

    "Review from Current Employee"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Deployment Strategist in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Palantir Technologies full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I clearly drank the kool-aid but will try to keep this review balanced: - The obvious one you always hear about - lots of office perks: masseuses, fitness stipend, housing stipend, delicious and organically sourced meals and snacks, scooter tracks, ping pong tables, bars on every floor, gorgeous views of London - Perfect environment for self-motivated people who don't want to be defined by their job titles. Whatever you want to take on, you can. There are no limits. So despite the fact that we don't reward value contributed by formal promotions or titles, there is ample opportunity for career and personal growth (I would say more so than in a traditional, structured environment) - and lots of recognition of/appreciation for people who are doing awesome things. - We work long hours but respect each other's extracurricular commitments and need for balance. We all have different preferences for when we work (early mornings v late nights v weekends v no weekends) and no one is keeping tabs on how and when you do your work. -The most thoughtfully smart group of people I have worked with. Everyone is generative and reflective and deriving the most value out of every conversation, action and decision is at the root of all quests. -Egoless environment where everyone appreciates getting and giving critique in the spirit that we all deserve to be here but we can always grow/improve . Egoless environment also means no one speaks just to hear their own voice - every offered contribution is thoughtful. - Opportunities to be exposed to a number of different problems across a number of different industries and to embed deeply with them. - Young, dynamic environment of people who are driven by challenge and excited to be at Palantir. We regroup for happy hour every Friday (at least, and these often turn into all night affairs) and enjoy catching up and being around each other. Partners/families are always welcome as well. - Additional pros (to me) have been noted below in the Cons...

    Cons

    - Can be harder to ramp up/find your place quickly if you are not a technical person but this should be expected for those moving to a new industry and the resources (human, legible and otherwise) are unlimited to help one in this regard - Not a good place for people who like structure. We provide just enough structure to keep the office from collapsing into chaos. Otherwise, few parameters and boundaries are placed upon people (this also extends to promotions, titles, assignments- these things don't really exist at Palantir). With that said, there are enough checks and balances that one has a relatively clear picture of when they are doing well or not. It is also an extremely transparent organization, so information sought will be delivered. - The unstructured comment also extends to projects. You are told to do awesome things but given little unsolicited guidance as to how to get there. Again, for many this is a Pro not a Con - but it can be extremely overwhelming to some. - People are limited versus the work that needs to be done. You will be thrown into the deep end (having to take a meeting on context you don't really know or understand, working on a project where none of your previous experience is relevant) time after time and asked to swim at the Olympic level. For those who dont love the feeling of flailing, this can be frustrating. For those who love being put to the test, this is your perfect environment.

    Palantir Technologies2015-09-02
  5. Helpful (41)

    "A company powered almost entirely by hype"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Deployment Strategist in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Palantir Technologies full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great perks, free food, unlimited holiday, great colleagues.

    Cons

    Palantir is cult like. Not almost cult like, but actually cult like. They have one main product, and are basically a sales company, trying to squeeze that product into every client. It's a good product. Not great, not world changing, but just good. But everybody at the company has been brain washed into believing their own hype that they are saving, and changing the world. They are not saving the world. They are selling a very similar product to one that IBM, BAE, and several other companies sell. Nothing more. It's slightly scary when you speak to Palantir employees. Their eyes are glazed over as they repeat the company mantra that they are saving the shire. The company is also bleeding money and has never made a profit. Everything is set up so you do not have to leave the office, and people work crazy hours

    Continue reading
    Palantir Technologies2015-05-19
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Amazing place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Deployment Strategist 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Palantir Technologies full-time

    Pros

    Amazing perks and opportunities - I asked to be put on a high travel / foreign facing project and have visited multiple countries this year, learned new languages, and explored whole cultures Every day I feel that I and my peers are working on problems that actually matter. That touch the real world. That are genuinely difficult. General enterprise growth is looking real strong / future seems bright

    Cons

    My work life balance definitely askew - though this is partially due to the kinds of things I chose to sign up for.

    Continue reading
    Palantir Technologies2019-12-24
  7. Helpful (27)

    "Dysfunctional, toxic, and on the wrong track"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Deployment Strategist in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Palantir Technologies full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Autonomy, responsibility, and exposure to companies and sectors of the economy. Could be an incredible company under the right leadership.

    Cons

    Poorly run company, led by novices. Structured poorly. Highly political. No upward movement. Constantly shifting strategy (or lack of it). Shady approach to gov work. Highly non transparent. Terrible product stability. Excessive churn on all fronts. Just so much to fix, but don't trust the people to fix it.

    Continue reading
    Palantir Technologies2019-07-05
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Great place to learn a lot alongside amazing colleages"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Deployment Strategist 

    I have been working at Palantir Technologies full-time

    Pros

    Employs some of the smartest, kindest, and most interesting people you'll ever meet A lot of freedom and independence, which can be unusual for new grads

    Cons

    "Flat" structure can cause friction

    Palantir Technologies2019-05-22
  9. Helpful (5)

    "High ownership, autonomy, and opportunity for professional and character growth"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Deployment Strategist 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Palantir Technologies full-time

    Pros

    Technology companies which produce inspiring products and create new things seem to be exclusively top-down (hopefully benevolent) dictatorships. Palantir is the only tech company I know of which has successfully created more than one valuable software product while maintaining bottom-up cultural model that emphasizes the great potential depth and inventiveness of the individual. The culture is close-knit and principled, and the hiring is impressively discerning. One works alongside especially entrepreneurial, freethinking, individuals who can be trusted to deliver outcomes.

    Cons

    The company seeks to make a difference, working in complex real-world problems, and is willing to experiment. The former matches poorly with maximizing leisure and with confining one's reasoning in the workday to a reassuringly clean, Platonic virtual environment. The latter means you run the risk of working on an experiment that fails. Still, I'd say failed experiments at Palantir are very different from failed experiments that had been the pet career bet of a typical anodyne VP / middle manager at a large tech company: the former more often than not metamorphose into critical, later-successful developments as the company begins to solve problems in a new sector of the economy; the latter are unfortunately often all sunk cost with little redeeming.

    Continue reading
    Palantir Technologies2018-06-13
  10. Helpful (9)

    "Invest in Palantir, they invest back in you"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Deployment Strategist in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Palantir Technologies full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Extremely invested in employees and making their lives work. Went above and beyond to accommodate employees with new babies while still making them feel valued and working on projects that matter to the company. Very few companies out there that go above and beyond with mothers rooms that have hospital grade pumps, flexible schedules, etc. Constantly working to improve employee quality of life and working on very important problems. No other place has the opportunity to truly impact the world in a positive way (and get paid well for it!).

    Cons

    Some people can feel burned out. If you have open conversations and take breaks to preserve the things that are important to you this is avoidable. If you have invested in the company and share this they will work to make sure this doesn't happen.

    Continue reading
    Palantir Technologies2016-10-21

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 19 reviews