Palantir Technologies "work life balance" Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Palantir Technologies Employee Reviews about "work life balance"

Updated 24 Dec 2019

To filter reviews, or .
3.9
79%
Recommend to a Friend
83%
Approve of CEO
Palantir Technologies Co-Founder and CEO Alex Karp
Alex Karp
250 Ratings
Pros
  • "smart people, great work/life balance(in 34 reviews)

  • "Palantir is a place makes the rest of Silicon Valley look like it is working on toy train sets(in 18 reviews)

Cons
  • "My work life balance definitely askew - though this is partially due to the kinds of things I chose to sign up for(in 66 reviews)

  • "tons of the usual growing pains(in 23 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "work life balance"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Helpful (6)

    "“The Only Job I’ve Ever Genuinely Enjoyed""

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Site Reliability Engineer in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Palantir Technologies full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I’ve worked at a large number of companies and institutions during my career, and I can honestly say that Palantir is the only time I’ve ever derived genuine satisfaction from work. The work is challenging, and colleagues are smart, driven and likable. There’s an old saying that holds true here: “If you’re the smartest person in the room, then you’re in the wrong room.” This is not how it feels to work at Palantir - you're never in the wrong room. And yet since everyone automatically accepts your value, there’s no such thing as a dumb question, and help is everywhere. Working at Palantir for one year is like working five years anywhere else. Palantir makes you better, and it's virtually impossible not to grow professionally and technically simply by following the examples set by such a high bar. There’s virtually no hierarchy and everyone has a large amount of autonomy to get the job done. If you identify a problem that no one has addressed, then you’re empowered to do whatever is necessary to fix it. The kinds of problems being worked on, and the sort of casual discussions that occur around the office, are fascinating. Engineers become fully fledged subject matter experts in order to solve big difficult problems, and there are new and interesting projects being taken on all the time. The London office is tight-knit with a lot of social activities. The perks include travel and free food, the latter of which should probably be listed under cons as well, since its presence requires self-discipline in order to resist snacking and over-eating.

    Cons

    The work/life balance is not as bad as many people here say, but it certainly isn’t a fixed 9 to 5. My experience is that Palantir attracts a certain type of intelligent, driven individual who work long hours and seem physically incapable of allowing themselves to leave the office until their own task list is complete. Deadlines can exert pressure, but otherwise pressure tends to be self-imposed. Also, people work hard, and the longer day they work the more they get done. And these people tend to have the most cred and to be celebrated as the high achieving rockstars. This can be motivating to some, but daunting to others, depending on the mindset. In any case, Work/life balance is an issue that is on the table and is taken very seriously. Palantir really isn't for everybody. No one is here just to pick up a paycheck or to get an easy ride. It's full of hard workers and cautious idealists.

    Continue reading
    Palantir Technologies2015-06-17
  2. "Good company to work for but intense"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Executive Assistant 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Palantir Technologies full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great people, office perks & benefits

    Cons

    No work - life balance

    Palantir Technologies2019-08-07
  3. Helpful (11)

    "FDE"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - FDE in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Palantir Technologies full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    salary, ease of traveling for work

    Cons

    Messy tools, over competitive environment, bad work life balance

    Continue reading
    Palantir Technologies2018-11-28
  4. Helpful (16)

    "See ya"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Forward Deployed Engineer in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Palantir Technologies full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great mission overall. Extremely motivated people around. Really good opportunities to travel and see different countries and to work as an engineer in different industries.

    Cons

    Work/life balance does not exist in the vocabulary of people in that company. Your time is not respected.

    Palantir Technologies2017-04-13
  5. Helpful (12)

    "Forward Deployed Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Forward Deployed Engineer in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Palantir Technologies full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Ability to learn a lot quickly (especially around business aspects of software development), good degree of trust and freedom

    Cons

    Lots of travel, poor work/life balance, often disregarding best practices

    Palantir Technologies2016-01-02
  6. Helpful (3)

    "Forged Through Chaos"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Forward Deployed Engineer in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Palantir Technologies full-time

