Palantir Technologies Intern Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Palantir Technologies Intern Reviews

Updated 21 Jul 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.2
100%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Palantir Technologies Co-Founder and CEO Alex Karp
Alex Karp
6 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Great internship experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Intern - Intern in Washington, DC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Palantir Technologies for less than a year

    Pros

    Interns are treated just like real employees, so you can actually make a difference during the summer. Free, high-quality housing and meals are also a plus.

    Cons

    Palantir gets a very bad rap in the media, and it doesn't seem like the PR team does much to combat that.

    Palantir Technologies2019-07-21
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Best intern experience out there"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Intern - Forward Deployed Software Engineer Intern in Washington, DC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Palantir Technologies for less than a year

    Pros

    - Mission, the impact this company has and the impact you can create as intern is amazing. You immediately work on hard and important problems, no side projects to keep interns busy. You're treated as a full-time employee for the most part. - Culture, the people are among the friendliest and smartest out there. You can ask anyone for help. Further, from the constant internal dialogues, you can tell the company is ethically-minded and pursues success with integrity. - Support system, mentor/lead/team/recruiter are all actively helping you make the internship a great experience. If there's a problem, you can raise it and it will be addressed. - Personal growth, you're given a voice in what you want to do and what skills you want to improve. - Travel, we had the opportunity to travel across and out of the country as interns. - Perks, the free housing, 3 meals a day, the haircuts, the massages, etc. make life quite comfortable. - Intern cohorting, interns in an office got to know each other pretty well and we've become friends throughout the internship. This is just my experience, but my experience isn't uncommon from what I can tell. - Compensation, one of the highest out there.

    Cons

    - Finding your own work-life balance, because of the flexible hours, it can be difficult to find a balance that works for you when you see coworkers arriving/leaving at vastly different hours. With that said, I didn't feel any pressure to work late or get in early. It's just a matter of doing what's best for you and communicating that.

    Continue reading
    Palantir Technologies2018-08-16
  3. Helpful (2)

    "Interesting Place ..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Software Engineer Intern 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Palantir Technologies

    Pros

    Amazing (like seriously amazing) people. Not just ridiculously smart and talented, but also extremely collaborative, friendly, and nerdy (in a good way) people. I don't think I've ever fit in better with a group of people. Interesting work, I don't want to go into the specifics of what I worked on but it was pretty cool, and used modern technologies.

    Cons

    Work/life balance was kind of bad. Not for me, since I was a software engineering intern, but FDEs had notoriously bad work/life balance, and even software engineers on my team put in 50-60 hours some weeks (2 over the course of a twelve week internship, and both were when we were pushing for release). And this culture of "taking pain" was ingrained in Palantir; I distinctly remember hearing things like "Palantir engineers are set apart by their inability to give up even if things get really hard." Which sounds great and all, but really endorses this work before everything else culture (which doesn't always exist, but can come up before releases). Tying into the previous point, the culture seemed a little kool-aidy. People were really hyped on Palantir fighting terrorism and "saving the shire". People told me that they joined the company because Palantir was the only company where you could change the world and solve huge issues on Silicon Valley pay. Which is true, to an extent. But I don't think that attitude, that Palantir is so much better or doing so much more for the world than other Silicon Valley companies is healthy for their engineers to have. Overall, it's a mixed bag. If you care a lot about your work having a huge impact, and you are okay with putting in more than 40 hrs/week some weeks, then this may be the place for you. If not, you can still probably fit in, and find a place at Palantir, and you would probably be really happy with your coworkers. But you might be happier at another company in terms of work-life balance and culture. There are a lot of really amazing companies in the area after all.

    Palantir Technologies2017-04-19
  4. Helpful (4)

    "Internship"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Intern - Intern in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Palantir Technologies for less than a year

    Pros

    Person who introduced the company is very friendly. The company is located in New York. Best place, good people and company.

    Cons

    People are dedicated the their jobs. Compared to Facebook and Google, it is new company and the capacity of hiring intern is limited.

    Continue reading
    Palantir Technologies2015-03-15
  5. "Fantastic people, difficult but engaging and important work."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Intern - Intern in Palo Alto, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Palantir Technologies for less than a year

    Pros

    The mission is important and your impact on it is clear. You work with the smartest people in the world, with a strong selection bias towards humility. You will learn a lot and work on very, very hard problems.

    Cons

    I've had a great time here, but the long-hours complaints aren't entirely unfounded. I've never felt pressured to stay late by team members, but I knew the project demanded it and so I did (by my own accord). It didn't go unrecognized.

    Continue reading
    Palantir Technologies2014-07-27
  6. "Amazing learning experience with wicked smart people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Intern in Palo Alto, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Palantir Technologies for less than a year

    Pros

    Some of the coolest people to work with, Smart people, Great benefits

    Cons

    Work life balance needs close attention to avoid working all the time

    Continue reading
    Palantir Technologies2013-10-03
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Business Dev Summer Intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Business Development Intern 
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Palantir Technologies for less than a year

    Pros

    I really enjoyed working with some of the smartest engineers on the planet. Everyone there was really really sharp. The work is interesting and diverse, although it can depend what silo you get placed into. I also learned a ton - lots of SQL, Java even for non technical positions

    Cons

    Although I was just an intern it appeared that there was a fair amount of turn over. It also seemed like there wasn't much career progression - the people that had worked in the company for 5 years had management positions and there was little room to grow (unless the company continued growing). The commercial teams work a lot (80hrs) and federal teams work less (60hrs). I knew that going in so it wasn't a surprise.

    Continue reading
    Palantir Technologies2013-09-22

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 7 reviews