    Pros

    Palantir will challenge you. If you want an employer that will let you explore your ability to build, learn, [sometimes] fail, and grow as an engineer, Palantir provides. Opportunities to take ownership and do something awesome (both mission and technology), are everywhere. That said, you have to either take them for yourself or proactively work with your lead as there are no set paths for career growth. Related to no set paths, Palantir truly understands that every employee has his/her own strengths and weaknesses. While there are titles and defined roles, most are filled by a wide variety of people who specialize in various different ways within the role. If you're smart and have good judgment, Palantir has a place for you where you will get to build what you're good at and be valued for it. The mosaic of employees is exciting. Palantir of course has it's fair share of university built computer scientists, but I regularly have the opportunity to talk with physicists, ex-military, comic artists and other varieties of people. Basically because we work in so many different areas of the world (healthcare, energy, defense, anti-money laundering, etc.), our employee diversity matrix is incredible and unrivaled. In all honesty, I think this is my favorite part about Palantir; there are fresh, interesting people everywhere.

    Cons

    Some days are exhausting. With the chaotic "take ownership" nature of the company, it can often feel like guidelines are missing. Your fate can be in your own hands especially with a newer lead. You need to make sure your lead understands your skills and wants, so that he/she help you find the opportunities and problems you want. There are no checklists for promotion or growth which can suck, but also means bureaucracy won't hold you back. This is the chaos, but it comes with so many advantages I think it's worth. Work-Life balance is in your own hands. Many people in the company struggle with it, and you'll have to make your own rules to keep the balance you need. For example, one of my rules is no weekend flights for business. People are supportive but not necessarily proactive in helping. This might be slowly shifting. That said, if you find and stand by the rules that work for you, it's excellent.

    Continue reading
    Palantir Technologies2015-07-08
  7. Helpful (36)

    "Work Good, Work/life-Balance bad, Management WORST!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Engineer in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Palantir Technologies full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    * Good and Challenging work. As a new hire you get to make changes to the core elements. * Perks are good. Especially the Housing Subsidy * Smart and Intelligent Co-workers.

    Cons

    * Very poor and Bad Management. Inexperienced Managers who are given too much control, not at all good at communicating and poor judge of employee's skills. Flat heirarchy is a hoax. * Extreme work culture and poor work/life balance.

    Continue reading
    Palantir Technologies2014-09-27
  8. Helpful (3)

    "Amazing place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Deployment Strategist 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Palantir Technologies full-time

    Pros

    Amazing perks and opportunities - I asked to be put on a high travel / foreign facing project and have visited multiple countries this year, learned new languages, and explored whole cultures Every day I feel that I and my peers are working on problems that actually matter. That touch the real world. That are genuinely difficult. General enterprise growth is looking real strong / future seems bright

    Cons

    My work life balance definitely askew - though this is partially due to the kinds of things I chose to sign up for.

    Continue reading
    Palantir Technologies2019-12-24
  9. Helpful (9)

    "Don't buy into the equity, come with a purpose, learn and then leave for a real career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Forward Deployed Engineer 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Palantir Technologies full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    - You get to work with high-caliber people - Freedom to learn and experiment - There are free meals and snacks

    Cons

    - Internal politics prevent upward mobility (a lot of entrenched, strong personalities) - More of a consultancy than a true software company - "Street-cred" based merit with extreme recency bias - Equity is worthless in the recent half-decade and completely illiquid - Base compensation & total (realizable) compensation is low compared to Google/Facebook - You won't be traveling as much to enjoyable destinations for deployments given the tightening budget of late - Work/life balance will suck

    Continue reading
    Palantir Technologies2019-12-19
  10. "Great people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Forward Deployed Engineer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Palantir Technologies full-time

    Pros

    - Some of the smartest people you'll ever work with. - Great opportunities to travel and work on a variety of problems. - A lot of people on Glassdoor are saying the pay is low. I disagree, I think it's fair. Company bonuses every year are generous, you get free food all week (breakfast, lunch, dinner), and you can live rent-free if you agree to deploy away from your home country. - Plenty of opportunities to work from home.

    Cons

    - Work can sometimes be a bit mundane, even if the problem spaces the company is working in are interesting. - Work life balance can sometimes be a bit rough before deadlines.

    Continue reading
    Palantir Technologies2019-09-03
Found 66 reviews